Cannot understand Tappa's substitution

• Cannot understand Tappa's substitution

Your center half gets injured, you send in Omar Daley an attacking midfielder.
    I am baffled by that.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Daley is much more than an attacking mid. Very versatile player. He did a better job than JT in that right back position.

Daley is truly a versatile player the issue with him is those damn cards...good god man Taylor must be the slowest reader of a football game around.

Mosiah, that Daley substitution was a mistake and should never have happened, we were leading the game 1-0. Tappa should've gone for a better defender.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          Mosiah, that Daley substitution was a mistake and should never have happened, we were leading the game 1-0. Tappa should've gone for a better defender.
          Dunny just as interest... would you name the player you would have sent in?

Yes Dunny, he should have put in Doyley, nuh true?

A better defender? Like who? Alvas? Doyley?

Doyley is a defender.. dat is what him duh.. Omar is a winger..

Suh if Tappa look for a defender.. choice was obvious..

But then as we know.. nothing is obvious with the JFF..

Dunny just as interest... would you name the player you would have sent in?
                  Karl you is a veteran in this thing and you know posession don't win football matches. Doyley should've been the sub, it is not rocket science. you are 1-0 up in a game you do not send on a forward to play defence. Unuh tell me if i am being unfair or i am talking rubbish. Please have a look at this video clip and tell me if a so sumaddy defend? Icalled it on the night and i stand by that.

http://www.footytube.com/video/jamai...p_latestvideos

I didn't see the match... thanks for putting up this clip... I would characterise that "defensive" move as "naive"... he should have not have tried to get the ball... should have held his position and sent the man wide... at best if he were going to be beaten he should have at least blocked the lane on the attacker's right side and given him the left side....

A player with defensive experience would not have dived in like that or if they did they would at least taken down the attacker. Daley made a difference to our attacking play and ball possession when he came on, however we needed the other aspect of his game in that crucial moment._

Some serious hindsight in play here. People defend like that all day, but a goal is scored in this occasion so wi quick to break it down and lay blame.

Hindsight, really? Ok sorry to highlight it!!

Nothing wrong with the Daley subsitution. Daley played very well. If any defender should have been changed it was Demar.

A player with defensive experience would not have dived in like that or if they did they would at least taken down the attacker. Daley made a difference to our attacking play and ball possession when he came on, however we needed the other aspect of his game in that crucial moment._
                              Daley was on a yellow card, so taking down the attacker was not an option, as he would have been sent off.
                              Last edited by Twan; March 24, 2013, 11:34 AM.