The official squad release from the JFF

• The official squad release from the JFF

The 25 man squad, set to take on Panama and Costa Rica was announced today. The Reggae Boyz are set to tackle Panama on March 22nd at the national stadium, before travelling to Costa Rica for a March 26 clash at the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica. Both games will be key in Jamaica’s hunt for World Cup qualification

Here are the 25 players announced for the Panama and Costa Rica games:

Goalkeepers
    Donovan Ricketts
    Dwayne Miller
    Dwayne Kerr

Defenders
    Nyron Nosworthy
    Adrian Mariappa
    Jermaine Taylor
    Lloyd Doyley
    Alvas Powell

Midfielders
    Rudolph Austin
    Jobi McNuff
    Jevaughn Watson
    Tremaine Stewart
    Andre Lewis
    Jermaine Hue
    Omar Daley
    Jermaine Johnson
    Demar Phillips
    Marvin Elliot

Forwards
    Luton Shelton
    Jermaine Beckford
    Garath McLeary
    Ryan Johnson
    Theo Robinson
    Dane Richards

"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

JeVaughn Watson has kept his place in the squad. Considering that he was brought in to replace Beckford when Beckford was injured, it would seem to make sense that he would be dropped and make way for the player once he returned. Hopefully if Watson gets game, he will now play better than he did the last time around. I would rather see Mattocks included at Watson's expense, but I guess the coach knows what he is doing.

This is a very strong squad if I may say so myself.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Intelligent thought process, I concur.

Not really a Watson fan at this point but I trust the coach made the right choice. If Mattocks want back his place he has to name it. A so it go.

Care to hazard a guess on the formation and starting eleven?

I think it will be 4 4 2 at home.

Si my side yah

**************************Donovan Ricketts

Jermaine Taylor*******Nyron Nosworthy********Adrian Mariappa*******Lloyd Doyley

*****************Marvin Elliot*******************Rudolph Austin

*********************Jobi McNuff************Jermaine Hue

***********Garath McLeary***************Ryan Johnson

Tilla if I was panama I would be attacking this formation down the right wing, I will have acres of space to play and exploit this midfield, serious weak link playing 4-4-2 with hue in the middle, no pressure no closing space just wide open spaces putting a lot of pressure on the right side defense. If I play hue (and i would not) then it would be 4-5-1 with mcanuff on left flank and mcleary on right, still weak with hue in middle but follow behind with Austin and elliott in dm as you currently have it.

As I have always said, the best defense is a potent attack. With Hue in the attack Panama would always be on the backfoot. They would not have much to be attacking as they would be getting some ball under dem skin.

**************************Donovan Ricketts

Jermaine Taylor*******Nyron Nosworthy********Adrian Mariappa*******Lloyd Doyley

*****************Marvin Elliot*******************Rudolph Austin

*********************Jobi McNuff************Jermaine Hue

***********Garath McLeary***************Ryan Johnson

Wicked side. But I suspect coach will start peel head and Shelton. It's a wonderful thing to have Elliot and Austin available as this gives Tappa some serious flexibility.

Mi Nuh know bout dat, I have only seen the boyz play as you describe about three of four times against equal or superior opposition in the last twenty five years. At dc versus usa in 2007, in France versus Japan, not sure if that even really counts, and at the last gold cup versus Honduras, I think that is it.

I think we have opposing philosophy on football, I believe in defense first and that sets the stage for the attack and you believe in offense first and I think that only works against inferior or badly organized teams.

Superior defense played by superior athletes can be developed and mastered with consistent application that can shut down virtually any offense, you cannot develop superior offense in the short to medium term, it has to be a long term development, youth level business, we have never shown an ability at any point to create an offense that understands as a team how to move the ball against equal or superior opposition and master the space and time relationship of the attack without using speed as the primary advantage, until then we must master team defense and use speed and strength to gain the advantage on the counter against good opposition.
                      Last edited by Stonigut; March 15, 2013, 09:06 PM.

Stoni, yes we differ on our philosophy when it comes to this game. Defense alone don't win games. You have to have that fulcrum in the side to make the difference offensively. With Elliot and Austin behind Hue and McAnuff, there is enough defensive "surety" there for us to afford ourselves a ball handler/playmaker. Moreover, Hue is also good in dead ball situations, so that is another plus. Let us count the positives here that he brings to the game and not dwell on the negative you constantly point out as a problem.

Anyway, as my friend from Jamaica told me, I am mad to think Hue can play at this level. If Hue can do some of what he did against that Antigua side, then we will be well positioned for the win against Panama. As I say, it is not always about playing the best defensive game if you do not have the engine room to create the opportunities for our forwards. From what we have seen, our front line need multiple opportunities to score, so having a man who can create the chances will put us in good stead for victory. I say gaan Tappa, play Hue and just tell him three words. "Guh run tings".

Alright, I hear you, but just think how many chances we created at Azteca at 7k feet playing pure d and counter, three to four excellent opportunities, look back on some of the prehex matches against lesser opponents with a more attack minded style we could hardly penetrate or move the ball in the final third, we need space and speed to attack.

Tilla this is my side, the side to glory!

Now here is a side of pure warriors!

4-5-1 can transform quickly to 4-4-2 with mcleary moving forward.

Ricketts

Taylor-Mariappa-Noseworthy-Doyley (can play lb)

Austin-Elliott

Mcleary--------------Jobi Mack------------Phillips

Johnson

I would not read too much into the chances created at the Azteca as those we got were fortuitous at best. I cannot say I recall any real organized offensive intent by the team which created those chances. I know Antigua is no Mexico, but Antigua had some good athletic players which can give any one a run for their money. Hue's offensive game made the difference in guaranteeing us a 4-1 win over them when it mattered. I hope you recall that the USA had to fight for a 2-1 victory over the same Antigua team in the previous game? The US got two late goals to claw their way to safety after being 1-0 down for the majority of the match. So do not think the Antigua side was a walkover.

look back on some of the prehex matches against lesser opponents with a more attack minded style we could hardly penetrate or move the ball in the final third, we need space and speed to attack.
                              You have to remember that this side you were speaking of had some second rate players in the team. Men like Palmer, Watson ect., were basically holding place until good players were ready. So you are not comparing apples with apples here Stoni.