3rd best player in the league? Really?

• 3rd best player in the league? Really?

“I think Van Persie has been the third-best player in the league, so I’d go for Suárez or Bale purely on footballing terms,” (Dave Kidd ).

Is Mr. Kidd kidding?

Well lets see;

Goals scored: RVP - 24, Suarez -23, Bale -18

Assist: RVP - 8, Suarez - 5 , Bale -4.

Lets talk about defending, how many times RvP made a goal saving clearance?

The question must be asked then, what footballing reason is Mr. Kidd talking about?

clown
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A mr Kidd's opinion. Is it so bad to be the 3 best player in any league???

Ask Falcoa

Goals & assists = best player?

Sorry, what other criteria? Winning the BPL? Okay then ....

So a midfielder will never be the best player in a league...unless he scores more than a forward? Kinda ridiculous no?

You are going in a completely different direction. Mr. Kidd mentioned 3 players RvP, Suarez and Bale. Which of the 3 should win player of the year? My personal choice of ALL the nominees would be Michael Carrick, but Mr. Kidd only mentioned 3 players.

Okay

I think Bale is the best player in the league. How many times have you seen Van Persie scored the type of goals that Bale has scored this season? THe majority of van Persie's goals I would say come from goal poaching. Bale on the other hand take games by the scuff of the neck and produce results for his team. van Persie also has the benefit of playing on a much stronger team than Bale does, so it is only natural that VP would score more.

If I had the option of seeing Chelsea acquire either of the two, VP or Bale, I would go for Bale. A simple amazing talent if you ask me.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think Bale is the best player in the league. How many times have you seen Van Persie scored the type of goals that Bale has scored this season? THe majority of van Persie's goals I would say come from goal poaching. Bale on the other hand take games by the scuff of the neck and produce results for his team. van Persie also has the benefit of playing on a much stronger team than Bale does, so it is only natural that VP would score more.

If I had the option of seeing Chelsea acquire either of the two, VP or Bale, I would go for Bale. A simple amazing talent if you ask me.
                    Some goal poacher. http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8524/8...059863f9_o.gif

And how many times do you see that from van Persie? As they say, one swallow does not a summer make.

On the other hand, see some of Bale's exploits: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm1YAa2zxtU

I unlike you do not have a dog in the fight. I am an outsider looking in and giving my unbiased opinion.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And how many times do you see that from van Persie? As they say, one swallow does not a summer make.

On the other hand, see some of Bale's exploits: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm1YAa2zxtU

I unlike you do not have a dog in the fight. I am an outsider looking in and giving my unbiased opinion.
                        One swallow? This count? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRzagvfaKGU

One more ting, Bale nuh wear #3 nuh more, so some of the clips are not from this season. Of course I'd love to see Bale at MU as well doesn't change the reality that the numbers support RVP. Futhermore, how a player ago win MVP and not even win a medal fi fair play? Really now?
                        Last edited by Lazie; April 26, 2013, 03:44 PM.

Lazie, you can be so biased it is just not funny anymore. I bet if vP was still an Arsenal player, you would not be defending him so?

Tilla, what you betting? I don't understand you folks, I put up numbers to support my argument, yet the only thing you're using is that I'm biased? I could accuse you of being biased as well, but ... I'll stick with the numbers.

Some of these awards (or opinions) are not based on numbers. Real football connoisseurs know that numbers alone don't tell the whole story. In 1999, David Ginola racked up 2 Player of the Year awards sporting mediocre stats. But he played for a struggling Tottenham and people appreciated his greatness.

So, maybe Mr. Kidd is coming from such an angle.