Cannot understand Tappa's substitution

Heh heh!

You are so agreeable! Why can't Assasin be like you?

Gwaan talk yuh tings, Dunny! I appreciate your comments, even when made with the benefit of hindsight!

Doyley is a specialist defender who has been playing that position consistently for over a decade. He should have been the obvious substitution choice when Nosworthy got injured. Omar Daley while he adds attacking fervor, he lacks defensive awareness and discipline. Too many times going back from he has been in Jamaica Under-17 until now, you see him either doing his trademark rash tackles or just get beaten easily as you saw on that play that led to the goal. Someone who plays defense day-in-day out would have known that the player approaching with the ball in that position on the field , the defenders job is to close him down, not run in stupidly and be easily beaten. That is defensive lesson 101 people, which Omar still did not pick up while playing for our youth teams and it has followed him to this level.

The coach I think made a tactical blunder, as if he wanted Omar on the field, he should not be brought on as a defender when you have a seasoned specialist defender on the bench. Seconds after the substitution was made, I saw the error in Tappa's move.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

JT was being played out of position. If I were coach, I would have moved JT to partner Mariappa in the center of defense and bring on the specialist RB defender Doyley. At this point in time, you do not need to be experimenting with a player like Daley in such a crucial position when you have the lead. I could see with Tappa if he did not have Doyley on the bench and he did not want to throw Alvas Powell into the mix at this stage. But using Daley as a makeshift RB made no sense to me. At that stage of the game, I gave up as I thought now Tappa is courting disaster when he made such a move. Without vision, the football team will lose...
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nothing wrong with the Daley subsitution. Daley played very well. If any defender should have been changed it was Demar.
          Daley caused the defensive breakdown which led to the goal if you did not see. Daley is not a defender and should not have been used as such in high stake situations when we have capable cover for the position.

When Daley saw the man with the ball, he rushed in like a lion tackling its prey, only for the man to make the simplest of shifts and got him out of the way. From there is was only a matter of time before the ball was in the back of the net. So yes something was wrong with Daley's substitution. Tappa got that one wrong.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            Karl you is a veteran in this thing and you know posession don't win football matches. Doyley should've been the sub, it is not rocket science. you are 1-0 up in a game you do not send on a forward to play defence. Unuh tell me if i am being unfair or i am talking rubbish. Please have a look at this video clip and tell me if a so sumaddy defend? Icalled it on the night and i stand by that.

http://www.footytube.com/video/jamai...p_latestvideos
            Just wanted to hear the reasoning, boss!
            ...and just to state, as fact, Daley has never been a good defender in his entire playing life. (Unless that was when he was playing 'Junior ball' school ball. Then I never saw him and could not make a judgement on his then play).

Daley caused the defensive breakdown which led to the goal if you did not see. Daley is not a defender and should not have been used as such in high stake situations when we have capable cover for the position.

When Daley saw the man with the ball, he rushed in like a lion tackling its prey, only for the man to make the simplest of shifts and got him out of the way. From there is was only a matter of time before the ball was in the back of the net. So yes something was wrong with Daley's substitution. Tappa got that one wrong.
              it was Demar P. turning over the ball that led to the play that eventually cost us the goal. True Daley, should have done better in tackling and shadowing the goal scorer.

Just a thought>>maybe Tappa asked Montesso to get DOYLEY, but he misunderstood and went for DALEY ??

I had him starting in my lineup. He does with very high recommendation from both our starting centre backs what more can you ask for. We have seen him play for watford and he as played consistently for a decade, love Omar but I would not have made such a move at that time.

I guess you went further back than I did on that play. But yes, Omar running in on the man like that was an amateurish move to say the least.

Just a thought>>maybe Tappa asked Montesso to get DOYLEY, but he misunderstood and went for DALEY ??
                  That there is funny!!