Coach blames Under-17s’ collapse on immaturity

To your eyes...not mine!!!
    From the get go the Canadians had a disciplined passing game on attack (when in possession) and closed down ball and man when on defense.

We never had discipline at anytime. We started with aggression and passion but lost both as the game went on.
    Last edited by Karl; April 15, 2013, 04:58 PM.

Wow.... I agree with BOTH of you.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It is 2013! ...a revisit of 2009!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?id=233

Update on Dever Orgill:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...nland_14075140

In the first half Karl? We outplayed Canada no?
            Is this another of those long used argument by Jamaicans "Wi ball dem, bu dem beat wi"?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Good for him. I hope it leads to better playing environment...quickly!

Learn The Game

LEARN THE GAME

Downswell bemoans Young Boyz's lack of understanding of game
                BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter myerss@jamaicaobserver.com
                Tuesday, April 16, 2013

The Jamaica Under-17 squad returned to the island yesterday after a failed World Cup-qualifying campaign that ended in disappointment and anguish in Panama on Saturday.

The Young Boyz, who were originally expected back in Jamaica on Sunday, but who were delayed due to airline booking issues, went down 2-4 to Canada in the quarter-final of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship.

LEARN THE GAME

Bizarrely, Jamaica were ahead in all three of its matches during the tournament, but ended the competition without a single victory.
                In the opening game against hosts Panama, the Jamaicans had the early lead, but went down to 10 players before conceding in injury time to draw 1-1. The Jamaicans would go on to lose another player to a red card in the dying seconds of that encounter.

In the second group game against regional rivals Barbados, which finished 2-2, Jamaica led 1-0 and 2-1.

They also had 1-0 and 2-1 advantages over Canada before a second-half defensive implosion saw the sinking of the World Cup dream.

Lapse defending was the target of choice for dart-throwing critics, but many were also left astounded by the glaring lack of awareness and the general paucity of understanding and cohesion among players regarded as the island's finest.

Head coach Wendell Downswell said his team did not execute tactical plans throughout much of the tournament. Arguing that lack of experience hampered the performance, he also expressed his frustration at how often and how carelessly possession was lost, especially against the rampant North American team.

"One of the problems with our youngsters is their understanding and (them) becoming students of the game... to understand the rudiments of the game. We had so many turnovers (of ball possession) in 45 minutes and at the international level it is unacceptable.

"If you look at the Central American teams and the North Americans and how disciplined they play... The whole aspect of turnovers is a no-no for them, especially in their defensive third. We lost the ball (regularly) against Canada because the players didn't show the ability to concentrate.

"We just make decisions without a tactical reason. It may be because they do it at the local level and get away with it," he told the Jamaica Observer.

The teams to join Canada in the semi-final and which sealed places to the 2013 World Cup were Panama, Under-17 world champions Mexico, as well as Honduras.

Panama defeated Trinidad & Tobago 4-2, and Honduras sprung a 3-1 surprise on United States, while the Mexicans surged to a 2-0 blanking of Guatemala.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QfxU0arb

LEARN THE GAME

Downswell bemoans Young Boyz's lack of understanding of game
                  BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter myerss@jamaicaobserver.com
                  Tuesday, April 16, 2013

LEARN THE GAME

Bizarrely, Jamaica were ahead in all three of its matches during the tournament, but ended the competition without a single victory.
                  In the opening game against hosts Panama, the Jamaicans had the early lead, but went down to 10 players before conceding in injury time to draw 1-1. The Jamaicans would go on to lose another player to a red card in the dying seconds of that encounter.

In the second group game against regional rivals Barbados, which finished 2-2, Jamaica led 1-0 and 2-1.

They also had 1-0 and 2-1 advantages over Canada before a second-half defensive implosion saw the sinking of the World Cup dream.

Lapse defending was the target of choice for dart-throwing critics, but many were also left astounded by the glaring lack of awareness and the general paucity of understanding and cohesion among players regarded as the island's finest.

Head coach Wendell Downswell said his team did not execute tactical plans throughout much of the tournament. Arguing that lack of experience hampered the performance, he also expressed his frustration at how often and how carelessly possession was lost, especially against the rampant North American team.

"One of the problems with our youngsters is their understanding and (them) becoming students of the game... to understand the rudiments of the game. We had so many turnovers (of ball possession) in 45 minutes and at the international level it is unacceptable.

"If you look at the Central American teams and the North Americans and how disciplined they play... The whole aspect of turnovers is a no-no for them, especially in their defensive third. We lost the ball (regularly) against Canada because the players didn't show the ability to concentrate.

"We just make decisions without a tactical reason. It may be because they do it at the local level and get away with it," he told the Jamaica Observer.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QfxU0arb
                  Well when you start the next preparations ensure they have this knowledge and the ability to 'execute'!!!! Hey...it is a TEAM game!!! Depart from TEAM and, as it has been in the past, dwag nyam wi suppa!!!

I know many will be wondering on why I am advocating the retention of Wendell?

...he is man and can...should learn from the experiences he has gained over the years...and most importantly from these last set of matches!!! He shall again have talented youngsters!!!! ...just teach them 'properly'/he just needs to prepare well!!!

Aside: His above comments are much better than those in the initial report.
                  Last edited by Karl; April 17, 2013, 03:23 PM.