Poor attendance!

• Poor attendance!

Watching the final Sunday nite between Boys Town and PMU, I was astonished at the turnout for the game. What is the capacity of the HV Mini Stadium? About 5000? What was the official attendance of the game? A final such as that should be fulling the national stadium 35,000 seater, yet the HVMS was not even half full?

If the attendance is so poor, what is being done to pull out more fans? Yes, I know there are half time entertainment. Obviously that didn't work on Sunday. Is it that the quality of the product is too poor? Face facts, that game was boring. Is it because some people cannot tek the ganga smoke inna dem face? Is it because people feel that because of the crime situation, its better to stay away? Is it because things get too hard fi the people dem that dem simply cyaan afford fi guh to a football game? Mi nuh waan guh too far, cause I don't want to be accused of talking politics.

I read where over 45,000 fans were on hand to witness Honduras qualifying for the U17 world cup. Jamaica will be hosting the other group. I wonder how much of the fans will go out to support the team?

The recent Jamaica Panama game was poorly attended too. Far cry from the days when we used to beat teams like Bulgaria on sunday afternons to crowds at least 25K spectators. I guess football in Jamaica today is far cry from what it used to be.

Bora must be disappointed with what he's seen so far.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

I often say that 'Jamaicans prefer cricket over football'--and "them" think a lie me atell.

I recall the first time I posted this opinion and certain folk naily kill mi.

Well, there were some world cup games in Jamaica and the attendance wasn't all that impressive either.

Yes...but that was in the period when Simoes just arrived here...we the fans were about to be taken on a new way of thinking by the prof....I'm disappointed that we couldnt build on it.
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

No RF!

That response was towards HL's cricket comment.

Additionally (on the poor attendance), what got to me was how benign the crowd behaved. No concerted cheering...no nothing.

Last week Forfar jokingly commented about the $500.00 ticket price!!
              Tilla 'T' tried to justify the ok-ness of the cost by doing the conversion $US:$Ja.

I think cost could have been a factor Tilla 'T' .

On second thought: since I believe that Jamaicans prefer Cricket over football--then if the NPL final game was free, it's possible that Harbor View stadium could still be empty. chusssss mi.

I rememberd I used to quiz Courtney of attendance on those games.
                He could not give a reasonable answer for the cause of the poor attendance..

I think one of the factor is these teams are community based. Before muting the game on Sunday, I heard the commentator making a comment about the community. Alot of these communities are poor and have high unemployment therefore how are they going to find money to pay $250 or $500 per person to watch a game?

I've said time and again that the entire football structure needs revamping. Until then, these teams will continue to lose alot of money.

But there was always an issue of resources. I think the national program will do well with more consistency of games to wet the appetite of the fans. Now with more venues also move some games around to see if we can generate interest.

Beg to disagree, there are regional cricket competitions, its attendance is far from impressive. Besides(regarding attendance) football has outdone cricket every echelon.. in the schools.I feel the lack of a central venue is the problem. As it is now, the fan base is clearly defined and limited.

Blessed

HL just trying to be controversial. When was the last time attended a cricket match in Jamaica? When was the last time he attended a football match in Jamaica?

Cho! Hasn't he been following the Cricket World Cup? Yuh think FIFA WC could be going on in the WI and yuh don't have more locals going to matches?

Additionally (on the poor attendance), what got to me was how benign the crowd behaved. No concerted cheering...no nothing.

Last week Forfar jokingly commented about the $500.00 ticket price!!
                          Tilla 'T' tried to justify the ok-ness of the cost by doing the conversion $US:$Ja.

I think cost could have been a factor Tilla 'T' .

On second thought: since I believe that Jamaicans prefer Cricket over football--then if the NPL final game was free, it's possible that Harbor View stadium could still be empty. chusssss mi.
                          $500 is a lot of money esp. if your side is not involved. Portmore has no spectators to speak about and Boys Town's spectators don't venture far from home, esp. to HV. Stadium would have been different.

HL, local football has never had "concerted cheering", whatever that means.
                          "...since I believe that Jamaicans prefer Cricket over football..." -

That is it Mosiah, for a big final like that, all fans should be eager to see that game. Both Boys Town and ... well you said PMU nuh have that much spectators, along with neutrals.

I was never a fan of Blackstars and Brazil but that didn't stop me from going to their games.

True. I didn't go myself but that's because I had some bizniz in the country to take care of.

Lazie, times hard! (As if I need to tell u that.) I cannot afford to go to many games, so imagine those diehards from our ghetto communities. Di remittance money cyaan duh it yet!