• Marlon King Would Play Under Different Coach

Marlon King Would Play Under Different Coach
    Published: Tuesday | April 16, 2013 0 Comments

Marlon King
    André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Despite insisting that his client has not "turned his back" on the Reggae Boyz, the agent for recuperating striker, Marlon King, underlined that there would need to be an overhaul of the team's management for the 32-year-old to reconsider his position.

"Basically, while some members of this administration remains in power he is not going to put himself forward; depending on who is the manager and if he is called up, he would consider reversing his decision," said Finnigan.

King, who is recovering from knee surgery, announced his retirement from international football in early November last year, amidst attempts by Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, to mend the relationship between himself and the coaching staff, led by Theodore Whitmore and Brazilian Alfredo Montesso.

The striker had taken issue with how he was treated, after himself and Chris Humphrey were banned for two games for breaking a curfew, with the striker then being overlooked for five games, leading to his retirement.

Whitmore and Montesso had also both publicly dismissed King's continued value to the programme.

"They have handled the situation very wrong ... for a guy like Marlon King scoring loads of goals and getting looked over by the manager; and it's his decision. We know Captain Burrell wants him to come back and play, but he is not the manager and unless he does something, then it won't change," Finnigan added.

Team's playing style

"Whitmore is the manager and the Brazilian is his assistant and he says to him that he (Marlon) does not fit in the team's style of play; what is he talking about?

"It's funny because everyone that the JFF calls from England to come and play who do you think they are ringing? They are calling Marlon King to ask what's it like to play for Jamaica," said Finnigan.

The Reggae Boyz are struggling to score, with Marvin Elliott's strike against Panama inside the National Stadium being the team's lone goal in three CONCACAF final-round FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

King has scored 12 goals in 21 games for the national senior team and has scored over 154 goals in his senior professional career. He currently plies his trade with Birmingham City in the English Championship and has scored 14 goals in 30 appearances this season.

has scored 14 goals in 30 appearances this season} he's a scorah!

He's also a disruptive influence.

As long as he disrupts the net what does it matter? Onandi Lowe was a disruptive force and that never stap him from getting called...as was Pepe Goodison...

Why would he return to the squad after the captain publicly dissed him?
          We need someone who can consistently score goals, and none of the other strikers are up to par. Can he get a visa to the US?

He's also a disruptive influence.
            Mo, in what way was he a disruptive influence?. Personally, I do not buy that. These are all grown men, who are quite capable of making their own decisions. I say get rid of Tappa and the idiot Brazilian and bring back King and Fuller. Management is about balancing risks and benefits.

As long as he disrupts the net what does it matter? Onandi Lowe was a disruptive force and that never stap him from getting called...as was Pepe Goodison...
              Agree with you Bricky, ... To an extent. The guy contributed more positively than he disrupted. This visceral hatred for the guy by Tappa and the idiot Brazilian seems to be over the top, in my view.

Good strike rate at quality levels!
                Our most accomplished striker since Delephana! No one even close when quality opponents are taken into consideration.

true but Tappa them must stop the indefinate suspension of people. If the man get a two game ban, make it a two game ban. Same way them treat Humpries, and now Mattocks.

If you banning the man them for longer period say so and we can understand or if you not calling them again say so but don't play edging. Even Jermaine Hue is the victim of this. Mi nuh like the silent treatment that they give players.

Jermaine Hue has been suspended?!? It would seem like, but I don't think so.

I don't have a problem with indefinite suspensions. One should be careful when taking absolute and final decisions. The coaching staff has the upper hand and it is their choice what they do.

We keep underestimating the disruptive influence factor. If we are talking TEAM (barf!) then the ability of the players to work together with everyone in that team is essential!

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      The guy contributed more positively than he disrupted.
                      How is that measured?

We keep underestimating the disruptive influence factor. If we are talking TEAM (barf!) then the ability of the players to work together with everyone in that team is essential!
                        We went to France with a hot head who got sent off in every damn game he played in...and a prima donna who didn't want to play with English players and cowed them down on the field every chance he got...how more disruptive to a team can you be than that?

Ok. Make up your mind whose argument you are trying to support.

Obviously that disruption didn't stop us from going to OUR ONLY WORLD CUP EVER...yes?

Jermaine Hue has been suspended?!? It would seem like, but I don't think so.

This says it all. Hue wasn't been called even when there was no way he should have been left out of the squad, same thing happen to Ricketts. Were they on suspension too or wasn't good enough?

Coaches need to be clearer. I have no problem with them not calling King or any other players but if you suspend a man you must state that they will not be calling the man them. I think Tappa had the right to suspend king for how long he wanted as it was not his first or second time so why suspend him for two games?