Brendan Rodgers worried by prospect of Rafa Benitez's

• Brendan Rodgers worried by prospect of Rafa Benitez's

Brendan Rodgers not worried by prospect of Rafa Benitez's return to Liverpool

By Zarif Rasul | Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers insists he is not worried at all about the prospect of his predecessor Rafa Benitez returning to Anfield.

Benitez, whose spell as interim manager of Chelsea will conclude next month, stated on Tuesday that he will "almost certainly" head back to Liverpool at some point in the future.
    The Spaniard presided over the Reds' most successful spell in the Premier League-era - he won the Champions League and the FA Cup and guided the club to 86 points in 2008/09 - but left after finishing seventh in his final season at Anfield.
    Many Liverpool supporters would certainly welcome Benitez back to Merseyside, but current Anfield boss Rodgers is not fazed by the former Valencia man's comments.
    When asked about Benitez's comments, Rodgers said: "I've not seen them. Obviously that opportunity was there in the summer. It's not a hindrance to me.
    "There are lots of managers who would like to be here, not just Rafa Benitez."

Read more: http://www.talksport.co.uk/sports-ne...#ixzz2Q4t0MKvE
    Follow us: @talksport on Twitter
    Read more at http://www.talksport.co.uk/sports-ne...fsk6k1xcD1L.99

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers fazed by Rafael Benítez claim

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers is unfazed by Rafael Benítez's claim that the Spaniard will return to Anfield in the future

Comments

By Kieran Beckles 4:13pm UK, Wednesday 10 April 2013

Brendan Rodgers took over at Anfield last MayPhoto: Back Page Images

Brendan Rodgers insists he is unfazed by Rafael Benítez’s claim that the Spaniard will “almost certainly” return to Liverpool in the future.

The Chelsea interim manager is set to leave Stamford Bridge in the summer after a difficult six months in charge of the Blues.

Rodgers took over from Reds legend Kenny Dalglish at the Anfield helm in May 2012, and the Northern Irishman’s first season asLiverpool manager has been full of highs and lows.
    But the former Swansea boss, whose side are currently in seventh place in the Premier League table, is unconcerned about the prospect of Benítez making an emotional return to the Merseyside outfit.
    “I’ve not seen them [the Benítez quotes]. Obviously that opportunity was there in the summer. It’s not a hindrance to me,” Rodgers said in Wednesday’s news conference.
    “There are lots of managers who would like to be here, not just Rafa Benítez.”
    Rodgers also revealed Stewart Downing will be available for the trip to Reading on Saturday but Liverpool youngster Raheem Sterling will not be part of the squad.
    “Raheem won’t be involved. Stewart Downing had a bout of sickness last weekend just before the
    game
    , hence the reason for him having to come off,” Rodgers added.
    “He’s fine now. Apart from that, we’re fit and strong – the players are looking very good.”
    On Sterling’s
    fitness
    , Rodgers added: “The medics wanted to take him out for a few weeks just to see where he was at with injuries. It has been an ongoing one.
    “He’s a very young player so we don’t want to risk any long-term injury when there’s no need. Of course you would rather have him in the squad to develop him, but this is a part of making sure we have a duty of care for him as a young player.
    “When he shows signs of fatigue and a little bit of injury, we have to look at that and treat it in the best way we think possible. At the moment, that’s to take him out.”

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The biggest lie this season under FSG/BR is that Liverpool has improved.

With an inform Saurez who hasn't missed any games as it did under K.D (8) we are 2 cup finals less and at the same position in the league like last season.

The biggest lie this season under FSG/BR is that Liverpool has improved.

With an inform Saurez who hasn't missed any games as it did under K.D (8) we are 2 cup finals less and at the same position in the league like last season.
        X - measuring the improvement of a team by cup performances is ridiculous. Wigan is fighting relegation and in the FA Cup semis - does that make them better than Liverpool? Ask their manager Dave Whelan what he thinks. And what bun' me wid that is KD went and started that dyam fool eediat Spearing in the FA Cup final - from the minute I saw that I knew we were doomed; it still ah hot me true me fly go a Englan' fi watch Spearing dash weh di ball an' mek Chelski score. KMRT.

Second of all, get your facts straight, Liverpool is currently in 7th; at this time last year, we were in 8th with Sunderland and Fulham on our backs 1 or 2 points behind. The 8th place team in the league today is WBA, 5 points behind. So if you look at performance, Liverpool has gotten better. The numbers show that the team has improved over last year in every department except one (goals conceded).

YTD goals scored: 59; All of last season: 47
        YTD clean sheets: 12; All of last season: 12
        YTD goals conceded: 40 All of last season: 40
        YTD failed to score: 6 All of last season: 13

Most importantly however, the number of points we had at the same stage last year (i.e. after 32 games) was 43 and 15 points off 4th place vs. the current tally of 49 and 9 points off 4th place. On top of that, Liverpool ended last season on 53 points; we're at 49 now, so it is likely that we'll finish ahead of that tally with 6 games to go.

X, the numbers don't lie; in every department except goals conceded the team has improved. And be fair: Rodgers was denied a second striker by FSG; had Sturridge and Coutinho been in the squad in August, I suspect there would have been little discussion on this topic. Why can't you just admit KD waaaaaaaaaasssssssssssstttttttttttttttttttteeeeeee eeeeeeedddd £80m and done?

Anyway, we'll see where things stand at the end of the season, but so far, the improvement is obvious. Don't let your hatred for BR blind you from facts.
        Last edited by Paul Marin; April 11, 2013, 09:36 AM.

Yuh nuh think yuh put yuh foot inna yuh mouth ?

Liverpool is currently in 7th; at this time last year, we were in 8th with Sunderland ...WOW ! with a prolific and not banned for 8 games Saurez ? BTW a cup finals does mean something especially if its 2.Talk to me if Wigan are in the finals.
          Last edited by Sir X; April 11, 2013, 11:22 AM.

Yuh nuh think yuh put yuh foot inna yuh mouth ?

Liverpool is currently in 7th; at this time last year, we were in 8th with Sunderland ...WOW ! with a prolific and not banned for 8 games Saurez ? BTW a cup finals does mean something especially if its 2.Talk to me if Wigan are in the finals.
            X - you are clutching at straws. You should argue based on fact and not emotion. When Suarez was banned, Liverpool was in 6th place 3 points off the team in front of them, when he came back, they were in 7th place two points off the team in front of them...so hardly a huge tumble without Suarez...afterall...he had £80m of signings to give him depth beyond the Uruguayan. E-I-G-H-T-Y E-F-F-I-N-G MILLION POUNDS! You could buy two of Swansea squads with that!

The fact is they HAVE improved...I notice you don't have nothing to say about them being 6 points better than last year this time, 6 points closer to 4th, goal difference of 19 vs. goal difference of 3? And while we didn't have LS for 8 games, we had a £35m pound striker who was supposed to be our English savior, not to mention another £45m pounds worth of KD signings. This year, the team had only ONE striker until January, so nuh badda gwaan like seh BR had it easy. KMT. And by the way, if it's not Wigan in the finals, it will be Millwall...currently 16th in the Championship...so we don't have to wait to talk about how useless a measure cups are in determining form. When all is said and done, the LEAGUE is the only title that matters, after that, it's a top 4 finish. Everything else is window dressing.

Like yuh say , the stats dont lie , a prolific Saurez not benched for 8 games , no cup finals and we are 1 place higher than we were last year.

This you call progress , I am clutching at straws and you are passing out wind.BTW If K.D had Saurez in prolific form as he is in now , even with 8 games out we could have been in the top 4..KMT.

Like yuh say , the stats dont lie , a prolific Saurez not benched for 8 games , no cup finals and we are 1 place higher than we were last year.

This you call progress , I am clutching at straws and you are passing out wind.BTW If K.D had Saurez in prolific form as he is in now , even with 8 games out we could have been in the top 4..KMT.
                Why are you on about cup finals? That is such a ridiculous measure. And of course, what about BR having no second striker for half the year? Since we have gotten a second striker, Liverpool's performance is only behind Manu** and Arsenal. :KMRT: Your hatred for BR blinds your objectivity.

http://www.voice-online.co.uk/articl...oved-last-year

Do you agree with Johnson?

Liverpool is rebuilding and I like the direction that they are heading. I think they need to get a few defenders. Ince would be a bonus and continue building. They have certainly passed the days of X saying coach to be fired by January.

Their Salary is not that huge and that put them at an advantage to get a few good men. Question is should Caroll be traded? He few good last games. He could be used as a sub and a change of pace.

Liverpool is rebuilding and I like the direction that they are heading. I think they need to get a few defenders. Ince would be a bonus and continue building. They have certainly passed the days of X saying coach to be fired by January.

Their Salary is not that huge and that put them at an advantage to get a few good men. Question is should Caroll be traded? He few good last games. He could be used as a sub and a change of pace.
                        Unfortunately, Carroll at this point has to be sold (traded in American speak). The manager did a decent job of reducing the wage bill and now has a younger, (cheaper), more technically astute squad; they need a more technically gifted striker than Carroll (who is not as non-technical as some would have you believe) but he is not as fast as the manager needs him to be. He's a great player in the right set up, just not at Liverpool. He's our Berbatov.