The official squad release from the JFF

Stoni, you are hopelessly biased against the player. Remember when we had the must win match against Antigua and we hoped the US beat Guatemala so we could qualify for the Hex? Hue came in and made the difference with his exquisite passing game. Through his efforts, we were able to beat Antigua and qualify for the Hex, giving us the opportunity to fight for a place in Brazil next year. I cannot remember you singing any praises for him back then for his efforts. THis is a part of the reason why I say your bias really gets in the way of you seeing the benefits of this man's game to the team.

When you think about it, had it not been for Hue and his midfield "generalry", we would not be holding this discussion right now.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mi nah ask him to play that role. Jobi playing that role. Phillips holding down my left mid position and playing some defense as well on that flank.

How long yuh ah watch JA Football boss ??

Is 3 Midfield Architect Jamaica has produced in the last 18 years..

Tappa, Andy Williams and Jermaine Hue...

The position Hue would play innah midfield.. Phillips cyaan play dat role.. if you cannot see dat then we not talking the same language...
        Yuh put Andy in that mix??! Sorry, with all due respect, I could not. Too inconsistent. Didn't see Hector Wright in his best years, but wouldn't you say he was a midfield architect too?

Different time, different challenge and at the end of the day, he stuck a landing in div three playing pro ball.

Is not me put him that mix.. is di Coach dem..

Nuh Central Mid him did play ?

Jobi better than Phillips at Left Midfield... suh di ting set..

**************************Donovan Ricketts

Jermaine Taylor*******Nyron Nosworthy********Adrian Mariappa*******Lloyd Doyley

*****************Marvin Elliot*******************Rudolph Austin

*********************Jobi McNuff************Jermaine Hue

***********Garath McLeary***************Ryan Johnson
                I expect to see only 3 changes from the team that played in Mexico,or 2 changes if Jermaine Beckford is deemed not to be game ready.

Expected system: 4-4-2

---------------------------Ricketts------------------------------------

----Doyley------Nosworthy---------Mariappa---------Phillips------------

-----McCleary-------Elliott----------Austin------------McAnuff---------

-------------------------Beckford--------------Shelton---------------

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  I expect to see only 3 changes from the team that played in Mexico,or 2 changes if Jermaine Beckford is deemed not to be game ready.

Expected system: 4-4-2

---------------------------Ricketts------------------------------------

----Doyley------Nosworthy---------Mariappa---------Phillips------------

-----McCleary-------Elliott----------Austin------------McAnuff---------

-------------------------Beckford--------------Shelton---------------
                  Why not use this side:

Taylor---------Nugsy---------Mapps---------Doyley

Austin-----------------Hue--------------------Elliot

McCleary---------------Shelton---------------McAnuff

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                    Why not use this side:

Taylor---------Nugsy---------Mapps---------Doyley

Austin-----------------Hue--------------------Elliot

McCleary---------------Shelton---------------McAnuff
                    In my opinion Demar Phillips offer that balance on the left and offer an extra dimension to our attack he is the only fullback we have that plays like how a modern fullback should. Luton Shelton for me is more effective on either flank rather than the central striker as he doesn't hold up the ball well enough so if it is 4-3-3 then Beckford or Ryan Johnson would be the central striker.

If you want balance, then Hue in the middle is the way to go. We have no one in the side who can pass and pass consistently like Hue. There is no one in the side who can take a ball on the chest, turn, and make a one time defense splitting pass just where the forward needs it.

I like Phillips and he could add another dimension to the game yes, but from the standpoint that you have goalscorers like Beckford, Shelton, McCleary etc in the side, you need to balance that with someone who can be that crucial part of the supply chain. If you lack that important play-making aspect, then your side is not going to be as effective an offensive machine as it could be. That said, while Phillips can run and do his thing, he is not a Hue in terms of creating chances for our forwards.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If you want balance, then Hue in the middle is the way to go. We have no one in the side who can pass and pass consistently like Hue. There is no one in the side who can take a ball on the chest, turn, and make a one time defense splitting pass just where the forward needs it.

I like Phillips and he could add another dimension to the game yes, but from the standpoint that you have goalscorers like Beckford, Shelton, McCleary etc in the side, you need to balance that with someone who can be that crucial part of the supply chain. If you lack that important play-making aspect, then your side is not going to be as effective an offensive machine as it could be. That said, while Phillips can run and do his thing, he is not a Hue in terms of creating chances for our forwards.
                        Tilla you probably misunderstood me, or you didn't have a look at my team. I am talking about playing Phillips at left back here instead of Doyley as the Dread suggested. I agree about Hue's creativity, however to accomodate Hue they would probably have to play 3 central midfield players with Hue given a free role. You wouldn't be suggesting playing Hue at left back, are you?

I got you Dunny. Sorry, I think I was reading the lineup from Stoni and thought you were suggesting playing Phillips in midfield. No, I would not suggest playing Hue at left back.

I like Phillips as a wing back on the left. He certainly does offer the extra attacking dimension to the team when he plays.

Yes Dunny, good comments, the thing is Tappa can mix and match to his hearts delight now that he has some more tools to play with. So you really can't go wrong with Philips at left back ( I think he will start there). We could play 4-3-3, 4-5-1, or a 4-4-2 in Kingston, but Hue should be the man in the middle coordinating things. Players that should be sure starters in Kingston should be Ricketts, Nugsy, Mapps, McAnuff, McCleary, Hue, Austin, and Elliott who else you add or formation is wide open. With these players you might line up in a 4-3-3 in attack and end up with 4-5-1 in defence..so formations will be fluid depending on the flow of the game.

Dread, you left out Beckford, once Tappa watches a couple training sessions he will realize that this guy is a real sharpshooter, first touch immaculate, movement precise and confidence out of this world. Tappa will think he won the lottery!!

Wow! Can't wait to see him in training and in the match. So hard to find quality strikers these days who don't play for some La Liga side.