Wenger: English exits a 'wake-up call'

• Wenger: English exits a 'wake-up call'

Arsene Wenger has admitted the Premier League is no longer at the forefront of European football after Arsenal were the last English side to be bundled out of this season's Champions League.

GettyImagesArsene Wenger admits English sides have fallen behind in the race for European supremacy

Palmer: Signs of revival
    Blog: Hope for next season

Arsenal completed their round of 16 tie with Bayern level 3-3 on aggregate but their 2-0 win in Germany was not enough to secure their passage into the quarter-finals as they joined Manchester United, Manchester City and Chelsea as Premier League casualties in Europe this season.

It will be the first time since the 1995-96 season that no English sides are represented beyond the round of 16 and Wenger believes it is no coincidence that the Premier League has been overpowered in the Champions League.

"It's a massive disappointment for English football," he said. "For a number of years we've not had that. I think it's a massive wake-up call for us. It means the rest of Europe has caught up on us. We have to take that into consideration when we think about the future of the Premier League."

Bayern boss Jupp Heynckes shared Wenger's view, insisting the Premier League has only been placed on a pedestal in England, not the rest of Europe.

"The gap between the Bundesliga and the (English) Premier League is not as big as it has been made out," he said. "The English teams had an unlucky draw, with Manchester United against Real Madrid and Arsenal with us. Arsenal will be back again."

Despite pre-match claims that Wenger had already conceded his side's chances of qualification, the Frenchman insists Arsenal were confident of progressing until the final whistle.

"Of course I'm very proud of the performance of the team," he said. "I think there was room to score (a third goal) and when you look at the game. Tonight you have many regrets about our first game.

"I believe that it was very feasible to knock Bayern out. We got the belief of that when we watched the (first) game again, we had a plan that we respected tonight, it went a bit fast on some occasions, but overall I felt that we had the quality to be there."

Gunners captain Thomas Vermaelen was rested for the match as Kieran Gibbs returned from injury and Lukasz Fabianski replaced Wojciech Szczesny in a number of changes for Arsenal.

Wenger remains uncertain whether Vermaelen will return to the starting line-up for Arsenal's match against Swansea on Saturday, insisting he has the luxury of rotating his defenders.

"I don't want to explain too much," he said. "It's possible yes, I don't know yet. We may rotate a bit at the back and in the midfield as well. We have players like Abou Diaby back so we can rotate a little bit."

Former England international Gary Neville has denied there is any serious concern for Premier League clubs, citing Chelsea's win last season and Liverpool's 2005 glory as prime examples.

"We are not in a strong moment. There is no point denying it," Neville said. "From 2005 to 2012 we had eight or nine finalists, which is a ridiculous success rate when you include semi-finals as well.

"But Barcelona and Real Madrid are stronger, the German teams are stronger, Juventus look like they are getting back to it. It works in cycles. You cannot always be at the top. Maybe we are having a period where we are in a little bit of a dip. But it may change around completely next year or the year after."

Information from the Press Association was used in this report.

Rafa was/is waaay ahaed of his peers , rotating defenders ...Wenger remains uncertain whether Vermaelen will return to the starting line-up for Arsenal's match against Swansea on Saturday, insisting he has the luxury of rotating his defenders.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rafa was/is waaay ahaed of his peers , rotating defenders ...Wenger remains uncertain whether Vermaelen will return to the starting line-up for Arsenal's match against Swansea on Saturday, insisting he has the luxury of rotating his defenders.
      Who do you think will win? Swansea or Arsenal? And what about Liverpool at Southampton, any prediction there?

Lazie.. ah wha dem man ah chat bout.. dem nuh realize seh BPL is di #1 League innah di Wirll !!

Spain juss have 2 big side.. suh dem will always be innah di CL mix at di end.. dat nuh mean dem league big.. illusion dat !

Lazie.. ah wha dem man ah chat bout.. dem nuh realize seh BPL is di #1 League innah di Wirll !!

Spain juss have 2 big side.. suh dem will always be innah di CL mix at di end.. dat nuh mean dem league big.. illusion dat !

Maubid, do you tune in to La Liga to watch a game that does not involve RM and Barca?

How RM come innah dis.. ??

Okay sorry, I guess I was wrong. La Liga is a 1 team league then?

...besides your team's matches, which others do you watch in the EPL? QPR vs Sunderland say? hmmm

I can honestly tell you that, barring the Liverpool matches, I rarely tune in to an EPL match unless it involves the top 4 or 5 teams (including your Manure side) and some other opponent... if QPR and Sunderland are playing I would prefer to check out say a Sevilla v Real Betis match... where there are strong rivalries... why bore myself with a bottom of the EPL table clash? that is, unless they meet near the season's end when clubs are fighting for survival.

It's as a friend of mine once told me when he became a manager of Barbados' biggest (only?) brewery and he knew nothing of brewing (but he knew plant management)... they sent him on a course in Germany to get acquainted with beer brewing process etc. He said he was told that people like what they develop a taste for and so Jamaicans will swear by Red Stripe, Bajans Banks, Trinis Carib etc... when in fact they may be very ordinary beers by some unbiased standard; I don't think it's any different with the big football leagues in Europe.

All yuh haffi know is dat mi will watch the middle of the table La Liga game EVERYTIME before wi watch any match in the BPL below di Top 4..

How former players from that rucks EPL perform in the great La Liga?

what dat haffi duh wid anyting ?

How former players from that rucks EPL perform in the great La Liga?
                        You can't ask that question without asking the corollary "how former players from la liga perform in the prem?". I think you will see that the answers cancel each other out. The argument over which league is "better" is a bit of a tail chasing exercise. I prefer watching the Prem, but that's me and proably because I know the teams better. I don't think the football is particularly better, as I think La Liga and the Serie A teams play with more skill, but not as entertaining.

I am not the one making invidious comparisons,ergo I am not (the one)deserving of your response.
                          See, the reason why I asked "the one" that question is it has everything to do with the quality of the EPL.
                          If my memory serves me right, the EPL appears superior regarding strikers, more former EPL players have won the golden boot award in La Liga, in fact I can't remember a former La Liga player winning.....
                          Personally, Man U demise in the CL has everything to do with not picking the right starting eleven.

I am not the one making invidious comparisons,ergo I am not (the one)deserving of your response.
                            See, the reason why I asked "the one" that question is it has everything to do with the quality of the EPL.
                            If my memory serves me right, the EPL appears superior regarding strikers, more former EPL players have won the golden boot award in La Liga, in fact I can't remember a former La Liga player winning.....
                            Personally, Man U demise in the CL has everything to do with not picking the right starting eleven.
                            Manu "demise" in the CL had everything with getting your arse buss at home. That said, there are zero English teams in the next round, 3 from Spain and 2 from Germany. When there were 4 English teams in the semis a few years ago, nuff people used that as justification of Prem "quality". Now you are introducing a new measure by singling out individual players. I don't see how this is a measure of one league's superiority over another, especially when TEAMS, not individuals are what are being compared.

Good point about the distinction between a team and a player.
                              Look, can we agree this is a snapshot probably given too much credence?
                              Would we have said the same thin at the end of last season's CL?
                              And(I love starting sentences with "but" and "and" despite a third grader would show better judgement)of course the credence has everything to do with the snapshot.
                              An attack on the EPL is an attack on Man U.