Wha kinda offside goal dat?
Yes that should have ben offside. The goal scorer was in an offside position when the play started."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Not offside!
The play started with alleged offside player in an offside position, but when the ball was headed down to him, it appears he was in line with his own player.
Result - no offside, and GOAL!
It is a play I see many teams practicing. They leave an attacker deep in the offside position and a careless defender would leave that man alone, thinking he is harmless. Only thing, that player does not get the ball directly, but is the receiver of the second ball and by that time he has come back onside. Our defender who thought the player was harmless now finds himself scrambling to mark the player but, alas, too late!
The player was in an offside position when the play started. The question to be asked if he was involved in the play when he was in the offside position. I would say yes, he was as Jamaican defenders would now have to start paying him attention.
You are correct though in saying he was not offside when he received the ball. But that is not where he was offside. Ref should have called it earlier. I can see the referee saying that although he was offside, he was not involved in the play at the time.
I would judge him as being offside from the previous play, but I can understand the referee's position as well."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
It is never about "when the play started", at least not by the new rules which are not really that new anymore. When does the play actual begin?!?
He could not have been called offside because the ball clearly did not go to him, not even close.
It's a smart play that I see being used by premiership teams and other big sides all the while.
See the highlights here. I am convinced it is not an offside goal.
http://www.concacaf.com/page/Under20...,12813,00.html
Mosiah, you need to read the FIFA Laws Of The Game more closely.
Here is an excerpt from the Offside Rule FIFA Laws Of The Game 2012:
Offside position
It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.
A player is in an offside position if:
• he is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the
second-last opponent
A player is not in an offside position if:
• he is in his own half of the field of play
or
• he is level with the second-last opponent or
• he is level with the last two opponents
Offence
A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball
touches or is played by one of his team, he is, in the opinion of the referee,
involved in active play by:
• interfering with play or
• interfering with an opponent or
• gaining an advantage by being in that position
No offence
There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from:
• a goal kick
• a throw-in
• a corner kick
When the ball was played, the player interfering with play and gaining an unfair advantage as he was in an offside position and was actively involved in the play.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Well, I disagree, for this simple reason:
When the ball was played, the player interfering with play and gaining an unfair advantage as he was in an offside position and was actively involved in the play.Last edited by Mosiah; February 23, 2013, 10:59 PM.
Well, that is how I remember it."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
The man was in an offside position when the ball was played. The only thng to save him would be a not interfering with play ruling, BUT he was always in a central goal scoring position. The linesman's flag should be up intercede.
OFFSIDE!
Originally posted by Willi View PostThe man was in an offside position when the ball was played.
Originally posted by Willi View PostThe only thng to save him would be a not interfering with play ruling, BUT he was always in a central goal scoring position.