• Essien also a Special One

Wednesday 11 Apr 2007

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho paid tribute to matchwinner Michael Essien after a last-gasp victory at Valencia sealed a Champions League semi-final spot.

MICHAEL ESSIEN

The versatile Ghana international raided forward from right-back to drive home a dramatic clincher in the Mestalla, having been moved from his more customary midfield berth at half-time.

MICHAEL ESSIEN Mourinho said after the win: "We made a tactical change by putting Essien at right-back.

"He is offensive and powerful in that position and Joe Cole and Andriy Shevchenko helped us to create more two-on-one situations.

"Essien is a special player. He is an athlete. He can run forever. He could play a game every day. He is a superb athlete.

"When we lost him a month ago it was a big, big loss, but he was ready to come back for this crucial game.

"I know he is suspended for the next game but this one was the crucial one. The next one is not crucial."

Essien, who shook off a knee injury to feature, will miss the first leg of the semi-final as a result of being booked just three minutes into the game in Spain.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Essien a big balla. Cyaan deny that. Him mek a stupid move choosing the Wannabees of Stamford Bridge over Royalty of Manchester.

I guess not many brave enough fi say it ... Valencia's keeper shouldn't have allowed that to pass him.

Nothing would've changed in that regard had Gallas remained. Obviously Arsenal had the better of the deal. How can Chelsea be a better team without Gallas(think the special role Essien was asked to play in the game)?
      Watered down team being called special by Mourinho. He some how thinks Chelsea will get one of the acclaimed titles.

Blessed
      Last edited by Rockman; April 12, 2007, 10:16 AM.