He does a good job talking out of both sides of his mouth , what you have a problem with the accent.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Then there is the Irish analyst Tommy Smyth. These guys have thick accent, but get their syntax right.
I want Ian Wright to do well; but he needs to work on some aspects of grammar.
When he is on, it's difficult to determine if he is the commentator or analyst. We need more blacks as commentators and analysts. Just that we need them to be better than the rest.
With time, when I become familiar with his style, I may change my views.
He did a damm good job , said something rude (slick) about Rafa wanting and needing it more and that Man U doesnt need it ,Fergie is the man blah , blah at the end of it all he crowned Rafa/bashed /hated reviled by all as KING !...lol......i loved it ...man talk di tings straight, i figured some might take offence to his street slang but hey Charles Barkley is highly rated stateside....we have nothing to be ashamed of with our street accents or cultural accents ,its now accepted mainsteam..lighten up..Boss,its not Jamaica..lol
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
It is not about street accent X, good grammar helps. He is a reflection of us as Black people and as HL says, we hope he can improve. He also needs to determine whether he is an analyst or commentator. Sometimes he need to just shut the hell up as he has the tendency to talk too much.
The reference to Charles Barlkey is not the same. Barkley handles himself well from what I can remember. The man who always cause me to cringe when I hear him speak is Magic Johnson.
There is no reason why Ian Wright should not seek to improve his craft if he wants to continue in this field. He has had an illustrious career as a footballer and will have the attention of many in this sport when he speaks. I think he would be more respected if he brushes up his act when it comes to his grammar and choice of words. Yes, I heard him misuse words on a few occasions during matches. Some people may not think this is a big deal, while there are others who think we are not capable of doing better so they will ignore it.
His articles he writes for either The Daily Express or The Daily Mail is sometimes fraught with some of the same grammatical errors we hear from him as an analyst. It always have me wondering if editors do not read what he writes before they get published. But then, maybe they do not want him to be the best he can be either.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
You guys are funny ..Barkley is cool but Magic makes you cringe and its not about street gramma as if it doresnt wave its way in there ,with all the above commentators,I enjoy them all , lets just call it a cultural slang,I reject the gramma B.S as for the part about being a commentator or analyst ,whats wrong with being both ?.............it sells ...I love it.
U guys need to watch Unforgivable Blackness ,understand yuhself ,I ascribe to this theory by Jack ,I am who i am and love me or hate me , i will do my percieved best and screw you ,I have nothing to prove to anyone but my self ,controversial ,hated by white america ,loved by most blacks ,and believe it or not hated by some blacks because he wanted to be himself.
"The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson-Unforgivable Blackness"
Tilla, HL, Ian Wright will always be Ian Wright, he will never change for anyone, love him or hate him. Ian Wright is not new to punditry, he is a veteran and quite successful in is own right. He may seem new to you guys that side of the Atlantic, however he has been a pundit for almost 10 yrs. He has this typical black Londoners slang and I think it works to his advantage because the broadcasters try to create a team that represents all section of society.
U guys need to watch Unforgivable Blackness ,understand yuhself ,I ascribe to this theory by Jack ,I am who i am and love me or hate me , i will do my percieved best and screw you ,I have nothing to prove to anyone but my self ,controversial ,hated by white america ,loved by most blacks ,and believe it or not hated by some blacks because he wanted to be himself.
"The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson-Unforgivable Blackness"
X, it is just another man's option to which we are entitled. I agree I does not have to change for anyone. Just pointing out that he could improve if he brushed up in certain areas. But I guess as long as he's comfortable with himself there is no need to try and get better. That is fine too if that is how he sees it.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Wright is not new to me Dunny. I have been watching football for a long time. I have always loved him but thought that such a respected player, he could really improve his stock if he cleaned up a bit. Remember he is now reaching a much larger audience than just England.
Anyway, I am happy for him and like having him in the mix. Just would like to see him be better than he is at the moment. I would like to know if there was a decision to be made between him and some other guy, he is not getting the spot only because they want to have a black rep in the spot, but because he is one of the best there is. I hate been thought of as getting positions because iof attempts of the man to include minorities.
Anyway, that is my take.
Wright is not new to me Dunny. I have been watching football for a long time. I have always loved him but thought that such a respected player, he could really improve his stock if he cleaned up a bit. Remember he is now reaching a much larger audience than just England.
Anyway, I am happy for him and like having him in the mix. Just would like to see him be better than he is at the moment. I would like to know if there was a decision to be made between him and some other guy, he is not getting the spot only because they want to have a black rep in the spot, but because he is one of the best there is. I hate been thought of as getting positions because iof attempts of the man to include minorities.
Anyway, that is my take.
Ok, I thought he was probably new to you guys. That is one of the reason why he left his job at the BBC MOTD, they wanted him to dress and speak a certain way rather than be himself, so with Wrighty you get exactly what you see on the tin, take him or leave him!!
My point is, i see nothing for him to improve because i believe his stock is already high. The wider audience in my view accept him with his unforgiveable blackness in speech,like they do all the other caucasians from different classes and cultures with their speech.
they may not like it but Wright has his audience, not just the regular soccer argument as he is one popular figure in London and England by extension. The TV stations will have to put up with him as he has his audience and every now and then you need a "real person" not just one guided by all the does and don't that sometimes make broadcasting boring.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
On several occasions I had to wonder if he was a Jamaican. His speech does reflect some Jamaicaness to it. He is a straight-shooter. What annoyed the hell out of me was his American counterpart asking all sort of assinine questions, "What do you mean playing wider?"...."the ball going over the touchline"....."Giggs "trapping" the ball"......grrrrr
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015