Richards packed for Norwegian loan spell

• Richards packed for Norwegian loan spell

Reggae Boy Dane Richards is set to head out on loan from English Championship division club Burnley to Norwegian Division Two side FK Bodø/Glimt for the remainder of the season.

The Jamaican, who fulfilled a dream move to Europe after signing for The Clarets from Major League Soccer (MLS) team Vancouver Whitecaps, has, however, found the going tough in England. Richards has made only two substitute appearances for the team.

The 29-year-old, who is still awaiting international clearance, will join the Norwegians until July 9. Richards signed an 18-month contract with Burnley.

According to Burnley manager Sean Dyche, Richards as an unknown quantity when signing for the club, has so far not proven to be quite what the club expected, but hopes a loan spell will give him some much-needed playing time.

"The club had already signed him when I was appointed and we feel we have given him a fair time to try and get used to it and give him a little taste for it," Dyche told UK publication Burnley Express (http://www.burnleyexpress.net).

"We just thought he was short to be honest for what we needed, so the idea of a loan is get Dane out playing again and get him some game time."

Burnley are currently midtable at 13th in the English Championship standing. Richards last featured for Jamaica's national team in a 2-0 away loss to Costa Rica in the hexagonal round of the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers.

His future looks very dark..... He should be looking for a hasty return to the MLS. I am sure a MLS would gladly pick him up since he's a known factor in the league.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That was quick...another one bites the dust...at least him nah come back a Jamaica come rot in the RSPL...MLS will welcome him back with open arms

a football it name. All he has to do is hit the goal a few times and somebody will pick him up in a higher league.

Some a dem English coach if you nuh play straight Jacket football you nuh inna dem team. We will see how long the coach last.

U right Assasin.

Most of the english outfit cannot deal with short-pass type football. They don't tolerate creativity on the part of the individual.

Richards will be a good fit for a team that need his style and speed. He will be OK.

And you guys wonder why I don't rate English coaches , most are stuck in the 60s

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"We just thought he was short to be honest for what we needed, so the idea of a loan is get Dane out playing again and get him some game time."
              What does the "short" here mean? Is the coach saying Richards is vertically challenged or that he is short of match fitness? We all know he is a short player (5' 7"), but I am not sure what the coach is getting at.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

a football it name. All he has to do is hit the goal a few times and somebody will pick him up in a higher league.

Some a dem English coach if you nuh play straight Jacket football you nuh inna dem team. We will see how long the coach last.
                Re: All he has to do...

No, Sass.
                The MLS teams have risen in level of play and Dane's quality has not.

In the context of becoming a good player - Dane needs to start playing football. As the years go by...say, next 5 years... the standard of play in MLS shall bound upwards. ...so will the quality outside of the premier leagues in Europe.

If Dane does not make 'quantum leap' on quality of play it shall be rapidly downhill.

His transfer to that 3rd tier league says, NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!! No use fooling ourselves.

What does the "short" here mean? Is the coach saying Richards is vertically challenged or that he is short of match fitness? We all know he is a short player (5' 7"), but I am not sure what the coach is getting at.
                  as in short in TALENT !! not up to scratch......not on the level that they require !!

stay deh play the fool !

Re: All he has to do...

No, Sass.
                    The MLS teams have risen in level of play and Dane's quality has not.

In the context of becoming a good player - Dane needs to start playing football. As the years go by...say, next 5 years... the standard of play in MLS shall bound upwards. ...so will the quality outside of the premier leagues in Europe.

If Dane does not make 'quantum leap' on quality of play it shall be rapidly downhill.

His transfer to that 3rd tier league says, NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!! No use fooling ourselves.
                    Karl, this is the post of the year so far from you. HIT the nail on the head !!

Mek the rest of them, bury them head in the sand bout Dane !!

Playing in England where wingers are widely used, he was never going to cut it. Him caaan cross a ball consistenly in MLS, then how him mus mek it in England ?

Not True. New said they didn't resign Dane as he wanted to play in Europe and already had a deal with Burnley. He spent the rest of the season with Vancover who said they would sign him as well.

People keep on writing off Dane and he kept on proving them wrong. until he left the MLS he contributed to his team every year especially in the run up to the play offs.

http://soccersceneusa.blogspot.com/2...mpionship.html

http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/soccer...#axzz2Pdt4Wj6p
                      Last edited by Assasin; April 5, 2013, 09:30 PM.

OK, boss!
                        ...if you say it's a step up...reward for great play...
                        ...who am I to argue?

it is not what I say. It is what the team said. Dane contract was up and he choose to go to Europe. Simple. His agent had a deal and they took it.

How much you claim him should be worth in the transfer market ?

Hard time seeing that move work.