• Reggae Boyz Strengthen...

Reggae Boyz Strengthen Ahead of Key World Cup Qualifiers
    March 9, 2013
    Filed under Articles, Contributed Articles, Men's Senior News, National Mens News, National News, News Posted by JFF

A 24 man Reggae Boyz squad has been called up for Jamaica ahead of their vital World Cup Qualifiers against Panama on March 22 and Costa Rica on March 26. It includes one new invitee and 2 others.

Luton Shelton, Jermaine Beckford and new invitee Lloyd Doyley has been added to the squad for Jamaica’s crucial World Cup Qualifiers at the end of March.

29 year old 6 foot 2 inch striker Jermaine Beckford was called up to Jamaica’s squad vs Mexico however a hamstring injury a week before the encounter threw away his chance of making his debut. However a sturdy rehabilitation has got Jermaine back in the gym and back to training with Huddersfield Town and to get some minutes under his belt before he represents Jamaica.

The former Everton FC striker is agile, quick and is a clinical finisher on goal. He is a player that will certainly show CONCACAF that Jamaica has a potent goal scorer on their hands. Expect fireworks from this man.

Lloyd Doyley is a 30 year old versatile defender who plays for Watford FC in the Championship in England. Doyley can operate anywhere along the back 4, but he has seen majority of his success as a right back and as a centre half. Doyley also will not have a problem fitting into Jamaica’s system and tactics as Doyley plays with Nyron Nosworthy at Watford and also played with Adrian
    Mariappa for 5 seasons. Adrian Mariappa who is a close friend of Doyley says Doyley is “the best defender I have ever played with”.

Jamaica’s leading goal scorer Luton Shelton is also back from a knee injury as Jamaica has another dimension to their venomous attack. Shelton who has 35 goals in 70 appearances for Jamaica will be looking to inject not only his blistering pace but also experience as he has faced Panama and Costa Rica on numerous occasions and will be looking to give valuable advice to the teammates on the tactical approach needed.

These injections into the Reggae Boyz unit is without a doubt is a delight and Jamaica can expect a hardworking unit with quality in all elements.

Where is that old 'laugh till belly bus' emoticon?
    ...serious though - I hope from the Panama match onwards that venomous attack will show!!!!

Luton is averaging 1 goal every two games for the boys, the team has improved so just maybe...,besides we expected changes to the striking force.
      In any event, I fancy his inclusion because of the speed advantage,we have to capitalize on whatever advantges we have.
      Other than Beckford fitness level, I have no(other) concern about his inclusion.
      The Doley insertion to the squad is anticipated, too much hinges on Nosworthy and Mariappa being injured free.
      There is one possible consequence that I hope will be avoided, Shavar Thomas was an intriguing young defender in 98, he was reassigned to the junior team and never really amounted to anything maybe because of that.
      Alvas Powel has to be groomed properly so the same mistake is not repeated, he has to play alongside Nosworty,Mariappa etc in order ensure grooming.
      He didn't look good for the juniors but was excellent when fielded for the senior team.
      I just want a convincing victory over formidable Panama,winning by three goals would indicate that the team is on the right track.

Luton is averaging 1 goal every two games for the boys, the team has improved so just maybe...,besides we expected changes to the striking force.
        In any event, I fancy his inclusion because of the speed advantage,we have to capitalize on whatever advantges we have.
        Other than Beckford fitness level, I have no(other) concern about his inclusion.
        The Doley insertion to the squad is anticipated, too much hinges on Nosworthy and Mariappa being injured free.
        There is one possible consequence that I hope will be avoided, Shavar Thomas was an intriguing young defender in 98, he was reassigned to the junior team and never really amounted to anything maybe because of that.
        Alvas Powel has to be groomed properly so the same mistake is not repeated, he has to play alongside Nosworty,Mariappa etc in order ensure grooming.
        He didn't look good for the juniors but was excellent when fielded for the senior team.
        I just want a convincing victory over formidable Panama,winning by three goals would indicate that the team is on the right track.
        Winning will show we are on the right track.

Luton is averaging 1 goal every two games for the boys... .
          Rockman (or any other person) could you post Luton's record for the boyz? ...inclusive of the teams he has scored against and number of goals against each of those teams?

Thanks.

Rockman (or any other person) could you post Luton's record for the boyz? ...inclusive of the teams he has scored against and number of goals against each of those teams?

Thanks.
            I've found his record up to 2011

http://www.rsssf.com/miscellaneous/shelton-intlg.html

I see Shelton as a super-sub.

He should be used to run a tired defense.

yep. perfect position for him. Bring him on after 60 minutes to stretch defenses.

Thanks.
                  Shelton's goalscoring record is as follows:-

5vBahamas
                  4vSt.Martins
                  4vGuatamala
                  4vGrenada
                  3vCanada
                  2vEl Salvador,Antigua,Trinidad&Tobago
                  1vUSA,Guadelope,Barbados,Honduras,Panama,Cuba,Fren ch Guyana,Haiti,Virgin Islands.

Excellent record and scores against weak and strong opponents.

Di man score him fuss ever free kick on the USA..

Dat nuh mean seh mi ah guh call him a spot kick specialist..

Shelton cannot make my side over even Mattocks until him learn some fundamentals.. if him is a good luck charm den him can siddung pon Bench and get a 15 minute run in 2nd half..

So how you reach Shelton. You move the target away from Johnson to him?

move target ?

ah nuh Shelton and him goal scoring record dem ah talk bout ?

Originally posted by Me View Post
                            Excellent record and scores against weak and strong opponents.
                            Based on "you can only score on who is 'in front of you" the record looks great!
                            ...but the only strong team he has scored against is - USA!

Shelton's goalscoring record is as follows:-

5vBahamas
                            4vSt.Martins
                            4vGuatamala
                            4vGrenada
                            3vCanada
                            2vEl Salvador,Antigua,Trinidad&Tobago
                            1vUSA,Guadelope,Barbados,Honduras,Panama,Cuba,Fren ch Guyana,Haiti,Virgin Islands.

- Source: Dunny
                            All others fall into 1 of these three sectors - 'god awful' i.e. "2nd formers", "The Puny" and "The Weak".

'The god awful' i.e. "2nd formers"
                            Bahamas, St Martin, Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda, Guadeloupe, Barbados, Cuba, French Guyana, Haiti, Virgin Islands;

The Puny
                            El Salvador, Trinidad and Tobago, Guatemala

The weak
                            Panama, Canada, Honduras,

In the first group Haiti had 'decent game long before Luton could walk'...and then fell away. The same could be said for the second group, "The Puny" - El Salvador, Trinidad and Tobago and to a lesser degree Guatemala which have for slightly longer periods/more consistently brought 'game'.

In the third group Honduras, Panama and Canada have at short periods 'flattered to deceive'. However a realistic look at this group shows each national team was never anything to 'talk about'. Languishing outside FIFA's top 40 teams for prolonged periods.

The Strong
                            The USA stands alone as quality team he has scored against.

The USA has been in FIFA's top 25 for an extended period. The fact is, in our FIFA Confederation - CONCACAF - there are only 2 teams (USA & Mexico)
                            during 'Shelton's time' which consistently brought quality TEAM game.

Of Shelton's 30+ goals for "The Reggae Boyz" - 21 (as per Dunny's record)...were against 'god awful' i.e. 2nd formers! 10 were against "The Puny"; 1 was against "The Strong".

What weight then should be given to Shelton's goal-scoring strength as we look to and discuss our current Reggae Boyz chances of making it to Brazil 2014? Fact is, he is yet to produce against quality teams.

My only caution is: let us not get carried away by his past performances even as we keep 'fingers and toes crossed' as we hope his rampant scoring against less than stellar opposition carries over to these Hex matches...and to matches at Brazil 2014.
                            Last edited by Karl; March 20, 2013, 07:23 PM.

Thanks, Dunny!