My starting RBoyz team for C.R.

Besides Elliott who else on this squad has scored in the Hex? I don't remember any of your strikers/forwards finding the back of the net so far in the Hex, so why did you say that about Hue, who has not played in the Hex???

You point out that Hue is weak defensively, but you have a bunch of other mids that can't effectively pass the ball, so he is able to fill that gap, and that is where real/true TEAMwork comes in and how you build a real/true TEAM.

Hue doesnt need a shot ,what has he to prove,Tappa needs prove he knows how to use Hue.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
        Besides Elliott who else on this squad has scored in the Hex? I don't remember any of your strikers/forwards finding the back of the net so far in the Hex, so why did you say that about Hue, who has not played in the Hex???
        I did not check Hue's record. ...and I cannot remember him scoring in the Hex.

Has Hue ever played in the Hex? I do not know....cannot remember that either.

Matters not...was not a requirement if others of the present crop has scored in the Hex...my thinking was Hue has been around a long time and I do not remember him being a 'goalscorer'. Sure he has scored for Jamaica...but being considered a 'goalscorer'? I do not think so.

You point out that Hue is weak defensively, but you have a bunch of other mids that can't effectively pass the ball, so he is able to fill that gap, and that is where real/true TEAMwork comes in and how you build a real/true TEAM.
        Cannot effectively pass the ball...or do not have Hue's passing ability or range?

I think you meant the latter as all our midfielders can and do pass effectively. They, however, are not in Hue's class on range and creativity - known consistency on making what could be termed "killer passes".

My point on Hue's abilities as passer and his deficiencies is a simple one. Will his passing ability over-compensate for his lack of pace and defensive liability. I am convinced that at the lower levels - Yup! ...but as we move higher and higher...meeting TEAMs with better and better quality his liabilities become (shall become) more pronounced.

The second question that naturally follows is; can our REGGAEBOYZ afford him or not (=afford to not have him)? That of course is tied to belief in whether or not these ReggaeBoyz can make it to the World Cup 2014. ...and if, as I do, you think they can...once at the World Cup will they be a good presence in terms of results and quality of play?

Well you know where I stand on TEAM composition as it relates to Hue. He is in the squad - and shall get his chance to make me have egg on my face! If he fails I promise I shall say not one word.
        If he succeeds, I shall promptly admit the errors of my ways!!!
        Last edited by Karl; March 24, 2013, 06:16 PM.

Karl: Maybe you can point me to your posts where you suggested playing Hue as a forward. In my opinion, that would make no sense to play him as a forward when he has not spent his career in that position. The player is a creative/play-making midfielder; a position he plays for his club and one in which Tappa used him to great success when the team needed to be bailed out. Why would we put the man to play as a forward at this juncture when he is not a forward? That just defies all logic, especially when we have an abundance of forwards at our disposal.

I must have ignored that suggestion if you did make it as I must have not considered it making sense. I however cannot forget your campaign that he is too slow etc, etc even after his exploits in the final part of the pre-Hex. It so happens that we could not beat or even score on Antigua when we played them in Antigua, but when Hue turned on his wizardry at the office to make the difference, you chose to belittle the man's performance by saying "it was against second formers", a claim you still hold today. We would have had problems beating those second formers if it were not for the exquisite defense splitting passing and creative play making of Hue. He delivered for the team when it mattered to get us in the Hex.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

When is the last time Jamaica made it to the Hex ? Mi cyaan even remember !!

And yuh waan know how many goal Hue score in Hex ??

Ah wheh di !?

Matters not...was not a requirement if others of the present crop has scored in the Hex...my thinking was Hue has been around a long time and I do not remember him being a 'goalscorer'. Sure he has scored for Jamaica...but being considered a 'goalscorer'? I do not think so.
              LOL...mi nuh unnastan

Suh dis ah di man yuh waan put pon wi fawud line?? LOL wooiieee... Karl yuh ah di bes'... Spock nuh ave nutten pon yuh wid dis yah logics

Karl: Maybe you can point me to your posts where you suggested playing Hue as a forward. In my opinion, that would make no sense to play him as a forward when he has not spent his career in that position
                Then why would you ask for the post?
                Yuh si unnh...

Tilla: I am stong on belief. If you prove me wrong...never a problem to say -mi did wrang! What would be the point of questioning such a fact?

I know some do...but lying to self or idiot or both?
                Still would not change being wrong! So 'fool's' stance!!!

Anyway I shall humour you this time - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...Hue#post134739

...and I said it before that...and since!!!
                Sorry...you would have to do the search for them!

[/quote] In my opinion, that would make no sense to play him as a forward when he has not spent his career in that position. The player is a creative/play-making midfielder; a position he plays for his club and one in which Tappa used him to great success when the team needed to be bailed out. Why would we put the man to play as a forward at this juncture when he is not a forward? That just defies all logic, especially when we have an abundance of forwards at our disposal. [/quote]

Guess our forwards have been scoring up a storm? What did some writer say...venonous?

...I believe Hue could help as striker! he cannot be expected to enter in foot races and win...but he is an excellent passer...give him balls with heavy weight in space and 'one-touch' could be goal!

SCORING GOALS is all about HOLDING NERVE and PASSING ACCURATELY!

Surely Hue would find it easy to slide into space in front of goal? I think he has the tools.

I however cannot forget your campaign that he is too slow etc, etc even after his exploits in the final part of the pre-Hex. It so happens that we could not beat or even score on Antigua when we played them in Antigua, but when Hue turned on his wizardry at the office to make the difference, you chose to belittle the man's performance by saying "it was against second formers", a claim you still hold today.
                Do not forget it!!!

We would have had problems beating those second formers if it were not for the exquisite defense splitting passing and creative play making of Hue. He delivered for the team when it mattered to get us in the Hex.
                ...and that is a FACT!

So he is unproven...there?
                  Right?

Karl!!! Please stop.
                    You are speaking from ignorance......Besides Ricketts and maybe J.J. who on this team has ever been part of RBoyz squad to compete in the Hex.

I think Karl is getting senile. First he questions Hue's goal scoring ability, then he wants him to play forward.

here is my starting eleven... this team addresses all our weaknesses displayed in panama game... passing and ball possession... creating chances shouldn't be a problem... play makers are added without giving up much in midfield defense...

------------------------- ricketts-------------------------

doyley-------------taylor--------mariappa----------phillips----------

-------------elliott----------austin---------mcanuff----------

---------------------johnson-------hue-----------

-------------------------beckford----------------

Mi nuh chuss Taylor in Central Defense.. Put Doyley there...

Push Mcanuff up on the left.. Hue must play central attacking mid with flank players on either side.. 4-2-3-1

Which Johnson is that ??

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                            Karl!!! Please stop.
                            You are speaking from ignorance......Besides Ricketts and maybe J.J. who on this team has ever been part of RBoyz squad to compete in the Hex.
                            USAF - I am addressing our TEAM's strengths and shortcomings - that naturally means addressing each TEAM player's record and ability/abilities.

...so what has your pronouncement on ignorance to do with the quality players we need...what is the target for our Reggae Boyz...how do we satisfy our aims?

Answer that question and you may understand what I am saying.

Aside: Your suggestion on the Hue you envision coming in is laudable!!! i.e. your call for the unproven Hue is every bit on the same plain as my calling for his exclusion.

You are basing your claims on his record at a lower level than these Hex!

I am basing mine on observation of him for in excess of 8 years...also at the lower level play. However, I have 'calculated'=assessed the level at the Hex to be higher than he has ever faced!!!! - greater defensive skills, faster and stronger players...which will not afford him the 'space and time' to perfom that he enjoyed at the lower levels.

Perhaps my assessments and opinions are wrong! ...but so may be yours!

...so again, what has your pronouncements on ignorance to do with the quality players we need...what is the target for our Reggae Boyz...how do we satisfiy our needs?
                            Last edited by Karl; March 24, 2013, 11:05 PM.

ok... i am talking about ryan johnson... i can go with doyley as the center half... jt at the right back... i am even thinking omar daley could be the right back... best offensive option... a bit irrational onf defense...

i want to see ryan johnson in the side, playing above hue and behind beckford... your 4-2-3-1 is essentially what i am advocating, just more 4-3-2-1... hue and ryan johnson being the 2....

Tek time wid dem, USAF. They are our Forum experts! Nuh mek dem look like dem nuh have nuh sense!