Got yuh...but Platini?
I am in the dark about his transgressions...
Karl, Platini is a dangerous fellow for conservative fans like myself. His ideas about technology, the make up of European football, the structure of the Euros, his £100,000 fine to Bendtner make me distrust him. With regard to corruption I have no evidence or reason to believe he is corrupt other than:
1. he was almost hand picked to run UEFA by Blaater.
2. he is widely seen as the heir apparent to Blaater (who better than a fellow conspirator to cover up tracks)
3. despite his ranting over financial fair play, he has seemed to turn a blind eye to PSG's monkey business (doing business with itself to generate the necessary revenues); Platini's son by the way, works for PSG.
4. Qatari firm Qatari Sports Investments owns PSG; the people behind QSI *may* be members of the Qatari ruling family; secondly the owner of Malaga is Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser who I believe (not sure about this though) is a member of the Qatari royal family; when both Malaga and PSG qualified for the knockout stages of the UCL, Platini ignored calls to investigate the ownership thread. Hmmmmmmmmm???? Hmmmmmmmmm! Note that this was important because no one can own two teams in UEFA as I understand it, so Malaga could have faced PSG with the same owners (allegedly). But why not investigate?
5. He voted for Qatar to host the world cup under what seems like suspicious circumstances. He has never (as far as I can tell) justified that decision. When confronted with the potential heat problem (something FIFA's own due diligence warned FIFA about) his solution was to move the tournament to January - how laughable. Disrupt the entire world football calendar so they can line their pockets? Unbelievable. Read this article: http://www.france24.com/en/20130129-...ruption-claims
Anyway - have to get some work done. "Distrust and Verify" - my motto when it comes to ruling football figures. All of them tief.
You certainly did some probing?
As I have said before FIFA both internally and in its dealings with others outside of FIFA operate on a quid pro quo basis or as we Jamaicans say 'you scratch my back, I scratch yours' (or some such thing???).
In this new world...or is it 'in this new world'? Is it from time immemorial?...that is the way the world works. Is it immoral? ...corrupt dealings?
When should a grandfather not reward his grandson but a stranger over said grandson?
I am sure Platini has had to play by "the old boys' rules" to be holding the position within FIFA that he now holds.
You have forgotten that 'FIFA rules' even supercede that of governments and that it the 'golden rule(s)' that prevail within FIFA. - He who has the gold (power and authority within The FIFA) makes the (golden) rule(s)=self-serving rules!!!
Is there a poor FIFA top official?
Do not think so...??? The person may come into football poor as a church mouse but in short order...????
You certainly did some probing?
As I have said before FIFA both internally and in its dealings with others outside of FIFA operate on a quid pro quo basis or as we Jamaicans say 'you scratch my back, I scratch yours' (or some such thing???).
In this new world...or is it 'in this new world'? Is it from time immemorial?...that is the way the world works. Is it immoral? ...corrupt dealings?
When should a grandfather not reward his grandson but a stranger over said grandson?
I am sure Platini has had to play by "the old boys' rules" to be holding the position within FIFA that he now holds.
You have forgotten that 'FIFA rules' even supercede that of governments and that it the 'golden rule(s)' that prevail within FIFA. - He who has the gold (power and authority within The FIFA) makes the (golden) rule(s)=self-serving rules!!!
Is there a poor FIFA top official?
Do not think so...??? The person may come into football poor as a church mouse but in short order...????
I "certainly did some probing?" Karl, one thing you should know about me is that I try vey hard to not make unfounded accusations. I try (not always successfully) to put myself in the shoes of the accused and ask "what if that were me?" If someone accuses me of something, I would be doing everything in my power to clear my name. You don't see that happening with these dudes too tough do you? KMT.
Jack Warner accused of taking FIFA World Cup money
Published: Tuesday April 23, 2013 | 10:21 am
Austin ‘Jack’ Warner – File
Melton Williams, Gleaner Writer
Serious questions have again been raised over Football Federation Australia's failed World Cup bid in the wake of a damning report that alleges former leading FIFA official Austin ‘Jack’ Warner pocketed a $462,000 donation meant to help the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation.
The integrity report, which was conducted by a high-level committee, found that Football Federation Australia agreed to deposit the funds to help upgrade the Marvin Lee Stadium in a Caribbean bank account after meeting with Warner.
The inquiry alleges the account was controlled by Warner and that it appeared he later pocketed Football Federation Australia’s funds.
Warner has denied the allegations.
According to the report the funds were paid to CONCACAF by Football Federation Australia in the form of a cheque that was deposited into a bank account maintained at Republic National Bank in Trinidad and Tobago.
Earlier that year, Warner had deposited personal reimbursement funds from CONCACAF in the account.
The committee concludes that Warner misappropriated the funds given his failure to report the payment as income, and the general lack of accountability of funds sent to CONCACAF operations in Trinidad and Tobago.
Former Football Federation Australia head of corporate affairs Bonita Mersiades broke the story on Sunday and revealed she had raised concerns over the issue.
'Nothing to fear' says Warner on reports of FBI probe
Published: Sunday March 31, 2013 | 12:02 pm
PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, Mar 31, CMC- Former FIFA vice president Jack Warner says he has nothing to fear following international media reports that he is the subject of a probe by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in the United States.
Warner, Minister of National Security in the Kamla Persad-Bissessar administration, also said that he will not be “crucified” by persons calling for him to be dismissed.
Reuters News Agency reported that the FBI has been examining more than US$500,000 in payments made by the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) over the past 20 years to an offshore company headed by top U.S. soccer official Chuck Blazer.
“I do not think you know of any other politician who for the last three years has been maligned and who has been crucified as I have been,” said Warner, who held the offices of vice president of FIFA and president of CONCACAF until his suspension and eventual resignation from these roles in 2011.
“The one objective in mind—to get rid of Jack Warner because there are those who believe that if you get rid of Jack Warner then you get rid of a major chunk or chink in the Government’s armour”.
The Reuters report said that an FBI probe into alleged corruption in international soccer has recently intensified after investigators persuaded a key party to be a cooperating witness.
The report said that Warner has not been charged with any wrongdoing but quoted sources as saying that Daryan Warner, son of the former football executive, is assisting the probe.
“At the end of the day, I don’t have to respond to them,” Warner told reporters in Trinidad.
“Yesterday was the crucifixion. Today is not, and I will continue and I will do what I have to do. I have nothing to be afraid of and I sleep very soundly at night”.
Since the Reuters report, the main opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) has intensified calls for Warner’s dismissal, accusing Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar of shielding her embattled minister.