What club does Luca Levee play for? And a bag of our U17's?
Tactical flaw! - Burrell says club ballers should form base
The problem is even with an academy you need to compete. So the idea of selling a bunch of 17 year old to European clubs is flawed. In most country if they dont have a Euro passport it not doable above board. So realistically some players may go to foregign academies yes but in reality the lest we can do is make sure the alvas powelll and Andre Lewis is playing for portmore or whomever. i dont think these players have turned down European clubs so it is what it is . They need to be training and playing locally at the top clubs without compromising their scholarship opportunities.
Originally posted by Gamma View PostSee it deh Karl, it slap yuh in a yuh face. We keep telling yuh, ISSA or high schools cannot be the nurturing grounds if we are to produce work class youngsters
Well mi nyah jump!
We have tens of thousands of kids and we must level the playing field such that 'the cream rises to the top'!!! ...so it is in Math, Science, cadets (training for aspiring members of our security forces and just instilling disciplined outlook) or football! It is asinine to do otherwise!!! Unnuh cudda bawl blood - Truth is Truth!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Scholarship? You talking college football I am talking pro football...if these youths are developed properly they will be placed in clubs overseas...nobody wants a 20 year old...they want a 16 year old...it is too late for Alvas Powell...the system has already failed him...
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostScholarship? You talking college football I am talking pro football...if these youths are developed properly they will be placed in clubs overseas...
Do not provide good teachers...but develop the students properly(?)
Bricky's logic = We need great Math graduates ...but we shall send to the schools lousy math teachers!!!! ...those taught by the lousy teachers shall then become special=good quality math students and shall be snatched up by Universities!!!!
...nobody wants a 20 year old...they want a 16 year old...it is too late for Alvas Powell...the system has already failed him...
Alvas Powell (...and his parents and his affiliated club) was being courted by the defunct TSA (2+ years past)...a professional entity in Europe was interested - his club said no he was too young.
Until very recently it was a hard sell having our local clubs and 'agents' buy into having the very young ( with potential) transfer to professional setting.
Many were the excuses - We do not want to 'be in the way of possible college offers', they are too young, 'do you know what you are talking about/we have our doubts' ...and horse dead and cow fat from persons who do not know their asses from their knowledge of football.
There was even a push to have many from the last U-17 group be shopped to professional clubs and after being given the go ahead within TSA...TSA shot it down!!!
Where are those youngsters now!!!
So do not speak about there not being the talents to move to the professional clubs. Talent abounds! The teaching sucks...and there is a multitude of know-it-all persons who know not that they know squat and are vehemently opposed to anything that does not originate with them....even as they would get all the credit!!!
Let us look at the matter of rapidly improving the teaching of football in schools: What is there to gain by keeping the instructions at 'nonsense levels'?
What could be gained by providing high quality teaching?
After answering those questions ask, why then this vehement opposition to improved teaching of football in schools?Last edited by Karl; April 11, 2013, 11:49 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostSound like you arguing with yourself...the youngsters are missing something at the "early teaching level"...because at that stage they are playing schoolboy football and being developed by the Math teacher turned coach...No need to thank me forumites.
Erm, Captain, (tap on shoulder), maybe you should be seated before I break this to you.
Yuh good? Okay, here goes!
There are 2 players on our World Cup team, yes, I said WORLD CUP TEAM, that are currently in high school. They may belong to some local clubs, but between them both, I doubt if they have played 6 RSPL matches.
(Wish I knew how to manipulate that Hitler YouTube where the Fuhrer throws a tantrum after being given some news! Would work perfect here! )
I have been asking this question and no one can give me a straight answer, however i will ask it again. Why the top young players on the Island are not playing football consistently for RSPL clubs? Why are Jamaican players are just developing at 23yrs old when almost everywhere in the world the top players are super stars and seasoned professionals by age 23? It there a perception on the Island that football is a big man game?
Originally posted by Dunny View PostI have been asking this question and no one can give me a straight answer, however i will ask it again. Why the top young players on the Island are not playing football consistently for RSPL clubs? Why are Jamaican players are just developing at 23yrs old when almost everywhere in the world the top players are super stars and seasoned professionals by age 23? It there a perception on the Island that football is a big man game?
Poor scouts & teachers - In Jamaica parlance - dem nuh kno baal suh dem lef di good balla dem wid greatest upside outta dem team dem.
Hey...if one does not know how the game is (to be) played how can one recognize who are the better (best set of) players? Should present some difficulty...right?
Just asking!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Don't jump! You have the right to be intractable and irascible, it must be requirement for shady pines!
Sometimes, just sometimes, everyone else can be right and you are wrong.
Originally posted by Gamma View PostDon't jump! You have the right to be intractable and irascible, it must be requirement for shady pines!
Sometimes, just sometimes, everyone else can be right and you are wrong.
Do you, for example, expect to 'reap' good students at High School if the teaching at prep & elementary is crap?
Well our schools are akin to the prep adn elementary and our academies akin to the High Schools.
Surely if the kids arrive at the academies with 'good foundation' the academies should turn out graduates further advanced than if the in take is taken in with learned poor technique, poor attitude, poor knowledge on how the game is to be played?
Mi nyaaah jump to join that nonsense!!! ...and if every other person here jumps...more power to them!!!
Is anyone of us here as mad as to think we should not have been taught the very basic of basic foundation of learning to read at 3 years old or 4 years old...but sent as an illerate to the teachers 'up-the'line'?
Why then the very basic foundation on playing of football...should be denied the vast majority of our kids - from Morant Point to Negril Point - from the sides of the Blue Mountain to our plains -...why?
...and only an elite few be subjected to expert teaching?
What of the late developers? ...what of the kid with great talent who cannot be accepted into the academies because of limited space?
...but from an ecomonic point of view; what of the cost suffered when talent is not developed but is left to rot and become a drain on the country rather than plying trade in professional circles outside of the island because the academies can only accept so many kids and the others had not the opportunity to be properly taught and develop the talents...good talent they had (talent dies left without nuturing!!!)?
Every acceptable...every credible education psychologist promotes the development of the child from the earliest stages. It is when the greatest spurt of learning occurs... language, motor skills, etc... A good foundation opens the world to our youth!!!
Mi nyaah jump to join nonsense!!!Last edited by Karl; April 12, 2013, 09:58 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."