• So many things went wrong against Costa Rica

So many things went wrong against Costa Rica
    BY CLYDE JUREIDINI
    Thursday, March 28, 2013

Another wake up call was bitterly delivered with a telling 2-0 defeat to our national team on Tuesday night in San Jose at the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica, when the 'Los Ticos' tapped twice on the shoulders and heads of our Reggae Boyz. Flying from a stellar high-altitude performance in Mexico, we have stuttered on the Liguanea plain and now quickly slumped to the depths of defeat in the central American region, to be rooted at the bottom of the very competitive hexagonal on two points as Panama lead on five points. Only three out of the ten games played, with four out of the six teams to possibly qualify and some nine weeks time before our next two games against regional powerhouses Mexico and the United States of American at home at 'The Office' on June 4 and 7, respectively, we need now to get it right after our recent experiments with a newly-designed team, heavily dependent on the England-based Reggae Boyz. Save for the fresh-foot Mexican performance, that quick-fix, has not really worked. Is it all lost? Definitely not. iIs it now time to do a critical self-examination of our early experiences, results and methods? Absolutely yes.

THE GAME:
    With just four minutes on the clock, Luton Shelton broke free on top of the penalty box before passing to Jermaine Beckford inside the area, but his simple slider, did not trouble the custodian, Keylor Navas. An unnecessary infringement in midfield by Rodolf Austin in the 22nd minute led to a freekick being floated high to the tall Alvaro Sobario, who evaded his marker Jermaine Taylor and passed across the box for central defender, Michael Umana to stroke past Ricketts from seven-yards for the first goal.
    In response, Shelton then dismissed three defenders, but failed to chip it over the goalkeeper, to convert.

The second half, was more of the same with Los Ticos bossing the midfield, introducing substitute midfielder Diego Calvas, a 20-year-old, who skipped by a sliding tackle at the edge of the area by Taylor, then weaved by an onrushing Lloyd Doyley, who was easily side-stepped before curving the ball around Adrian Mariappa and a diving Donovan Ricketts inside the far post on minute 82.

It was another 20-year-old midfielder, however, who caught the eye and keep our vision fixed on him in Joel Campbell, who plays in Spain at Real Betis, as he created mayhem all night, finishing with six of the 12 shots on Ricketts' goal a constant threat. His 77th minute dribble and cross should have resulted in the stretching Sabario scoring.

DIFFERENT APPROACH:
    This time let us all take a broader collective approach to properly access our assests, weaknesses and the real opportunities to make the Jamaicans dream of a long overdue return to the FIFA World Cup in Brasil 2014.
    Firstly, we have totally rejected the creative concept of midfield transition, born out the Brazilian mindset and mastered in Jamaica by our line of maestro's climaxing in 1998, with Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, now the coach.

Now, we overlook our talent and moreso the local players, ironically so after having over the last three years built a team of local-based players who were further developed in Europe and North America to exhibit high quality glimpses in the 2011 Gold Cup and over achieved to defeat USA, not since 2002, to once again qualify for the 'Hex'. We reward them by belatedly super-imposing a legion of English based professionals late in February 2013, not many of whom display extra-ordinary skill sets necessary to make a substantial positive impact on a continuous basis. In the short run, not worth the cost paid to dump all in concept, style and personnel we have invested in prior.

Have we forgotten ourselves?
    Abandoning our short passing midfield possession in conjunction with designed flank overlapping runs at high pace for European styled long passes and direct one dimensional gambles has failed. Our opponents on the other hand have play a series of co-ordinated midfield short passes in all three games so far.

In Mexico, tactical teamwork, defensive discipline and professionalism assisted by Dr Fraser's physical preparation programme got us a great result. In the second game, Panama dominated at will and when three midfield substitutions were deployed in the second half, without a valid response, it exaggerated the weakness almost to a point of surrender, but defensively good enough not to lose. Seemingly, not interested in that geographical area, we again vacated the transitional zone to allow Costa Rica total dominance and snatch a convincing 2-0 victory.

Our team's lack of singular midfield leadership with below par performances from Austin in the defensive zone and Shelton in the creative areas, have been very disappointing so far. The new additions of Marvin Elliott, Jobi McAnuff and Garath McCleary have not delivered much. Defensively, as a pair, Elliott has not worked well in tandem with Austin as both plays are regularly beaten with the same ball. Elliott, in particular, lacks mobility and ball handling skills, hence the team is not confident to pass our way out of defence, but instead more inclined to launch speculative passes that are inaccurate.

The Reading United pair of McAnuff and McCleary defend well on the flanks only, but they disappear from the precious area inside the midfield, their very slow dribbling skills have not served them well in attack or counter-attack in this fast-paced region of world football. Once again the pairing of Shelton and Jermaine Beckford as attacking players -- With the latter just recovering from injury and lacking in match fitness, confidence and finesse -- reaps limited rewards. Still no goals from them.

The midfielders and attackers are not working as an effective unit of five or six players in co-ordination at the right moments in the prescribed places with three sub-grouping combinations not producing: defensively Elliott and Austin, possessively McAnuff and McCleary, in attack Shelton and Beckford.

Precision, the name of next games
    Positively, the JFF has announced a prominent friendly international in May in The Bahamas against Tottenham Hotspurs and should seize the opportunity to get another game plus an extended camp as the English and local Premier Leagues players a chance to bond and gel.

This should allow the technical team to have a concentrated period of the majority of the squad, save for the Scandinavian and North American players, who are still in competition but could be available for games only.
    Luck has smiled on us to host the Mexico game early on June 4 followed by USA on June 7 and then an immediate obligation away in Honduras, a massive triple treat that we must maximise to elevate our position into the top- places at the half-way mark.

Jermaine 'Teddy' Johnson, our brightest spark in attack, should be suspended from playing in the USA game as he accumulated two cautions in the last three games against Mexico and Costa Rica.

Last but not least, the player selection process has to be spot on. We would hope to see roles for Jermaine Hue and Dane Richards, Darren Mattocks, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson, and if fit, Tremaine Stewart.
    Editor's note: Clyde Jureidini is general manager of Harbour View FC and company secretary of the Premier League Clubs Association.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2OpioWvrp

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

'A chicken without a head'
    Experts lambast Boyz for ‘poor’ Costa Rica rendition
    Thursday, March 28, 2013

A chicken without a head, a lack of cohesiveness, lack of movements, poor communication, the need for a good passer of the ball, players out of positions; were some of the reasons given why Jamaica slumped to their first defeat of the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying play-offs on Tuesday night, crashing 0-2 to Costa Rica in that country.
    Coaches Dr Dean Weatherly of Montego Bay United and former Sporting Central Academy's Nigel Stewart struck similar notes in their assessment of the Reggae Boyz.
    STEWART... most of the bad passes were because of poor communication
    1/3
    Dr Weatherly noted that the team started very well defensively, but lost concentration and conceded the first goal in the 22nd minute.
    "For players of that calibre that we have, there is no way we should have a free man standing at the far post and nobody marked him," noted Weatherly.
    "After the goal scored everything went through the window as far as game plan. We were disjointed and there was no leader on the field to say 'come on now, get back together and forward again'.
    "We were like a chicken without a head. It was very obvious and I didn't like the game," Dr Weatherly told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.
    "Donovan (Ricketts) in the goal is kind of too far to motivate them like that. We needed somebody like a senior midfielder to do that," he added.
    "Panama came here and [taught] us football possession-wise and playing a similar team like Panama, which is Costa Rica, we lost everything. There was no composure, but the team spirit was there, I saw the fight and they never lie down and play dead. But the fight was individualism. I didn't see the cohesiveness," said Weatherly.
    Meanwhile, Stewart pointed out that the team started well and looked as if they went there to win, "but then for some reason we just crumbled".
    "We lacked movement and we needed somebody in midfield to pass the ball. We just win it and turn it over, win it and turn it over," noted Stewart.
    He then made mention of players playing out of position and a few names came to mind.
    "If Jermaine Taylor cannot make the team at his rightful position he must sit down. I not sure which position he really wants to play and which one suits him.
    "Plus, I think once Austin (Rodolph) start to play the offensive role... he must go back in front of the defence and play that role. Since he has been up there we haven't got any shots from him. We need to look at that," said Stewart.
    "They make it look like we play our best game against Mexico. Last night the movements were poor, we were not consistent, and I think because the players not playing in their right positions. For me Austin is one of the best holding midfielders, not attacking midfielder," he reiterated.
    "We have forwards and nobody to pass the ball to. I am not saying he (Jermaine Hue) is the solution, but at this time he should play.
    "Tappa as a skill person playing midfield (in his playing days), it is very hard for me to believe that he is picking the team and not picking a skilful person. Everybody in midfield is just hard tacklers. Like Austin last night, a lot of bad passes. We don't have anybody who can weigh the ball and secondly, we don't have anybody, to score the goals," Stewart added.
    "For some reason I don't see Shelton right now in the team. We should give the guy Ryan Johnson another chance, because if you don't put yourself in the position, you are not going to get the chances. He gets himself in the positions," he argued.
    "Most of the bad passes were because of poor communication. The player want it at their feet, while the passer want him to run it down. I don't think we have the cohesiveness needed.
    "I would start Teddy Johnson, because he need to prove a point, Shelton is already concrete in the side... we need hungry players to prove themselves. How can we play 90 minutes of football and only get two chances," noted Stewart.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2OpjMQVVf

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I Didn't Look Up - Shelton...Striker Explains Miss Against Costa Rica
      Published: Thursday | March 28, 2013 0 Comments

Costa Rican players Michael Barrantes (centre) and Giancarlo Gonzalez (left) retreat as Jamaican striker Luton Shelton (right) dribbles at them during their CONCACAF Final Round FIFA World Cup qualifier at Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica on Tuesday. Costa Rica won 2-0. - Photo: Collin Hamilton courtesy of COURTS
      Audley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sports

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica:

NATIONAL striker Luton Shelton admits that not looking up in time denied him the opportunity to score against Costa Rica, in Tuesday night's CONCACAF Final FIFA Round World Cup qualifying football match at the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica, which Jamaica lost 0-2.

The nation's all-time leading scorer also noted a preference to playing the out-and-out striker's role.

Shelton missed a glorious chance to score and pull Jamaica level at 1-1, when his shot from near the six-yard box was saved by goalkeeper Keylor Navas at the 43rd minute.

Describing what happened, Shelton told The Gleaner: "I came between two players and I was lucky to get back the ball, and after that I didn't look up to see the goal. The player was a little bit tight on me, the ball stuck a little, so I pushed the ball, a little bit more and I saw one player slide across, so I cut it back.

DISAPPOINTING

"When I cut back the ball I tried to chip, but the ball just hit my toe and go straight to the goalkeeper on the ground, so it was a chance, but I didn't look up to see where I was so I lost the chance that I think could've brought us back into the game."

The speedy forward was Jamaica's most dangerous attacking player on the night, but was substituted at the 61st minute. Shelton had also set up another glorious opening for Jamaica when he passed to Jermaine Beckford, whose shot from an angle inside the six-yard box was saved by the goalie, whose team's goals were scored by Michael Umana (22nd minute) and Diego Calvo (81st).

"It's quite disappointing because we're a much better team than Costa Rica and we didn't get the result that we wanted," he added.

Shelton has been playing as a midfielder wide left, but said he favours playing off the shoulder of defenders and admits that the team's lack of coordination and success could be pinned to the fact that there's an influx of new players who have not begun to gel.

"I haven't been playing striker (out and out) for the national team for a while and I'm always on the left. I think the coach knows best and what he wants. I've been playing on the wing for my club and I've been doing well, so if the coach chooses to put me anywhere, I'm willing to play," he said.

C.Rica beat us with 2 ,20 y.o who scored ,Dada cant make our side .seriously where is the faith in our youth.

The players we have can get the job done ,we dont need to run to england for anymore, we have more than enough, if we go to england we need a coach.

Any word from Tappa,any responsibility taken on his part, any Simoes letter?

I am all for youth inclusion but when we don't have enough faith to have our two 19 year olds play consistently in our top league, why are we giving them frequent flier miles with the World Cup team?!?!

Fine why is Dada not in the squad , is he off the island ? C. Rica has one 20 that is linked with arsenal playing in a spanish league , I believe , the other I wouldnt be surprised if he is a local youth , without Dada experience.

Dada has been without a team for a while and even when he was on a team he was not training with any purpose because they had no intention of playing him. Not sure he is ready for this.

I understand he is in Jamaica.

Then he should be a part of the set up , my opinion ,Simoes had local camps for the RBYZ whom he deemed as special,Tappa/JFF shouldnt find it that hard to work with clubs in working out a specialised training system for this youth or within the U 20 or 23 set up.

We treat those gems , who are crucial in our campaign as if we have an abundance of them, Dada is the next big thing to an ageing J.Hue , how we develop him is crucial for our future.The JFF/Tappa can excuse themselves from the development of this youth by saying he needs to find a club, but it will be at a price in the future.

Dada in a C. Rican shirt ,would be another example of youth giving us hell.

If Alvas and LA can be there, Dada could be there as well.

It speaks volumes of the vision shared by Tappa/JFF......dem nuh rate creative midfielders, unless dem come from hingland.

We will all pay the price.

.dem nuh rate creative midfielders, unless dem come from hingland.
                        Oxymoron of the year!

Come on get serious, Daley struggling to pay at pro ranks how in the world is he going to pay in the hex, those two cr youths oe of them playing in la liga, cannot compare at all, this is Guineps to jackfruit.

So why yuh not protesting the inclusion of Alvas and LA?

Can't protest everything, biggest fish get fried first.