So it is official

• So it is official

The USA will play Jamaica at Sporting Park here in Kansas City on October 11th. As much as I am happy about it, I still cannot understand why they want to play in a stadium so small. I cannot understand the sense it makes to play the game in a 20k capacity stadium. But I will take it anyway though. Easy drive from my house (46 miles).
    Attached Files
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Its the vibe, and the intimate atmosphere of a small stadium with the fans close to the opposition. Revenue is not part of the equation.

Do you remember RFK (55K) in '97 or Foxboro outside of Boston (bout 60K) in 2001? It gives more fans a chance to go to the match and watch their team. Anyway I can see the us being nervous that they will be outnumbered by away fans.

What they will do now is control the tickets and release them at the last minute. Before you know it, 20K gone and you do not get any.

I don't like it, but if this how they want to run their business, then more power to them.

Tilla
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla I will definitely be there on my ears, we need tickets when them going on sale?

Yeah, I was there in '97. They are fearful of opposing fans outnumbering Americans.

Smart tactic on their. They can place most of the tickets through their local distribution network and ensure a pro American crowd. On top of that the atmosphere in that new stadium is great

Plan to be there!

Nah tell nuh lie, mi grudge you. LOL!! Enjoy it sah.

Dat's mi jab! ...ever studing this 'beautiful game'...as aid to determing quality of play and potential shown by players.

One thing I can agree on is the atmosphere. Also a fine stadium if I ever saw one.

My main worry is securing tickets. Would hate to have folks travel and then they have to watch in a sports bar.

Won't travel unless mi have ticket(s), and mi have nuff frequent flier miles fi use.