Bale!

• Bale!

I hope Lazie see how this man change games with creating goals out of nothing. He deserves to be player of the season in my opinion.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

definately. Without him Spurs would be fighting for a top ten spot. He is an incredible player. He can defend, attack and score some good goal even though he is not forward.. He is a one man wrecking machine.

I would imagine that attribute is typical of all the strikers nominated.
      In my opinion,Spurs have to finish in the top four for the PFA award to be justified.
      There has to have been a set target.
      Last edited by Rockman; May 4, 2013, 01:13 PM.

I thought this was a player award, not a team award. Good players play on poor teams. When these players who play on less than stellar teams perform, their performances should be recognized. It cannot be all about where the player's team finished while ignoring the individual's contribution to the game. Bale's performance has been remarkable all season and in my book is a worthy recipient of the awards he has so far received. It matters not if his team finishes top four or not. This is a player who would make any team he joins better.

BTW, Bale is not a striker.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I stand corrected, he isn't a striker,though he is being highlighted because of his achievements mirror that of a striker.
          His teammates are not exactly rubbish,and Spurs have been a top ten team for eons.There is a chance it could distinguish itself by finishing in the top four,that my friend,will finally explain Bale being selected....
          Last edited by Rockman; May 4, 2013, 01:33 PM.

The award is not a best striker award, it is best player award. Therein lies the reason Bale is selected over say van Persie, a very good striker in my opinion, but not in the same class as Bale as a complete player. I pointed out the difference in supporting cast between say a Tottenham and ManUre because it should be obvious to you that your side is stronger and much more consistent than Tottenham. VP's performance this season is good, but it is the least you can expect from a player surrounded by such talent as on the ManUre team.

Again, top 4 finish does not make a player-of-the-season. I guess you did not notice that Suarez was also selected for the same award. Going by your reasoning, Suarez should not be nominated as his team is not making it to a top 4 finish. Hey, the results are out and even if Spurs does not make the top 4, you cannot change the fact that the award is a Best Player award and not a top 4 finish award.

Suarez competed for the Golden boots award(an award for his team), that had everything to do with the selection,it could easily have been a best striker award.
              For the purpose of argument,RvP distinguished himself from his striker teammates, they all stood to benefit from the same dynamics that is being used to marginalize RvP achievements.

. . .the same dynamics that is being used to marginalize RvP achievements.
                Haffi agree wid yuh here. Bale is one hell of a dynamic player, maybe the best we have seen the past few seasons in the Premier League. That is the dynamics which have marginalize RvP from this award for this season I am sure.

Hey, Vp is good, but he does not defend like a Bale. He is not quick as Bale. He does not have the dribbling skills to take on players, beat them and then tear up the onion bag like Bale. Hey, there are other good players out there, but Bale this season has been a cut above the rest. He was the best choice for Player Of The Year in my opinion.

Damn Tilla, you have been paying attention and have grasped...

Tilla, you are not giving RvP enough credit.
                    At Man U, Berbie(won the golden boots award) lack of defense wasn't missed, that plagued his career at Man U,RvP has not been subjected to such criticism because he plays sufficient defense.
                    Also, the acquisition of RvP by the great Man U is what is being hailed as Man U finally focussing on winning the CL.
                    RvP is a player of the tallest order, strategically placed to gain advantage in two competitions(mission ACTUALLY realized regarding winning EPL, now for the CL) whilst Spurs continues to struggle to reach its targets despite having the player of the year..
                    We will have to agree to disagree on this one, sah.