Whether you saw what Bricktop saw (i.e. a second kick) or not the law (Law 12) says:
"A player, substitute or substituted player is sent off if he commits any of the following seven offences: serious foul play [+ six others]." It goes on to define serious foul play as "a tackle that endangers the safety of an opponent."
Note that nowhere in the law does it mention intent (as it does with handball). The fact of the matter is that by the book, it is a red card as kicking a man in the ribs whether you mean to or not, does "endanger the safety of [the] opponent".
See the law here, you can look it up for yourself: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/foot...ame_2012_e.pdf
And just in case unu think this is my bias (yes, I don't like Manu** and think they are the biggest tiefs in the world), my original position was that it was a bogus red card: Paul Marin nani's red card... Yesterday, 04:00 PM.
"A player, substitute or substituted player is sent off if he commits any of the following seven offences: serious foul play [+ six others]." It goes on to define serious foul play as "a tackle that endangers the safety of an opponent."
Note that nowhere in the law does it mention intent (as it does with handball). The fact of the matter is that by the book, it is a red card as kicking a man in the ribs whether you mean to or not, does "endanger the safety of [the] opponent".
See the law here, you can look it up for yourself: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/foot...ame_2012_e.pdf
And just in case unu think this is my bias (yes, I don't like Manu** and think they are the biggest tiefs in the world), my original position was that it was a bogus red card: Paul Marin nani's red card... Yesterday, 04:00 PM.