3-5-2 versus 4-4-2

• 3-5-2 versus 4-4-2

CR have a man advantage in midfield all match, the most critical part of the pitch. Why do we waste two guys at forward when nothing is happening up there, gain control of midfield is the first order then exploit their back three we could not get to their back three as the middle five was killing us.

That is simple logic, simple numbers, this is the hex play 4-5-1 get control and mix it up from there, the 4-4-2 with austin, elliott and the two macks leave a big hole in the center of the pitch.

we played 4-5-1 at azteca against the toughest team at 7K feet and got a draw and now we get 2-0 from probably the weakest team with no altitude issue,Kingston we definitely have a problem here.

Playing Mexico at the Azteca was our World Cup. I think it is done. Not even sure I am going to bother try going to the match when they play the US here in Kansas City.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So its Tappa formation ? so let me ask with this formation of yours is
      HUE in it ?

I read you up along time Stoni , you will blame Tappa for his poor tactical acumen before you call for Hue .

Dangerous bredda.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Here we go again!

sigh of sighs!

X, I have said it a million times, Hue cant make my side. my team is defense first, eleven defenders hard pressing and counter attack in the 4-5-1, exactly what we did in mexico, clog the midfield, dominate the ball, disrupt the oppoenent and counter hard on the break. Simple simon business!!

And I don't know why people keep expecting yuh to say something sens...I mean different.

Mosiah so I am talking trash, does CR have a one man advantage in midfield all game or not, do we have two forwards up high thatare not doing much if any work in the mids. a lot of people downplay formation and execution but it is critical to outcome as you are able to respond to threats by bringing and moving the man advantage to press, harass and to close space.

Stoni you are a joke , beyond that .I will read your post in the future for what it is comedic value.

Runnnn harrrrdddddd !..lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tappa has no tactical nous, even a blind man could see it is stupidity to play 4-4-2. Even though we were outnumbered in midfield i thought the midfielders done Ok. The game was cryiing out for someone in between the lines instead we wasted 2 strikers upfront. Aah bwoy!! Frustrating.

Stoni, formation is overrated!

Highly!

X how did we draw the Mexico match, that is exactly what we did, we played 4-5-1 and countered on the break, simple ball. When you play equal or superior position play 4-5-1 to start we have now played 4-4-2 giving up advantage in midfield and we have lost once by two and drawn at home. Who is the comedian, me or you? I am just going with what work, we think we have the talent to play a type of ball that we have not put in the work, is as simple as that.

Mexico? Yuh mean the side that can't buy a win!?!?

Formation is a theoretical concept that merely talks about placement of player or pieces in space and time, it is about being able to create a man advantage in a certain space. in 4-5-1 you stack to the middle, you can quickly move resources in either direction, that is why many of the best teams are even stacking to a 3-6-1 with the mids as the fulcrum point, swinging resources to the fore or aft, it gives you the ability to be more fluid in your response on defense or attack than say 4-4-2 or worse 4-3-3 where your men are more commited and the fluidity of movement between the three areas is more restricted.

Thanks for that, Stoni. This will be the third time I'll be sitting the Football 101 exam. And I don't even attend StGC!

all right, but it worked nicely in Mexico and we have gone away from it with lesser quality opponents and we have now been burnt twice.