• Tactical flaw! - Burrell says club ballers should form base

Tactical flaw! - Burrell says club ballers should form base of U-20 squad

Published: Thursday | April 11, 2013

Burrell

Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

CAPTAIN Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), is of the view that until most of the players making up the national Under-20 squad are members of clubs, the country will continue to struggle in age-group World Cup qualifying.

"As it relates to the Under-20s, Jamaica is at a tremendous disadvantage compared to all the Central American and North American countries," Burrell said in the aftermath of the juvenile team's failure to advance from the CONCACAF Finals in February, as they sought qualification to the World Cup.
    "In the recently concluded Under-20 championships the major difference between the Jamaica Under-20 team that participated in that tournament and the players from the likes of Panama, Mexico and Costa Rica was that all those players were professionals in clubs," noted Burrell.

"Most of our players were schoolboys, who even travelled with a tutor, while some of the players on the other teams had their coaching staff from their clubs.

"So what you had were schoolboys competing against professionals, which will never work," Burrell asserted. "At the Under-17 level it is different, as most of the boys are in high school, so it will be more competitive.

"But at the Under-20 level, unless we change the way we look at football development and select players who are already in clubs playing football in a professional manner for these tournaments, we are not going to do well."

In spite of failing to guide Jamaica's national Under-20 team to the Finals, head coach Luciano Gama has not suffered the same fate as his father.
    In January, former JFF technical director, Walter Gama, and then goalkeeping coach Armando Bracali, were fired after the senior team's disastrous Caribbean Football Union campaign.

The Gamas had taken up their respective post in May 2011, with Bracali arriving at a later date.

With the Under-20 team out of action, young Gama has been given additional responsibilities, as he is once again working with the women's programme and is also now the chief scout for its senior team.

"We did some shifting around, as he (Luciano Gama) used to be with the women's team at one point, so he is going to continue to help with the women, coordinate the youth programmes and he is also the chief scout who goes out before games and reports back to the staff," the JFF president revealed to The Gleaner.

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports4.html

'... the major difference between the Jamaica Under-20 team that participated in that tournament and the players from the likes of Panama, Mexico and Costa Rica was that all those players were professionals in clubs.'

Karl what kinda foolishness is Burrell talking about...schoolboy football run di worl'

What does the good Captain mean?

Tactical flaw!

Absolutely correct!
      ...and that equals poor knowledge=poor (work=playing) habits!

..and that is 'learned' at the 'feet' of our local teachers!!!

So seeing the good Captain has ignored the local teaching is he calling for greater numbers on exports of our youngsters to professional foreign clubs?

He is basically saying that local club football has its merits despite no evidence of that regarding our senior team, and the JFF program for U20(with clearly superior technical support than seen at local club level)is, in the end,found woefully lacking regarding local club....

Karl what kinda foolishness is Burrell talking about...schoolboy football run di worl'
          What does the Captain mean?

He means that schoolboy football system is a dolly house way to develop professional footballers...

He is basically saying that local club football has its merits despite no evidence of that regarding our senior team, and the JFF program for U20(with clearly superior technical support than seen at local club level)is, in the end,found woefully lacking regarding local club....
              You do realize you are saying "the Captain is silly"?

He never once mentioned "local football clubs"...he said "club football"...

He means that schoolboy football system is a dolly house way to develop professional footballers...
                  ...so a talent pool that covers the island - every nook and cranny - is to be ignored for 12 NPL clubs and 1 academy?

The question arises: How do we reconcile that at the youngest age - for football, say 6 through 15 - the greatest learning occurs and that our poorly taught kids i.e. Burrell's U-20 - from our CONCACAF region attended at a FIFA U-20 World finals and the results achieved in the qualifiers when we did not qualify?

If Burrell is referencing our youngsters being starters on local NPL teams...how then does he rationalize their inability to command a place on those teams (=not good enough to 'make' those teams)?

Surely that would mean something is missing at 'the early teaching level'/'the formative years'?

...and based on our results at the Hex level and higher international level (as alluded to by Rockman) something is definitely missing as our kids are no fools!!!

well what club would it be. It has to be local. Fact is the best players needs to be playing at the highest level. The issue is right now as Mo will be quick to say is the two school boy on the national squad is not even playing regularly for their clubs. So I am not sure of the double talk from the cap.... Why dont we hear from the TD on this.

Karl you have a point. I think i read some madness yesterday but under 8 league somewhere. The problem in JA is too much competition and not enough teaching. The golden age is 8-12 we need to focus here get them the best coaches and teachers.

See it deh Karl, it slap yuh in a yuh face. We keep telling yuh, ISSA or high schools cannot be the nurturing grounds if we are to produce work class youngsters

Surely that would mean something is missing at 'the early teaching level'/'the formative years'?

...and based on our results at the Hex level and higher international level (as alluded to by Rockman) something is definitely missing as our kids are no fools!!!
                          Sound like you arguing with yourself...the youngsters are missing something at the "early teaching level"...because at that stage they are playing schoolboy football and being developed by the Math teacher turned coach...

so how would you do that?

Siphon the best of the best into an academy...develop them...then sell/place them with overseas clubs...voila...a whole heap of the U17's are at overseas clubs...