Concacaf U-17 Standings
I was looking at the schedule and as bad as Jamaica has played in the first two matches they have a good chance to make it to the top four as group a and b is all they have to deal with to get to the semis. Group b is Canada, cr and tt, the group c and d draw is tougher.
I would say so...
...'tons' of poor play both sides.
Extremely low levels of play displayed by both sides.
Wendel Downswell and his Brazilian assistant cannot solely take the blame. The High School coaches are obviously doing a very, very poor job."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Never did?
If so, my misunderstanding!
...and just to get me back on track remind me when the 'journey' started and who were the coaches (entire technical team)?
Thanks!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Mo, tell me something, and I am not making any judgement here, but what has been Coach Downswell's positive contribution to our national youth program?. His teams seem to get knocked out of group competitions early, or can only manage tame draws. Maybe I am just misreading the reports.
Thanks.
...and those score-line results were not bad.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamaica..._football_team
Taken in context of the 204 (Hope I got that right?) FIFA affiliated nations...Wendell Downwell has taken us into an elite group!!!
....but if you saw the matches at the last U-17 World FIFA finals you would think that based on displayed technical ability it was a crime that we never advanced further in that tournament.
...these current matches also show many of our players with excellent technical skills but poor understanding of how the game should be played. I went to my records to prepare response to My Yute's post on quality of our players. I agreed that "Talent Abounds"...but stated that our quality has remained rooted in "has potential". Our last U-17 players showed great potential. Our present U-17s are showing great potential.
Becca's comments from March 1987 spring to mind -
...there is little between the most talented Jamaicans and the Sao Paulo players when it comes to basic ball skills. When it comes to using the ball however, there is a world of difference as the Brazilians do only what they have to in terms of beating an opposing player.
While the Jamaicans attempted to beat a man, or two, even if there is an easier way of moving the ball forward, wait for the ball even when confronted with a weak pass, and stroll around with the ball when they are free, the Brazilians timing is wonderful , judging the pace of the ball well, moving in quickly to pick up a weak pass, and then accelerating when in possession of the ball. And those off the ball are always in motion, pulling opposing players away from the player on the ball, thus giving him room to move forward, or getting themselves into good positions to which the ball can be played by the man on the ball .Last edited by Karl; April 10, 2013, 01:15 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View Post...and those score-line results were not bad.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamaica..._football_team
Taken in context of the 204 (Hope I got that right?) FIFA affiliated nations...Wendell Downwell has taken us into an elite group!!!
....but if you saw the matches at the last U-17 World FIFA finals you would think that based on displayed technical ability it was a crime that we never advanced further in that tournament.
...these current matches also show many of our players with excellent technical skills but poor understanding of how the game should be played. I went to my records to prepare response to My Yute's post on quality of our players. I agreed that "Talent Abounds"...but stated that our quality has remained rooted in "has potential". Our last U-17 players showed great potential. Our present U-17s are showing great potential.
Becca's comments from March 1987 spring to mind -
Teaching? ...needed?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Bwoy, Don1 I do not know if you are 'having at me' or you are really saying they did.
What I have to say is the 'slows ones' were 'fast'!!!!
I seem to remember that Oscar was the slowest of the Brazilians on that '82 World Cup team. He it was that gave our fastest players a beating at footrace."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostBwoy, Don1 I do not know if you are 'having at me' or you are really saying they did.
What I have to say is the 'slows ones' were 'fast'!!!!
I seem to remember that Oscar was the slowest of the Brazilians on that '82 World Cup team. He it was that gave our fastest players a beating at footrace.
Say it aint so KarlTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE