• James: Black managers don't get top jobs because they're not

James: Black managers don't get top jobs because they're not good enough

By DAVID KENT
    PUBLISHED: 07:00 EST, 18 April 2013 | UPDATED: 07:02 EST, 18 April 2013

Former England goalkeeper David James claims the shortage of black managers in the Premier League is not a race issue but a question of quality.

The 42-year-old stopper is currently embarking on his first coaching role in Iceland - alongside former team-mate Hermann Hreidarsson - having already achieved his A and B licences from the FA.

James, who won the last of his 53 England caps in 2010, fears the positive discrimination of a 'Rooney's Rule', whereby clubs must consider black managers for any vacancy, papers over the cracks.

Speaking out: David James has suggested a lack of quality is to blame for black managers not getting top jobs

Speaking in a wide-ranging interview with Dubai-based newspaper Sport 360, James said: 'Having been on two FA coaching courses, A Licence and B Licence, there weren’t many ethnic coaches, black or other, on the courses.

'And, if you look at the ones who have been sacked – the highlighted examples of there being a glass ceiling – well they’ve been bloody bad managers, so why should you give them a job?'

There are presently five black managers in the 92-club English professional game; Chris Hughton, Chris Powell, Paul Ince, Edgar Davids and Chris Kiwomya.

Of those, the most successful is Hughton, currently enjoying a second stint in the Premier League, with Norwich.

In the minority: Chris Hughton and Chris Powell are two of the five black managers in the professional game

James adds: 'He's decent at what he does and that's the problem – the standard of black managers in England isn’t good enough to demand these positions.'
    Speaking yesterday, PFA chief Gordon Taylor was convinced the PFA's equivalent of the 'Rooney Rule' will address the lack of black representation.

In conjuction with the Football League, the PFA is pushing ahead with its radical new Coaching Fair Play plan.

It is also helping to sidestep the natural conservatism he feels has prevented the large percentage of black players in the professional game transferring into anything like an acceptable number in the hot-seat.

'People are always more comfortable with other people who are the same as them; language, colour. It is almost defensive,' said Taylor.

Addressing the imbalance: Gordon Taylor is confident the Rooney Rule can provide a boost

'Owners have been more than happy to have black players on the pitch, and black managers from abroad such as Ruud Gullit and Jean Tigana, but the overall figures are not in line with numbers on the pitch.

'It is not going to happen overnight but we need more representation in senior positions. We need role models for black managers the same as we had for players.

'It is a shock that racism is still a topic when we have made such progress.

'But as we have seen with the crowd trouble over the weekend, we should never dream of slacking up on any of the issues we have made progress with.

'The minute we do, it all comes out of the bottle again.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2QpCsX3Ce
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Could have been quoted out of context

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How much more context do you need? "'And, if you look at the ones who have been sacked – the highlighted examples of there being a glass ceiling – well they’ve been bloody bad managers, so why should you give them a job?'"

What James is missing is the opportunities start before the job interviews. While he may have been on courses with other minorities, there is severely closed system when it comes to coaching. Here in Broward County, I am in pain watching the coaching that my daughter and her peers endure - no creativity, no skills development, simply brute force and ramrod tactics. Yet, try to get into coaching at any decent level and see how many barriers are put up with the friend bizniz...no matter how much license you might have. This friend thing, is where the problem starts with racism to my mind.

Why iceland? Dem nuh have as much teams,ergo, opportunities as England?!! Does he think he is not good enough to get a job there?

Him can gwaan chat ****erey ah man ears, di sub standard black managers nuh worse dan di white ones. A how much nuh good pale one dem hab again most ah dem if yuh ask mi. Most waan man fi run up an dung like dem loose dem head and den wi talk bout, wi uh hab nuh quality fi English League. How much team ah Englan really hah quality is di question.

When James and his license get cut him sing a different tune. LOL

The next question is how do black managers stand up against caucasian british managers in the EPL ?

Chris Haughton given his sole representation is doing damm well ,considering the high % of forgein coaches.

James put his foot in his mouth , no mention of the historical dis-advantages of the oppourtunity curve blacks are up against.

But Haughton rises.

A so it bad down there? Here in GA it different. I have to try be a parent because the club call me every season and I have refused for the past year and a half. Once you are in the system, you can take the license.

Currently I will fill in for the coach but with two youth at this age it is a lot of responsiblitiy. In NY it is easy to get in as well. Have nuff youth who use to play with and for my team into coaching part and fulltime in good systems.

A so it bad down there? Here in GA it different. I have to try be a parent because the club call me every season and I have refused for the past year and a half. Once you are in the system, you can take the license.

Currently I will fill in for the coach but with two youth at this age it is a lot of responsiblitiy. In NY it is easy to get in as well. Have nuff youth who use to play with and for my team into coaching part and fulltime in good systems.
                  You have to remember how much latin people live in South Florida. There are 8 boys on my son's U5 recreational team; he is the only one who is not Spanish speaking (even though his wutliss mother is Mexican). For the most part, latin people control the programs here and they are definitely cliquish, not bigoted, but friend-bizness goes a long way from what I can tell.

Look who she married....

LOL!! That was perty funny...but it still doesn't take away from that fat that you are a goat!

shaky statement from a yard man... black managers will get fired more not because they are not good but they take bad jobs or jobs that a big coach wont take. For example why did paul ince start at Mk dons and not a better club? because the big clubs wont take the risks..

Why thank you, i really did not realize that ypu consider me the Greatest Of All Time. I must however humbly admit that I may not be the GOAT but I am appreciative of your endorsement.

LOL!!! Too funny. I think on second thought you are a GGOAT...GREATEST GOAT OF ALL TIME...if not that, then for sure GREATEST GINALIST OF ALL TIME. LOL!!

True.