Our possession game improved substantially over the previous two matches.
Costa Rica Vs Jamaica match stats
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil GibranTags: None
Originally posted by Tilla View PostOur possession game improved substantially over the previous two matches."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Seeing the game would have you calling for Hue.
Yesterday, losing 1-0 would've been preferred but the Panama game remains our most costly one.
I do not know how we will deal with Mexico or Panama(totally different dynamics),but no reason to think we can't handle CR by doing the obvious tweaking needed.
Very decieving, when you down and passing the ball in your defensive midfield ...ooppps creative midfield and defense going nowhere but wings and the opposition 30 yard line.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Have not even finished watching our match v Panama...but my
1st impression of this latest (v Costa Rica) is we played our best game. Are there problems still with us? A resounding YES!
Let me go off the game for a moment and say we are as close to being out of the competition as 3 injuries. The quality type replacements for our 1st X1 in our squad is mighty 'likle bit'!
a) Our passing game though shown to be much improved by the stats is still woeful.
However, the good news is all the teams in these Hex have shown (said it before (lousy passing and moving, moving and passing/possession game).
The bad news is, as the tournament goes on we can expect our opponents to get better at the passing game...so our obstacles shall become 'larger'.
The unknown is, how quickly can we continue on the upward curve shown on possession.
b) Our defense minus Nosworthy is greatly weakened. We were all over the place (in disarray) on the goals against.
The guys out there were the best from the squad...so we need that togetherness (structure) fixed.
c) Our midfielders need to improve on the making of accurate passes and increased support movement - movement on defense and on attack.
Let us face facts each member of our team (save Demar Philips and Marriappa) hold on to the ball waaaaaaaaay too long. This holding on to the ball for no good reason has been a feature of our TEAMs from high school football through to our national teams. It is a failing of the teaching.
Many have not yet grasped the concept of "sudden". That concept related to minimizing the time opponents have to "set-up" on defense is not grasped.
It should be noticed that most often top TEAMs, matters not if the ball is in defense, midfield or attack...keeps the ball buzzing to constantly have the opponents not "set-up"=constantly reacting to different 'continuously changing' points of possible attack.
Our teams encourage "slow". Slowing thinking, slow movement, minimal work. Worryingly it makes the job of defending against us easier by our opponents steeped in 'fast' i.e. movements of the player(s) and ball and thus faster thinking =trained reflex speed thinking. That giving such an advantage must never be the aim of a team.
To state the obvious, our team's job is to make it difficult for the opponents. To break them down...to put the 'enemy' in disarray. Certainly not to make problem-solving easier for them.
Can we fix the above quickly? Well so far we improved on 'upping' our possession rate significantly from match to match. So we can hope for continued rapid improvement there...faster movement of ball and support movements by our players.
Passing quicker backed with good movement will again cause our possession rate to further improve...not to mention it will directly result in increased chances on goal.
d) Now we come to our area of greatest weakness - GOALSCORING!
It is fact, we have gotten multiple chances in each of our matches. Given the chances we created, it is not a stretch to suggest we could have been sitting on at least 7 points! i.e. wins against Mexico and Panama and a draw with Costa Rica.
Again the obvious - FOOTBALL is a TEAM game and that becomes more and more demanded as the standard of opponents rise. In our CONCACAF region these Hex tournaments is our highest level. Higher than our Gold Cup as the states are higher the energy of play and desire to win is higher.
The above says...demands each chance (worked) created is a prize and must be so treated. The nonsense above 'forwards' (any player) being selfish to detriment of TEAM aims/goals...is just that nonsense. [If someone can put forward a sensible argument on why not have TEAM goal scored because an individual somehow benefits by taking a shot rather than creating/assisting on TEAM goal I would be open to a change of my position. I just cannot grasp the concept of there being a benefit to the individual to deny the TEAM and self of the possibility of moving on to a wider marketplace within which to display skills and offer self for greater payday! ...but I am willing to listen...and think on. ]
All our forwards (and indeed our midfielders in this squad) have no background of scoring at these levels....so how do we fix our goal-scoring woes?
The suggestion is along with the above swifter movement of ball and support movement of players a spirit of TEAM first selfishness must be instilled. ...such that a Shelton-like break-away whereon as in this last match a player finds self pulling entire defense to self...like the young (inexperienced?) Costa Rican born GUNNERS owned player Campbell...roll the ball to better place TEAM-mate for TEAM goal... for furtherance of TEAM aims/goals.
McCreary, McAnuff, Beckford and Robinson in particular must be shown (why it is necessary) to make early passes...greater sharing of ball with TEAM-mates a priority. They are giving away the ball - playing against TEAM REGGAEBOYZ - much...much too often. It is silly to lose the ball so often or slow our attacks so often. It bears repeating that that does not help our REGGAEBOYZ it assists on defending against them .
These players must shown each and every occasion on which they lose the ball. (Of course the entire squad should in group session shown TEAM...do not disparage a team-mate...those losing of the ball/possession or ruining attack by refusal to(?)...not making those early passes.
Can we solve those error before our next match? The good news is our improved possession play game through game thus far suggests our players can!
Finally: Finding a 'goalscorer' or goalscorers within the squad.
I say be bold...
Luton Shelton has had his chances to score and has not scored. His strong points are speed and speed.
Replace him with Mattocks!
(Maudib: Mattocks is in our squad!)
Scroll down - http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/prelimi...910/index.html
Mattocks has the speed. ...and just recently has acknowledged understanding why it is necessary to think on making that vital pass to better placed TEAM-mate. He is also young and fearless...has not the mental baggage Luton has of not producing (goals) in Hex level matches playing on his mind.
I would start Mattocks with Ryan Johnson.
Ryan Johnson is our best mover off the ball and excellent TEAM-playing man. Every match for us (just about all) finds self in great goal-scoring positions and assists in putting others in great goal-scoring positions...via movement and passing.
Find some way to play Hue when the match comes back to us i.e. late in games. Now if I were Tappa I would then play him as striker - He is our best passer...scoring goals is holding nerve and passing accurately into goal!
We are not far off the pace - 3 points from top and 2 from qualifying spot!
- http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/prelimi...ngs/index.html
Be bold!!!Last edited by Karl; March 27, 2013, 11:49 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Whew!!!! Karl me see yuh a try call me out in your post, but I forgot what I was going to say by the time I read through half of your rambling. I'll come back to it when I remember.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostWhew!!!! Karl me see yuh a try call me out in your post, but I forgot what I was going to say by the time I read through half of your rambling. I'll come back to it when I remember."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostMcAnuff, Beckford and Robinson in particular must be shown (why it is necessary) to make early passes...
A not undastanding someting here!