• Freddy Adu signs with Bahia in Brazil

Bahia officially announce Freddy Adu signing

Bahia have officially announced the signing of American winger Freddy Adu, who was playing for MLS team Philadelphia Union.

The announcement had to be postponed as he needed to get his Brazilian work permit. Bahia also needed to hurry to register him this Friday, when Brazil's international transfer window closes.

Bahia's diretor Roberto Passos told the club's official site: "we had a short time to finalize the deal but managed to do it. The club's department in charge of registering the players did a great job as did the football department and the president Marcelo Guimarães Filho".

(continue)

Jawge, your thoughts.

Thanks.

So he is on loan until the end of the season. Hopefully he can raise his stock at this Brazilian club.

The way Adu has changed clubs in such a short space of time is not really encouraging. Him coming back to play in the MLS, many thought this would have been the place for him to regain his original spark for which he was so touted as a youth. While I am happy that he has signed with a Brazilian Seri A club, it still sends the wrong message that all is not well with his game at Philadelphia Union. So they have loaned him to the Brazilian club and brought in Kléberson from the same club as his replacement, a deal which will see both staying until the end of the season. I am sure the Brazilian club came out on the better end of this deal financially in order to make this move happen.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

"touted as a youth"?!!! When was Freddy Adu, ver a youth in te last 20 years?!!

Remember back when thy had us believe he was the 14 year old phenom? That was the time period I was talking about. Obviously the game caught up with him when he moved out of the age group team settings. The big men game really took the wind out of little Freddie's sails. Too bad one cannot remain an under-17 player all their life.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bahia? Hey I envy Freddie

Yuh notice dem doan even bodda fi mention him age in the report.

He is the second American player to join a top division team in Brazil, as Cobi Jones played for Vasco for a few months in the 1990s.
              Is that correct? Desmond Armstrong played for Santos in the early 1990s. Maybe Santos was not a "top division team" at the time?

Is that his father?

30 - 35 year old that
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And need glasses already?!?! I say he's more like 45...46!

It is not just glasses, because my nephew who is just 12 had to get glasses recently. If you look closely. you will see that those are bi-focals. You only get those when you are over 40!

Talk di tings Tilla, TALK DI TINGS!!!!