Mexicans enjoying their game now --- training session.
Mex v Jamaica
just at where yhe Mex missed a great chance and Lowe ruined a great counter-attack.
He actually shaped up to be a good defender otherwise though. I think he has potential."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Mexico is clearly the better team and is deserving of that margin of victory.
To be honest I was more worried when the team Mexico had the ball skirting outside our 18 yard box than in (our box).
Three things I saw that I appreciated,team Mexico was forced on numerous occasions to change its point of attack(changing wings), our Boyz seems to be able to get inside Mexico 18,and the overall work ethic improved significantly.
Originally posted by Muadib View PostIf yuh cyaan mek a 5 yard pass to an open man yuh not beating even Puerto Rico..
I am dead sure you will us putting passes together in that Puerto Rico match. If what I just said is correct...then the question is, what prevented us doing same in our match against Panama and Mexico?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostKarl, formation is really only the avenue to bring resources to critical mass in a particular space and time, the rest is up to commitment and resolve, of course if you have superior speed and size or skill then it makes it easier to compete. Formation is most critical when you know your weakness and make plans to address that or you really understand your opponents strength and you commit resources to blunt that, that is the importance of formation and bring pressure to bear based on that knowledge.
Playing a team that you know is good or better than you then you cannot commit to offense to win as where you are most exposed in playing such a team is in defense, thus more resources in the area of greatest need, when you are clearly the superior team then you can commit more on the attacking side.
Stoni: This is so difficult to answer but here goes - The player in the right place at the right time carrying out the correct demanded act is "it"!
If the "pre-conceived formation"...and formations are always for coaches "pre-conceived"...a wonderful concept...works as planned it means the opponents' ability to solve such a problem reflects their poor mental ability...and previous underpreparedness=inadequate teaching/poor coaching!
Coaches in real matches manage. They react to what has already occurred and do so relative to pace of high quality matches, very late. It is the player or players...it is the TEAM that can and must react in 'real-time'...and must initiate action dictated by the ebb and flow of the game. Unfortunately, coaches are not on the field during play.
I am sorry that is the best I can do. ...but then I have a teaching background and deal with imparting information (inclusive of the concepts behind the thinking on each formation) and encouraging critical thinking...hoping to instill such that the students are better able to solve problems that I can and those I cannot. My aim is to remove 'limits'. So I look at the (teaching of) game to players in like manner.
The problem I have with that separation of commiting to attack on one hand or defense on the other is: a) The player and the TEAM should act as the game demands; b) Attack and defense could be considered a side of the same coin. Since the coin is 'the coin' then commitment must as commitment goes!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."