So what do we do different today?

• So what do we do different today?

We definitely go away from 3-5-2 and go to 4-5-1, we need two hard working interceptor type defensive mids to shut down the inside lanes, we need one attacking midfielder also willing to do dirty work as well and then two fast and skillful flank mids who are also adept at defending and acting as the space shutdown valve before the left and right backs which allows them to hold shape longer and be proactive in shutting down certain space rather than be reactive to where the ball is because of no help from the mids.

Then do we have the speed and skill on the counter attack with the interceptions and loose balls that will Come if the personnel play that game to the max, we know what the Mexicans are going to do, they have studied the panama game they will seek to exploit the wings, however they will also knw that we will seek to address this issue so the plan will be seek the softness, test the strength there and rapidly seek to switch to the open space on the anticipated response, if we are in a ball chasing mode we will be killed, if we are in a space shutting mode and holding shape then we will get loose balls. They will seek to Come throug middle if wing defense is strengthened thus the need for two battle tested defensive mids as well.

We have to play Fort ball and counter attack with speed, this is our natural game with the assets we have, we just need to accept it and stop thinking about trying to be Brazil and Spain, think Germany and Italy and we can play it better with greater discipline if we use speed, skill and combativeness as the building block of our program.

Play faster!
    Move into support swifter - results more passing and at great speed, many one-twos/give and goes. Prevents opponents reading plays...and or reacting in time to plays.

Attack the ball - get there first! ...such that you decide the next move...control the ball(thus the ball's movement)!

Just do everything faster. That done fast enough, we win!

Mental ting.. if dem head on straight dem can win.. if dem get nerminous in front of di crowd.. dem lose

Dem playing as underdog so that might help dem..

If dem hold off Mexico 0-0 at Half.. it will be interesting...

Mi soon forward wid di prediction..

But Karl, we are developing the exact opposite of that, is pure ballers on the side, all offense and no defense. A magic trick, see me on offense and I disappear on defense, too much hard work that!

Whey de prediction dey Maudib, show yuh hand.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            But Karl, we are developing the exact opposite of that, is pure ballers on the side, all offense and no defense. A magic trick, see me on offense and I disappear on defense, too much hard work that!
            I think you say that to have me say the obvious...so I shall - That is the way of the modern game; all players must work FULL 100 on attack and defense!

We are missing so much of the rudiments of the game. People handle the ball as if it is a hot potato. Not very many of the players can consistently get a ball under control on the first attempt. Reminds me of Luton Shelton.

The Goalkeeper to has some of Ricketts' traits with his ball distribution. Big kick outta mi life every time. You even hear the Mexican supports anticipating the big kick each time with a wooooowhoa!!!

I wonder if these Brazilians are really helping us? I mean, I do ot think a Carl Brown would have done any worse and he would have cost much less. Maybe Luciano Gama is not quite ready for the big times as yet.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bit more than mental...obviously...unnuh have time a kill up unnuh self over Jamaican football...nothing changed in the past 15 years...and nothing will

Can't say it enough Karl and still many don't understand it.