Let's hope Mexico gets overconfident

• Let's hope Mexico gets overconfident

Over-confidence contributed to the the senior teams' downfall against Jamaica.

The U-20 will be seeking revenge. They do not respect Jamaica as good footballers--(and they are right!).

But a U-20 team that plays disciplined...maintain their shape can surprise Mexico.

If Jamaica scores 1st. they will get the Mexican supporters on their side.

Was it overconfidence that contributed to Barca losing to Chelsea..?
    Reggaeboyz has a world class central defense pair, of the two defenses,at the end of the day,Mexico's is the one that looked suspect.
    We discussed looong before the match the hardship Mexico is going to have with our central defenders,what Mexico's confidence has to do with that?
    If the senior Mexico team did not respect Jamaica as good footballers before the game, wouldn't it be prudent of them to change their costly view after the outcome of the game?
    In the game against Panama,we were lacking in so many fundamental areas that I am sure it had to be the team at its worst.
    Sure playing against Mexico is a tough tough game but it likely was inevitable if they had ambition of reaching the finals, nothing changed really.
    Last edited by Rockman; February 25, 2013, 09:36 PM.

What has changed is we have been exposed. We are not doing enough scouting and analysis, we are not adapting our game plan to the change in opponent, we think we are something that we are not.

My father used to accuse me of setting up for a forehand smash in table tennis without understanding what was being served on the plate, so he would continually jam me on the backhand side which eventually led to me developing a nice flick, but that took some time to happen.

Same thing here these guys decide to play 3-5-2 without understanding what the opponent brought to the table and it seems in the pr versus pan match they served up a lot of wing play switching play from one side to the next spreading the defense wide and exploiting the lags in adapting to the play. Well we decide to play 3-5-2 against that offense and all I managed to see was the first five to ten mins of the second half and two times in that stretch the pa right winger was let loose, when I say loose I mean the ball was played to him in open space and he is running down the wing with not one defender within 15 yards, those two should have resulted in goals but they did not. These guys cannot have a clue to have created such a tactical mismatch through the entire game, now if your mids were supposed to provide some defense on the wings I did not see that at all. They were out hustled all game, somebody told these boys that they didn't really have to play that match that their superior skill and style would automatically win the game thus we pick up an easy four and it could have been more!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        somebody told these boys that they didn't really have to play that match that their superior skill and style would automatically win the game thus we pick up an easy four and it could have been more!
        Really ??
        and who would tell them that Stoni?

talk sense nuh man...cho!!

Twan, who kidding who, the collective "we" idolize the offensive player who can thread passes through the eye of a needle, our selection process on the local side produces players that seem to play the closest approximation to what somebody think is beautiful ball, thus we pick teams that look like the one that got whipped by 4-0.

Is not my team that first off there is no way in hell I would play 3-5-2 in such a critical match, what was it that the coaches saw that mek dem tink that 3-5-2 going to work, what kind of talent you think you have to play 3-5-2 pure joke! Who a talk foolishness me or that horrible display of ineptness at every level yuh can think of from that team. This is serious business and dem ah tek it fI joke!

Stoni, in the 20 minutes I saw we did not have a breakdown because *Mexcio was doing 'wing play'. Our breakdown was we consistently gave *Mexico the ball...including on 'winable balls' either 'arriving late' or saying to the *Mexican player 'after you'!!!

PS: *Mexico did go down the wing but we gave them the ball. The defenders were there to stop their players. Our defenders did not! The formation had nothing to do with inept players!

As I did not see the goals: Could you please give me your impression on how each was 'crafted' and finished?

Thanks!

*Guess I have Mexico on my mind. That should have been PANAMA!
            Last edited by Karl; February 26, 2013, 01:29 PM.

Found it ---

http://www.concacaf.com/page/Under20...086798,00.html

Had been looking for Mexico instead of Panama!

Over-confidence contributed to the the senior teams' downfall against Jamaica.

The U-20 will be seeking revenge. They do not respect Jamaica as good footballers--(and they are right!).

But a U-20 team that plays disciplined...maintain their shape can surprise Mexico.

If Jamaica scores 1st. they will get the Mexican supporters on their side.
                Opponent-overconfidence is the best strategy for our current U20 jokers?. Doesn't sound like that will be a good game-plan.

Maybe overconfidence on the part of Mexico Doc.

Just searching for reasons that could motivate the Younger BoyZ.

This could possibly the biggest crowd most of them have played before. Hope they don't get stage fright. Still, they need to perform as they never have before.