Jamaica's Football Academy

True....but as far as high schools are concerned they have a part to play but their MISSION is NOT to produce superior football players. That is the mission of the JFF and clubs
    You could not be more wrong!
    The duty of all schools is to provide excellent instructions in each and every area.

It is tied...an integral part of introduction of a culture of excellence to the young charges.

I will not discuss here methods appropriate to each age cohort.
    ...but I will tell you that the underperformance within our schools is 'stunning'! There have been discussion on teachers - principals, heads of departments and classroom teachers forgetting the core principles and merely drifting along...to the detriment of the kids.

Specific to the Phy Ed department - What you suggest says those who staff those departments must not strive for excellence and should act in a manner consistent with conscious decision to provide...to put it mildly - less than stellar management and indeed instructions to those who they are paid to provide "best education".

It also suggests that you have a misunderstanding of role of our schools and role that should be played by those who manage/lead our schools.

It is HS alumni and community connections who fund HS sports...their focus is limited to that which exalts the school in competition....very little else. There is no incentive for them to have a national mission of football development....no way should HS ball be the lead input in football development
    Read my last sentence above.
    As fact, Alumni Associations - matters not if it is each of elementary/primary, secondary schools or our traditional (GOJ funded..e.g. GC Foster, Mico, Shortwood, Church, Sam Sharpe, etc.) alumni association never have pumped the volume funds into sports as do the GOJ/ministry of education.

It is the GOJ that provides playfields, classroooms, teachers' salaries, fund support re - cost per student in attendance and a host of other paid services. The Alumni Associations can only dream of paying costs associated with keeping the student-athlete in our schools.

----

The people who find football development difficult are average, run of the mill citizens....as well as the JFF and clubs

Jamaicans tend to like shortcuts...like English players
    Yes...but would we use many 'English players' on our U-15, U-17 and U-21/Olympic squads?

Myopia rules the day
    Aaaaah...this is so telling!

Aside: A fairly recent position on cost per annum per student can be discerned in the following...allowances would naturally be made for increase in costs since the article was published and how our sliding dollar would affect same.

http://salises.mona.uwi.edu/fifty-fi...cationinJa.pdf
    Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2013, 11:42 AM.

Dem build one Stadium up ah Sligoville tuh..

Exactly! And the two them together don't add up to a place that is being adequately utilised.

USAF, the JFF academy is really a training facility. From time to time, and not often enough, the U17s, the U20s and the senior teams would train there for two hours a day (or 4 if they had a morning session). It is not a residential facility, indeed, I understand there is no electricity in the building. So, no one stays there. Kitchen facility is not in operation.

So, is this the academy of which you speak? If this is an academy, then we already have 1,000 of them all over the island, with better playing surfaces too!

Back when I was coaching; the high schools coach would tell my players not to play on the high school team as it would just waste their time. They did play though just to mock each other and for friendly rivalry. Their real team was their club /travel team.

The difference here in the states is that the young ones are seeing quality coaches at an early age,therefore you find most of the kids here have the basics down pat. Good first touch and passing is almost second nature (on the good teams that is). Time and time again Ja keep coming up short on just the basics of the game. Ja seem to be preserving that old game from Cubillas,Eusebio pele etal days. The only thin left to see them is using 4-2-4. I think it's because of the brasilians why this doesn't happen.

Let' run to the tapes of the u20: Ja is down two, there is a breakaway. The Panamanian player has the ball at the 18. Ja players because of their athleticism and speed got their in time (2 defenders). Freeze the tape! look at the tactical error: Instead of heading for the Pana attacker. They both ran and stood inside the goal. For one: everyone and their third cousin is now onside Two: you can't use your and hands and you are vulnerable o the velocity of the ball. The keeper should have hauled one out of his house instead he went to the Pana attacker (where he can't use his hands).
            A more disciplined and astute defender would go to the attacker whilst his team mate shadowed and marked the space nearby. This gives the keeper time to set up for theangle shot. Now the defenders could eithr sheperd the attacker out of the 18 then aggressively try to get the ball or ressure him forcing the attacker to squeeze a shot at an angle. Instead the third gal came because all the Pana player had to do was shot towards the goal.

If I was an exec in th JFF I would start by making it difficult for high school players to play on the national team. If you don't show active registration with a club (playing some youth league) with verified training hours under a certified coach you will not play. This is why the JFF is in the red. Do you know how much it will now cost to correct the mistakes described above? When players reach the national level certain things should be second nature to players. The sad part about all of this is that the Panama u20 is weak team. This in turn shows you where Ja lies in the scheme of things.

L

If I was an exec in th JFF I would start by making it difficult for high school players to play on the national team. If you don't show active registration with a club (playing some youth league) with verified training hours under a certified coach you will not play. This is why the JFF is in the red. Do you know how much it will now cost to correct the mistakes described above? When players reach the national level certain things should be second nature to players. The sad part about all of this is that the Panama u20 is weak team. This in turn shows you where Ja lies in the scheme of things.

L
              1. High school players - Place the majority of our national U-17, U-20 players are found.

So the JFF should tell students - "forget school teams"?

2. Why would the JFF not work with the schools on improvement on instructions?

Are you recommending the ignoring of the vast majority of our best talents?

Consider this, how many of our academic best talents are in our country now digging yam holes? ...athletes?
              Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2013, 01:54 PM.

Suh den dem nuh build nuh Academy yet !!

Geez..

Karl what is talent karl? There has to be fundamental changes in order for the youth game in Ja to be improved. My suggestion is not radical but step in the right direction.

=Karl;409611]You could not be more wrong!
                    The duty of all schools is to provide excellent instructions in each and every area.

It is tied...an integral part of introduction of a culture of excellence to the young charges.
                    Well I can't speak for you but at the school I attended the mission was not and still is not to produce national level footballers. If yutes want that they do extra lessons...at their clubs. We can't all be Jawges

The mission of secondary schools is to provide solid education and exposure to character building activity....including football.
                    I will not discuss here methods appropriate to each age cohort.
                    ...but I will tell you that the underperformance within our schools is 'stunning'! There have been discussion on teachers - principals, heads of departments and classroom teachers forgetting the core principles and merely drifting along...to the detriment of the kids.
                    Here you are correct.... and also inadvertently buttressing my argument. There is underperformance in schools...driven by poor management and poor resources. Both will take cash to fix. Absent the cash schools have to prioritize and focus on their basic mission...providing a solid education.

Jamaica's per capita education spend is among the lowest in the Caribbean... I'm pretty sure wi bulb Haiti though For example I hear at JC the GOJ doesn't cover the entire electric bill all the time...it has to supplemented by "donations"

In that environment sporting excellence should be an entirely secondary objective... i.e. if the decision-making is rational
                    Specific to the Phy Ed department - What you suggest says those who staff those departments must not strive for excellence and should act in a manner consistent with conscious decision to provide...to put it mildly - less than stellar management and indeed instructions to those who they are paid to provide "best education".

It also suggests that you have a misunderstanding of role of our schools and role that should be played by those who manage/lead our schools.
                    Wrong

There is a huge difference between "striving for excellence" and having your mission be the development of national level players....the former is orders of magnitude lesser than the latter

Given that all high schools operate at a deficit and have to beg to meet even basic needs ...it seems to me your're living in Fantasy Land

Read my last sentence above.
                    As fact, Alumni Associations - matters not if it is each of elementary/primary, secondary schools or our traditional (GOJ funded..e.g. GC Foster, Mico, Shortwood, Church, Sam Sharpe, etc.) alumni association never have pumped the volume funds into sports as do the GOJ/ministry of education.

It is the GOJ that provides playfields, classroooms, teachers' salaries, fund support re - cost per student in attendance and a host of other paid services. The Alumni Associations can only dream of paying costs associated with keeping the student-athlete in our schools.

----
                    LOL

Karl, the GOJ provides only a pittance for HS sports....yuh nuh know dat? I read recently where C-Bar spent US$80K on dem 2012 Champs team... guess how much came from the Govt??
                    Money for sports comes mainly from alumni, community, parents and sponsors...so those are the sources who you would be looking to fund your HS sporting academies

Again.. on this funding issue you're living in a fantasy of your own making

Yes...but would we use many 'English players' on our U-15, U-17 and U-21/Olympic squads?

What do you think?

Well I can't speak for you but at the school I attended the mission was not and still is not to produce national level footballers. If yutes want that they do extra lessons...at their clubs. We can't all be Jawges

The mission of secondary schools is to provide solid education and exposure to character building activity....including football.

Here you are correct.... and also inadvertently buttressing my argument. There is underperformance in schools...driven by poor management and poor resources. Both will take cash to fix. Absent the cash schools have to prioritize and focus on their basic mission...providing a solid education.

Jamaica's per capita education spend is among the lowest in the Caribbean... I'm pretty sure wi bulb Haiti though For example I hear at JC the GOJ doesn't cover the entire electric bill all the time...it has to supplemented by "donations"

In that environment sporting excellence should be an entirely secondary objective... i.e. if the decision-making is rational

Wrong

There is a huge difference between "striving for excellence" and having your mission be the development of national level players....the former is orders of magnitude lesser than the latter

Given that all high schools operate at a deficit and have to beg to meet even basic needs ...it seems to me your're living in Fantasy Land

LOL

Karl, the GOJ provides only a pittance for HS sports....yuh nuh know dat? I read recently where C-Bar spent US$80K on dem 2012 Champs team... guess how much came from the Govt??
                      Money for sports comes mainly from alumni, community, parents and sponsors...so those are the sources who you would be looking to fund your HS sporting academies

Again.. on this funding issue you're living in a fantasy of your own making

What do you think?
                      I shall get back to you...currently busy.
                      It however did a quick read and noticed your progress down a path of 'wonderland'.

It is funny how you have turned around my "can only dream"=living in a dreamland into your stated -"you're living in a fantasy of your own making" Funny bad!

LOL...respek due tuh yuh big man

Geezee king Jawge...such a long post and you did not mention Brazil.

I am going to re-read your post (again).

1. High school players - Place the majority of our national U-17, U-20 players are found.

So the JFF should tell students - "forget school teams"?
                            Quite a ridiculous position fi reel

Karl what is talent.
                              Quantity of ability "to do'!
                              The greater the ability "to do"=the greater the affinity for... greater the talent level!!!

Hope that helps!
                              Nuh badda seh wi player dem nuh ave talent...mi tink a di talent level fi teach dat dem teacha dem ave dat did reach dem!!!

One attibute teachers must have is great powers of observation...but if the subject knowledge had is weak...then weak teaching is the best can occur.

Never forget that the teaching can be even worse than merely weak...as the teacher may also be also lacking in other needed areas!!!

E.g. Can mar in different ways -- Teach nonsense with absolute conviction!! --or-- Presents the little known in manner that convinces the 'student' "teacha nuh kno wah im a seh"=presents lesson in uncovincing manner... --- and on and on!