Jamaica's Football Academy

• Jamaica's Football Academy

This academy is intended to improve the technical qualities and tactical awareness of your players, especially the youth players, BUT who will be teaching these youngsters???
    It is clear that too often when you compete against even "top" level CONCACAF teams there is a big difference technically and tactically, which means that your youth players are not being developed properly - Raw talent can get you but so far. So before the doors to that academy is opened, the JFF must find qualified and proven coaches/instructors to develop these youngsters and educate your most promising coaches.

You have coaches/instructors/managers like Lenny Taylor and Lorne Donaldson who are qualified and proven (especially at the youth level), who also know the Jamaican culture. Why not use the resources that are available to you???

CRAZY - When you keep doing the same thing, but expecting a different outcome.

Come on!!! It's time you get serious about developing your youth players.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
    This academy is intended to improve the technical qualities and tactical awareness of your players, especially the youth players, BUT who will be teaching these youngsters???
    It is clear that too often when you compete against even "top" level CONCACAF teams there is a big difference technically and tactically, which means that your youth players are not being developed properly - Raw talent can get you but so far. So before the doors to that academy is opened, the JFF must find qualified and proven coaches/instructors to develop these youngsters and educate your most promising coaches.

You have coaches/instructors/managers like Lenny Taylor and Lorne Donaldson who are qualified and proven (especially at the youth level), who also know the Jamaican culture. Why not use the resources that are available to you???

That's too difficult and also totally unnecessary

England has an inexhaustible supply of technically sound professional footballers with incidental Jamaican connections

Like any business...why make a product from scratch when it's so easy to buy the finished article for a pittance?

What academy? We don't have such an academy.

Originally posted by USAF View Post

USAF, Bang on!

Two things: Jamaica is the sum of her parts (yaaaaard & farin)! ...

On yaard players we must concentrate on improving teaching standards and unearthing best talents from every nook adn cranny of the island.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...379#post409379
        ..and...

There is no substitute for our schools! If it were so we would not have schools!

That's too difficult and also totally unnecessary

England has an inexhaustible supply of technically sound professional footballers with incidental Jamaican connections

Like any business...why make a product from scratch when it's so easy to buy the finished article for a pittance?
          i) ...btw -
          ..buy the finished article for a pittance?
          And?

-----------------------

ii) Why? = Same reason we teach (put our youngsters in our schools)! We are 'talking' lives here!

What academy? We don't have such an academy.
            You went to Munro. What type of academy was it?
            Chemistry?
            Mathematics?
            English Language?...

Preparation for life?
            Preparation to later be proficient in football?
            Preparation to later become a MD?
            Preparation to later become a professional footballer?

...one step on the ladder to further self-improvement...to development of full potential?

...or are you saying it is no academy?

I will just say this: If our schools are not continuously actively seeking to achieve excellence...then fire all those with the task so to do and replace them with others who SHALL!

Was USAF talking about our high school academies or academies like an IMG Academy?

I assumed the latter, ergo...

Academy!
                ...in the context of REGGAE TEAMs of high quality being produced!

i) ...btw -

And?

-----------------------

ii) Why? = Same reason we teach (put our youngsters in our schools)! We are 'talking' lives here!
                  Karl...I don't understand what you're driving at

Weren't they building a football academy at UWI Mona?

It is built. And we all know this! So, I did not understand why all of a sudden high school got into this discussion.

Just saying...Corporations institute prudent purchasing for specific reasons...
                        ...and...the reason(s) may 'fall into'/assist realization of one or more of a number targeted purposes...

----

And?

...we prepare our kids - to acquire certain competence (competencies) appropriate to their age-group.

----------

Agree with you 100% that some find that too difficult. The strange thing those who find it too difficult are usually those who had that early 'headstart' or can afford to pay for their kids getting that 'headstart'.

Specific to football our leaders care not too hoots about increasing opportunities for all but on-the-field results that can be used to strut around and 'beat chest'! They fail to realise that providing the opportunities for all...providing that excellent system such that the many can realise 'the good life' would provide even more reasons they can engage in that 'beat chest' strut. ...but nuh suh di ole a wi polly-ti-shan/leada dem gwan?
                        Last edited by Karl; February 26, 2013, 04:38 PM.

ah true ?!!

When dat build !?

High school?
                            Any word from the JFF on staffing???

=Karl;409502]Just saying...Corporations institute prudent purchasing for specific reasons...
                              ...and...the reason(s) may 'fall into'/assist realization of one or more of a number targeted purposes...
                              True....but as far as high schools are concerned they have a part to play but their MISSION is NOT to produce superior football players. That is the mission of the JFF and clubs

It is HS alumni and community connections who fund HS sports...their focus is limited to that which exalts the school in competition....very little else. There is no incentive for them to have a national mission of football development....no way should HS ball be the lead input in football development
                              ----
                              And?

...we prepare our kids - to acquire certain competence (competencies) appropriate to their age-group.

Agree with you 100% that some find that too difficult. The strange thing those who find it too difficult are usually those who had that early 'headstart' or can afford to pay for their kids getting that 'headstart'.
                              The people who find football development difficult are average, run of the mill citizens....as well as the JFF and clubs

Jamaicans tend to like shortcuts...like English players

Specific to football our leaders care not too hoots about increasing opportunities for all but on-the-field results that can be used to strut around and 'beat chest'! They fail to realise that providing the opportunities for all...providing that excellent system such that the many can realise 'the good life' would provide even more reasons they can engage in that 'beat chest' strut. ...but nuh suh di ole a wi polly-ti-shan/leada dem gwan?
                              Yes.

Myopia rules the day
                              Last edited by Don1; February 27, 2013, 01:04 AM.