Question regarding "cold gear"

• Question regarding "cold gear"

My son is going to Dallas with his club for the Dallas Cup and they (club) recommended that the boys get "cold gear". Is this really necessary? I checked the long range forecast and so far the temperature is forcast to be in the low to mid 70sF ... Cold gear is not available in TT but "heat gear" is (except for the colour they want (white) anyway, IMO "heat gear" as an under layer should be good enough. I won't be making the trip with the team so I need to equip him before he goes... for those in the know or who live in that part of the world or near it, am I off base? or would "heat gear" suffice? Thanks for the input in advance.

The weather forecast for Dallas is for highs in the 70s and lows in the 50s.
    It is better to come prepared than to freeze your @$$ off on the sidelines. The 50's for a low temperature are not that bad, unless there is a lot of wind.

For standing on the sidelines, I would bring 1) a hooded sweatshirt, 2) a regular sweatshirt, and especially 3) sweat pants or warmup pants. For knocking around at night, bring a windbreaker. A track suit may be enough.

"Compression" shorts worn under the uniform shorts may be a good idea. They keep the quads, hamstrings, and groin muscles warm.

If your son needs a high tech thin "cold shirt" to play, it would be better for him to buy one in Dallas.

Heat escapes the body through three places: the top of your head, the back of your neck, and your hands.

If he is not used to 50s weather, get him the gear!

I agree with Hortical....better safe than sorry

50 with a little wind can feel like 40 degree. Yeah I remember my first college season I wasn't prepared, so I when the weather hit you better be playing all 90 minutes because as you can rotate all players in college if you spend a little time on the bench you need that warm clothes and especially if the are playing into late evenings.

Gents, Thanks very much for the comments, much appreciated! Anyway, I'm convinced... the problem is getting the "cold gear" as I won't be making the trip and they only sell "heat gear" here (I'm using the Under Armor names but I don't really care about the brand).

I guess I will rope in a family member (Paul M you reading?) to get it and courier it to the hotel where some parents I know are staying. The boys are being billeted.

After they return from Dallas the club is taking another group to Alabama the following week he is also included; if it were just the one trip I would have gone to Dallas... but he has eaten up enough expenses for the two of us, but who knows, I might just change my mind last minute, it just means breaking the piggy bank

Originally posted by Bruce View Post

Heat escapes the body through three places: the top of your head, the back of your neck, and your hands.
              ...and also the mouth.... As we see regularly on the forum

Wooooooiiiiiiiieeeee.....................too funny...(me naw seh nuttin more - gotta keep warm)

Gents, Thanks very much for the comments, much appreciated! Anyway, I'm convinced... the problem is getting the "cold gear" as I won't be making the trip and they only sell "heat gear" here (I'm using the Under Armor names but I don't really care about the brand).

I guess I will rope in a family member (Paul M you reading?) to get it and courier it to the hotel where some parents I know are staying. The boys are being billeted.

After they return from Dallas the club is taking another group to Alabama the following week he is also included; if it were just the one trip I would have gone to Dallas... but he has eaten up enough expenses for the two of us, but who knows, I might just change my mind last minute, it just means breaking the piggy bank
                  No worries Pedro. Just let me know his size etc., where to send and I can get him whatever is needed. When we were in AZ in Feb, I ran into the same problem, but we brought pretty much the gear Bruce outlined. If he has a hoodie and wears two layers, that should be fine in 50 degree weather. It is the night and early games which posed the problem for us.

Ooiieee sah...mek sure yuh go out and actually buy the clothes fi the yute and nobadda send yuh daughter's hand-me-downs. While yuh at it Uncle Paul, me a go IM yuh me address so that you can send me my new Manchester United away kit.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ooiieee sah...mek sure yuh go out and actually buy the clothes fi the yute and nobadda send yuh daughter's hand-me-downs. While yuh at it Uncle Paul, me a go IM yuh me address so that you can send me my new Manchester United away kit.
                      See your Manu** away jersey yahso...and gweh...after all the hand me down that Peter did give me as a youth...is payback time!!