Tactical flaw! - Burrell says club ballers should form base

Let me put it this way, academically, would you send a grade 6 student to take college courses?
    I would hope that that grade 6 student had the necessary expert teaching to be academically at the level his or her talents allow.

...on the converse I would hope the grade 6 student was not sabotaged by the policy-makers following or instituting your path of denying the teaching he/she deserves.

*That suggestion that the grade 6 student - (I am assuming you mean the normal grade 6 student...not the few geniuses we have had who have entered institutions of higher learning/have gone off to college) - goes off to college is a red herring. That is so because in all current modern societies it is the goal to allow each child be in the environment that allows the child to learn and achieve at his/her highest possible levels. ...commonly referred to as "allowing the child to fulfill his/her greatest potential".

Finally: Why close eyes to examples right here at home in Jamaica?

On sports: Our Track and Field administrators are working with the schools to give all our kids access to highest quality teaching and highest quality learning environment?

The results are 'super encouraging'...TOP OF THE WORLD athletes in some of the track & field disciplines from institutions where the instructions are also TOP OF THE WORLD.

Give the rational for ignoring our achievements in some of our kids growth after being put in good early childhood learning environment?

Why would you wish to deny our footballers that 'good eary childhood environment?

btw - It just struck me that I should ask; are you basing your 'policy' on thinking any fool can play football therefore that early stimulation of the brain and development of the motor skills sets needed for football do not have to be developed at the earliest age?

...or do you believe in the creation of an elite society where there is no level playing field where everyone gets a shot but one where some demi-god(s) select winners and losers from among our kids? ...a this one is worthy...that one should be confined to the scrap-heap of life?

The reasoning behind the last paragraph stems from at those earliest ages one cannot desern who has talent and who does not until each has been introduced to the 'game'.

I would not believe of you a leaning to picking of winners and losers at that early age...
    Last edited by Karl; April 12, 2013, 10:48 PM.

Grade 6 students are being prepared for ~drum roll please~ GRADE 7!!!! Not university. Every now and then one might come along but that is the exception rather than the rule.

Throwing our u20's in with professional ballers is basically doing the same thing as asking a grade 6 student who is bein prepared for grade 7, to pass a college course.

Continue to live in your alternate universe, unless and until we begin to prepare our young footballers to be pros, we will continue to fall short. Football is an extracurricular activity in the ISSA paradigm, in the academy set up, it is the PRIMARY curriculum.

Not so sure why it is difficult to see the disparate focus and result with those 2

Grade 6 students are being prepared for ~drum roll please~ GRADE 7!!!! Not university. Every now and then one might come along but that is the exception rather than the rule.
        Seeing we have solved the "grade 6" red herring! Let us see what you have moved on to saying -

Throwing our u20's in with professional ballers is basically doing the same thing as asking a grade 6 student who is bein prepared for grade 7, to pass a college course.
        So at last you have awaken to the fact that our young footballers are not being prepared to join the professional ranks!

Thank God for Jesus! ...your eureka moment! That has been my point the teaching is woefully inadequate...and thus so are our youth players. Let me restate your words - Our youth football players are not being taught such that they can take their place in top professional teams...our even second or third tier professional teams or for that matter gain acceptance in quality football academies.

Continue to live in your alternate universe, unless and until we begin to prepare our young footballers to be pros, we will continue to fall short. Football is an extracurricular activity in the ISSA paradigm, in the academy set up, it is the PRIMARY curriculum.

Not so sure why it is difficult to see the disparate focus and result with those 2
        Good that you are repeating - means you have at last got it - that the preparation provided in Jamaica is not up to snuff.

It is sheer talent why our kids are competing currently at the level they are. --- ...and that is why our U-17s that show good potential must be moved outside of Jamaica to clubs where they will be at last introduced to quality teaching. ...from our last U-17 there were at least 4 such kids who I think could make it to top professional clubs' books and academy (Europe)...and another 3 who could make it to lesser clubs' books or academies (Europe).

Every year clubs take young players who do not make it to the 1st team immediately or even in that 1st year...sometimes never at that club...but are later taken by other clubs. Our U-17s showing good quality must leave the poor learning environment that holds in Jamaica as quickly as possible=immediately.

Just cannot understand your agreeing that the kids are not being properly taught...and yet you are against improving teaching standards throughout the schools.

Would love to have your reasoning on why our poor teachers - see the results of their efforts in the play of their best students in our national teams (age-group through senior teams) - will suddenly become better at teaching when moved from the schools and clubs environment to our academy 'class-rooms'?
        Last edited by Karl; April 13, 2013, 03:07 PM.

Karl yuh a sample! Bricktop myself and others have been sayi g that for years AND FURTHER that the high school set up is not and CANNOT be responsible for developing footballers to compete with pros.

Talk about an attempt at a Jedi mind trick! Come betta Dan dat please! Yuh a insult mi!

Karl yuh a sample! Bricktop myself and others have been sayi g that for years AND FURTHER that the high school set up is not and CANNOT be responsible for developing footballers to compete with pros.

Talk about an attempt at a Jedi mind trick! Come betta Dan dat please! Yuh a insult mi!
            I certainly did not say some cannot. Implicit in what I have said is some should with top quality teaching. Just as we had a "Skill" Cole and a Neville Oxford step into a Jamaica senior team at 16 and 17 respectively some will.

Look...the example I used on our track and field athletes introduced to quality teaching at schools - I never said all our track or field athletes progressed to top world athletes at their age...some did!

...and just so you understand, on the last U-17 squad some could walk into some professional teams...just not top European teams.