• 12 min in replay on BEin!

We got 2 good looks already!

ahhhhhhhhhh...no Karl Nooooooooooo!!!

aaaah Nuff man a bawl bout midfield an nuh notice say ja get chance but nuh finish it.

I don't know if we improved or CR dropped in standard (could be a combination of both) but J having the predator could have at least walked of with a draw. Ja can beat CR. You may not like to hear this but Ja can beat Panama too.

With the present team; Ja chances of scoring outside of set plays re slim. This is why the coaches are allowing their teams to press so much because they will gamble with us on a counter. Put in Mattocks and watch the big changes from our opponents.

I can't tell JFF what to do but if the next game comes along and I see Rboyz showing up without their predator then I will know where they are going and what to do.

The team needs the camp badly because not all the UB40s belong on the squad. Last night they move the ball about but there was no penetration from the ball possession in CR's defensive third.

Hey they are crying for Hue play him but I know Ja not going anywhere without Mattocks.

You will never convert 100% of your chances. So, you have to give yourself the chance to get as many chances as possible.

Thank you Mosiah. I tried to make that point a day or two ago and both Jawge and Karl were asking if Jamaica's midfield did not create any chances in the last couple games. Even if they did, your chance of scoring increases with more chances you create. That is all there is to it and no striker, not Messi, Ronaldo, Drogba, Falcoa, Cavani or even Mattocks put away every chance they get.

If Jawge want to use the one strike by Matocks (although it was a great play) to make his case, then tell him to come again! Mattocks has not been knocking them in this season as you may want us to think. I like him, but one sparrow does not a summer make...
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Analyzing that goal from Mattocks you can deduce a few things..

Mattocks movement off the ball, first touch, balance and athleticism is World Class.. not even talking about the strike itself..

He touched the ball 3 times... collect, set, shoot.. this under direct pressure and his back to goal.. dispatch the central defender and leave the keeper, who was perfectly positioned center of goal on the edge of his 6 yard box, for dead from 20 yards out..

Time from first touch with back to goal to power house shot..2 seconds..

It is a criminal conspiracy to not call this player for the Hex... heads should roll...

How can bigger heads in the JFF call this gem ordinary ??!
            Last edited by Muadib; March 27, 2013, 09:06 PM.

2 things:

1. Costa Rica:

The goals came off -

a) 22nd minute - Austin fouled a man, CR#12, 30 yards out to the left of Ricketts' in goal (Costa Rica's right flank)... Our defensive wall was well positioned...but the defender wide on our right, #6 Taylor, mistimed his jump and could not recover...the ball went straight to the attacker who slid the ball across to his man...after a deflection (our missed clearance?) CR#4 who'fronted' his marker our #22, McCleary...and it was a tap-in (CR#4).

Our#22 just could not react fast enough towards the ball...beaten all ends up by #4!!! Tap in!

b) 77th min Austin give away...Campbell, CR#12, takes ball to his right of goal-area (CR's right flank)...outmuscles our defender, #19, (Marriappa?), and rolls the ball across the goal-area - CR attack misses the ball with open goal/undefended goal at his mercy!

c) 82nd min CR#20 beats our too slow #6 Taylor (who hit the ground as tackles desperately)...rounds our #3, Doyley and curls the ball beyond a helpless Ricketts who had no chance. Build up started from a long Ricketts clearance that was never challenged by our players!!! - 4 or so passes among the Costa Ricans...then #20 bamboozled our #6, Taylor, and our #3, Doyley,

2. Jamaica -

a) 4th minute - Shelton wins back ball he lost...feed our #7 Beckford deep in the Costa Ricans penalty-area...#7, Beckford, misses from 6 yards out!

b) 43rd minute - Shelton after watching a demonstration by Costa Rica on when to roll the ball across the penalty-area (resulted in CR goal) ignores the lesson and throws away a great chance to tie the scores.

c) 54 minute: #6 Taylor gets on the end of a cross by our Demar Philips but does not get his shot (header) on goal. Taylor goes for the near corner of goal rather than the more conventional "back across goal" --- that taught to young charges, "break right, shoot left" and vice-versa. Should have done better with his chance...even playing it back across goal would have been better option.

d) 81st minute: Demar Philips finds self unchallenged and on the penalty-mark ...excellent support play to find self on the end of excellent cross from Doyley. Philips fails to put ball on goal. Should have done better.

That miss came back to haunt us as 2 minutes later CR#20 does his thing on Tayor and Doyley and breaks our hearts. None so more than Doyley who can be seen bent over doing harm to self. Doyley in his frustration hammers his thigh in anguish after being toyed with by the CR#20 and seeing the goal scored.

Aside: RICKETTS was his usual safe self...and his distribution was just about flawless.

Marriappa was outstanding!

Demar Philips was also outstanding!

JJ came on and orchestrated a more attacking quicker passing ReggaeBoyz. ...was at the heart of repeated attacks...none more exciting than that which the CR 'keeper saved brilliantly of the final ball (75 minute) that was speeding across his goal-area. Just previously the CR 'keeper (74th minute) had saved well - going low to push to his right of his penalty-area a shot from 20 yards by Jermaine Johnson.

Tappa may have found his super sub in JJ.

Very entertaining match for the impartial observer. Would not be surprised if BEin replays the video once again.

Have not watched the Panama v Honduras match yet (Have it on DVR)...but of matches seen this CR v ReggaeBoyz looks the best Hex match so far.

In any other match the CR's skipper, #10 Brian Ruiz would have been sent off twice

Though it was said that Jermaine Beckford was fast ? Well it must be the Costa Ricans were faster...as every opponent who defended against him beat him for pace!!!

My MVP of the match would be CR's #12 Joel Campbell.
              ReggaeBoyz MVP would be one of Mariappa, Philips, Ricketts or JJ. -

Philips?
              His influence on our game was most impressive.

Ooooh of Brazil?
              TEAM needs much work (a camp in Brazil )...lucky draw in first match of the 'world tour'...and again whe the Russians ran them ragged for most of the last!
              Last edited by Karl; March 28, 2013, 09:44 PM.

Who would disagree with more chances should led to more goals?
                Come Tilla yuh a talk bout GUNNERS man.

btw - In our last match we had many chances!!! We broke down and knifed into Costa Rica's penalty-area multiple times. Had some real 'sweet' chances!!!!

...unfortunately so did they!
                Last edited by Karl; March 28, 2013, 12:25 AM.

Yuh have time ah argue. Is the same set that question Tappa's inclusion at one point. They said he did not play BPL ball. Boss mi truly nuh haff the time.

Yuh insulting mi. Where did I speak of hundred percent conversions? How many half chances will be given at this level? Speak about the chance not half chance that was given in Mexico. Would Mattocks miss that goal?

If the Jff announces Mattocks for the Mexico, watch how Mexico reacts. Done talk. Mi tiad fi preach. Yuh realize say if yuh have areal striker space open up in the middle? Yuh can't even see wha ah keep out your bwoy out ah dis.

You always seem to miss the point in these discussions.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I know, ah point that always seems to shift

And I always considered it as you going off on a tangent. Now I know. . .

Mariappa solid as a rock

IB
                            Thursday, March 28, 2013

THE partnership with his long time friend and former Watford clubmate Nyron Nosworthy will not be easily replicated.

Nonetheless, Adrian Joseph Mariappa is forced to forge another solid relationship with Jermaine Taylor at the heart of Jamaica's defence if the Reggae Boyz are to mount a serious bid for one of the places up for grabs in the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Series.
                            Mariappa, the 26-year-old Reading FC central defender, was solid against Costa Rica on Tuesday night, and though he was a part of a unit which conceded two goals, the first as a result of sloppy play from a set-piece, he was still the Jamaica Observer's star player of a game in which not many players excelled.

His miscued clearance for a corner after only six minutes boosted the heart rate in the Jamaican camp. That little blip apart, though he marshalled the back line fairly well, he was elevated to the star player status by virtue of his tidy use of the ball from deep.

His wasn't the performance which resulted in the ball being booted up field aimlessly. He was deliberate and methodical in his passes from the back, most times to one of his wide midfielders or attackers who ventured inside.

Born in Harrow, London, Mariappa progressed through Watford's youth academy, and started playing for the first team in the 2005-06 season.
                            Standing at 1.78m and tipping the scale at 80.7kg, Mariappa, who is of a Jamaican mother and a Fijian father, was in late 2010 named by the Fiji Football Association in their 50-member training squad to prepare for the 2011 Pacific Games — an offer the player refused.

"From the three countries, Fiji is not a big nation in football. Jamaica has a great heritage in football and has been to the World Cup before, and some great names have played for Jamaica, so it is definitely a more high-profile country," explained Mariappa

shortly after he joined the Reggae Boyz.

"It's a great opportunity for me to come and play international football with the possibility to make the World Cup in Brazil in two years. That's the only thing that matters to me and it is a great honour for me to be here and be involved," Mariappa noted then.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2OxudKrOt