HL, how yuh never tell us that the US U17 flopped?!?

• HL, how yuh never tell us that the US U17 flopped?!?

Honduras tops U.S., earns U-17 WC spot

5| Share on facebookShare on diggShare on redditShare on lockerbloggerShare on email|
    By Michael Lewis

PANAMA CITY, Panama -- Honduras recorded a 3-1 quarterfinal win to stun the United States to qualify for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup and reach the semifinals of the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship on Sunday night.

The result denied the Americans from qualifying for the U-17 World Cup for the first time. The U.S. was the only country that had participated in every FIFA U-17 world championship, having qualified a record 14 times.

The Hondurans will play the winner of the Mexico-Guatemala quarterfinal match in the semifinals on Wednesday.

Christopher Alegria, Alberth Elis and Kevin Alvarez scored for the Central Americans, who defeated the U.S. for the first time in eight meetings in the U-17 championship. Honduras entered the match with a 0-0-7 record vs. the U.S.

The Americans controlled the early part of the game, but had little to show from their efforts.

With the match barely three minutes old, the U.S. had the first opportunity as Shaquell Moore had close-range header off a corner kick.

Corey Baird fired a left-footed shot that bounced to Honduras goalkeeper Cristian Hernandez, who bobbled the ball a bit, but covered up for his second save in the 10th minute.

Three minutes later, Hernandez was up to the task again, denying Joel Sonora from eight yards.

The Hondurans got back into the swing of things, placing their first shot on goal in the 18th minute. Devron Garcia tapped captain Luis Santos a free kick and Santos launched a low shot that went right to goalkeeper Jefferson Caldwell.

Brayan Velasquez broke through the U.S. defense in the 26th minute and raced in on Caldwell, who managed to knock the ball away before the Honduran could get off a shot. Velasquez was injured on the play and limped off the field before rejoining the action minutes later.

Honduras grabbed a 1-0 lead in the 42nd minute on a screaming, 30-yard drive by Alegria. Alvaro Romero, on the left flank, passed the ball to an unmarked Alegria toward the middle of the field and he fired a line drive that Caldwell got a hand on, but could not stop from going into the far right corner.

Sonora equalized for the U.S. in the 45th minute. The Boca Juniors youth product took a pass from Christopher Lema and as Honduran players converged, he sent a 30-yard rocket to the near left post for a 1-1 tie.

Velasquez turned playmaker for Honduras in the 57th minute. He sent a diagonal pass to an onrushing Elis, who beat defender Thomas Redding to the ball, before he tipped it past Caldwell from six yards for a 2-1 lead. An exuberant Elis took off his blue shirt to celebrate as referee Henry Bejarano of Costa Rica issued him a yellow card.

Elis almost gave the Hondurans a two-goal lead off a counterattack in the 66th minute. He raced down the field with U.S. defender John Requejo Jr. and fired 12-yard blast that hit the underside of the crossbar. The game officials ruled that the ball did not cross the goal line and play continued.

However, Honduras did give itself some breathing room only two minutes later. This time Alvarez powered home a 28-yard rocket off a free kick to the left near post past a leaping Caldwell for a 3-1 advantage. Copying Elis, Alvarez also ripped off his shirt to celebrate his goal and was assessed a yellow card.

Why the 'ell should he bother? LOL!!!

That's too funny!

LOL!

Misery loves company!

I did acknowledge the loss last night.

FACT: The US U-17 has qualified for the WC -- 15 times!!

Only lastnight you acknowledged it??? LOL. It took 24 hours to sink in???

make that 14 straight, not 15.

HL, it is as predicted - The US in this tournament still showed best structure (Teamwork? Excellent!) but for quite a while other countries have been putting players on the field with for the most part greater technical ability. At long last - excepting our TEAM, Barbados and to a lesser extent Cuba and T'DAD - the others are catching up...getting closer to the USA - on organization such that technical superiority is making a difference. Unless the USA gets her best technical talents into her
            TEAM(s) she shall be overtaken by the CENTRAL AMERICAN countries in short order.

The Central American countries have now started to mold their technically gifted players into displaying those technical gifts/skills within context of TEAM goal...TEAM tactical goals.

How we suffer as our teachers/coaches fail at organization of their TEAMs.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.as...chnical&id=232

catching up Karl??? you use one tournament to decide that???

The were beaten badly but when did last Cuba, Barbados and Trinidad qualified for youth world cup????

Karl, if any other country had the American structure...worries!

These guys live together for how many years, play how many matches together, in tournaments, every striking thing! You think their coach could offer excuses like, "they need to understand the game", or "their immaturity let them down"?

You have players on the USA team with 34 caps! No Jamaican player has that even for his school, much less the national side!

The USA has pros listed with Borussia Dortmund and Boca Juniors. Our highest placed pro is with DC United! Ok, so it's our fault why more of our players are not at bigger clubs, but the fact still remains that this team should have qualified for its 217th U17 World Cup.

They have been given every reason to succeed, but they haven't! Indeed, they have failed miserably!!!

Yes, misery does indeed love company, especially when that company has millions more than oneself, yet have nothing to show for it.

catching up Karl??? you use one tournament to decide that???

The were beaten badly but when did last Cuba, Barbados and Trinidad qualified for youth world cup????
                  Assasin: You have lost the plot! You live in past accomplishments of making FIFA World Finals. -
                  First: You have forgotten that at those FIFA World finals only our 1998 TEAM played what can be considered a good match...i.e. put on display a good TEAM-play performance.

Second: You have forgotten that at those finals we were humiliated more times than many of us care to remember.

Third: You fail to focus on the performances of our players in these World tournaments and specifically on these U-17 matches in Panama.

May I remind you that on TEAM-play in these matches in Panama that we were consistently horrible.

Please separate flashes of individual brilliance from TEAM-play. That being blinded by the fleeting moments of brilliance that result in blindness to quality of the TEAM's play is for those who view the game on shallow superficial level. I would not put you among that group.

Finally: If we are serious about improved levels of play and creation of a football industry that provides great benefits to the stakeholders and the country then it must be a making of succeeding TEAMs - age-group through national senior teams - that conquer CONCACAf and the making of waves at FIFA World finals and in the world's football marketplace.

Each of our performances in these regional and world tournaments are measuring sticks on progress made or not made. We cannot concern ourselves with past accomplishments of the T'dads and Cubas but with their present performances as they relate to our attainment of top world quality players and TEAMs.

Are we talking about Cuba, Barbados and Trinidad here?

I simply don't understand your post. How are they catching up with the US. The US has been to all under 17 world cup. Next time around Barbados, Cuba and Trinidad may not even make it out of the Caribbean region to rhatid. How are they catching up????

Karl, if any other country had the American structure...worries!

These guys live together for how many years, play how many matches together, in tournaments, every striking thing! You think their coach could offer excuses like, "they need to understand the game", or "their immaturity let them down"?

You have players on the USA team with 34 caps! No Jamaican player has that even for his school, much less the national side!

The USA has pros listed with Borussia Dortmund and Boca Juniors. Our highest placed pro is with DC United! Ok, so it's our fault why more of our players are not at bigger clubs, but the fact still remains that this team should have qualified for its 217th U17 World Cup.

They have been given every reason to succeed, but they haven't! Indeed, they have failed miserably!!!

Yes, misery does indeed love company, especially when that company has millions more than oneself, yet have nothing to show for it.

Let me put it to you squarely - Did you see the US U-17 team doing anything you could not grasp in 40 minutes? ...and perform - (as your current age and physical capability allows) - consistently after 3 weeks?

If you did and cannot not- Yuh dunce bad!
                      ...and it is my contention that we do not have 'dunce kids'!!!

Look? ...that is my problem with our teachers/coaches at earliest ages our kids must be taught (as in their formal education classes) the basics -
                      In football it is -
                      i) how to kick the ball properly & why it is necessary to do so;
                      ii) how to head the ball & why it is necessary to do so;
                      iii)how to bring the ball under personal control & why it is necessary to do so;
                      iv) working together to accomplish goals more easily & why it is advantageous so to do...

Kids learn by aping others in their environment - therefore 'the classroom' must provide examples of the correct way of doing things...

Kids are great at 'figuring things out'....they have great powers of observation and great aptitude at mimicking. ...they when properly taught=receive the info in 'language'(=ways) that pique interest and allows for quick grasp concepts e.g. once they are taught and 'buy into'=understand the concepts --- It dun!!! e.g. Once they understand "the why" learning the skill and improving on same as 'joy' is derived---It dun!!! Matters not what it is math, science, manner of speaking, writing, 'cadet(ing)' , playing a game...etc., etc.

It is fact, our kids have great balance...and have great talent for sports...talent abounds.

Living and working together like the US kids certainly help...but at the U-20 through lower age groups the rate at which the young absorb info is phenomenal.

Our kids are being taught 'football' from prep/primary schools through that U-20 age group...so telling me about USA kids living together and playing together at these age-group...out-performing our kids does not cut it. Examples of our kids capacity to perform/acquire the technical skills ...the young Keith Kelly, our striker who scored 2 on Canada...etc.).

Where we fall down dramatically is tactical skills! Playing as TEAM! The unit playing the laws of averages whether on attack or defense...

Let me use an example we had right here on the board - Sass who thought merely being on the TEAM sheet and running out and lining up together meant you were a TEAM. I would think Sass has changed his view over time...but it is obvious that our age-group and senior local players also believe so. We were not taught the importance of TEAM always first! Working together being for TEAM the greatest of thing.

It was drilled into us "tek im hon"...'bruk mi"... Cho yuh cyan play lacka 'likle missa bruka'!!! All the football stars outside of goalkeepers were always presented to us...drummed into us...only as 'beaters-brukas'. Never was it pointed out - Pele's movement! Pele's passing (save the passing into goals...and it is always presented as shot as if a shot is some special alien thing and not just a pass)! ...same with Maradonna...and all the other great players. ...and there was never a mention of the movement and passing/passing and movement of selves and their supporting cast...forget about hearing that the supporting cast was absolutely essential to their success.

Certainly in my time at school the info - just football being discussed here - was always passed on at best without the 'full concept' discussed.

I said it before - based on the quality of football I see being played in our NPL our U-17 teams should be beating the Harbour Views and Portmores (the top teams in our NPL) by 3 through 6 clear goals. ...if the boys had competent teachers!!!

Aside: Professionalism.
                      That reference to playing as pro!

You do not have to be paid to be a pro... Being a professional is an attitude. Playing the game at great levels of efficiency is born out of being focused on being the best you can be.

The clubs you list and the quality teaching to which those players have been exposed and the end results (i.e. level quality players) just underlines the gap in learning environment. It points to what holds locally and what hold in those environments.

It is a fact that even if the presentation of facts in a formal class setting - that within which our teachers/coaches impart knowledge - is poor, if the work environment is top quality then the player shall have an advantage...but at these U-20 through lower age groups it is teaching that makes the greatest difference.

*Yes, I acknowledge that our poor teachers put our players in a chicken --- egg situation, i.e. poor teachers ---->poor students/players---->poor teams---->poor work environment/poor leagues--->poor teachers. ...but Christ? ...commonsense and video technology, television and film
                      ...visits to top clubs and invitations to top technical directors/coaches...where our teachers can go to school to do practical work/teaching practice??? Christ???

Sorry, Mosiah! You are a difficult person to convince...It is not the kids...they have 'talent to burn'...it is the damn incompetent teachers!!!
                      Last edited by Karl; April 16, 2013, 03:05 PM.

Well, if I learnt one thing, it's that squarely does not mean concisely!

I shall go thru this when time allows!

Are we talking about Cuba, Barbados and Trinidad here?

I simply don't understand your post. How are they catching up with the US. The US has been to all under 17 world cup. Next time around Barbados, Cuba and Trinidad may not even make it out of the Caribbean region to rhatid. How are they catching up????
                          The USA qualified for all U17 WCs? And the best they have done is a 4th place finish in 1999?!?

Blimey! Seems like we can catch up with them for true!

"can" is the key word there. I believe we can too, but the problem is right now none of the teams Karl name or us is showing any sign of catching the US.

Misery loves company!

I did acknowledge the loss last night.

FACT: The US U-17 has qualified for the WC -- 15 times!!
                              HL - move an' gweh!! Lick yu wounds an' come back nex' time like the res'a we. On the day, you ain't no betta dan Jamaica or TNT. KMT. Now go find a Honduras jersey and wear it PROUDLY! (It's blue, so you can might pass it off as a Citeh gears LOL!!!)