Ryan Johnson is an asset for the 'Boyz.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
    Last time I checked it was Hue that helped us get into the Hex.
    People seem to forget that it was Hue that made the difference with his exuisite passing game. Some of the fans clain Hue lacks speed, but there are other facets of his game which would help the team. When you think about it, some of the game's greatest play-makers were not speedballs. Men like Juan Roman Riquelme, Glen Hoddle, Socrates, Zinedine Zidane, Zico, Michel Platini, Asvaldo Ardilles and more were not known for their speed. They however could dictate the pace of a game with their vision, passing and their creative abilities.

I see the Reggae Boyz being a more potent force with a player like Hue in the midst. Hue can be the fulcrum around which attacks are built. So unless we plan to play the other WCQ being always on the back foot, then don't include a man like Hue in the middle. He can make the difference between our attacking players getting good and consistent service on which out attackers can create goals. The best form of defense for me is a potent attack. A Hue in the middle will make the difference. . .
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

People seem to forget that it was Hue that made the difference with his exuisite passing game. Some of the fans clain Hue lacks speed, but there are other facets of his game which would help the team. When you think about it, some of the game's greatest play-makers were not speedballs. Men like Juan Roman Riquelme, Glen Hoddle, Socrates, Zinedine Zidane, Zico, Michel Platini, Asvaldo Ardilles and more were not known for their speed. They however could dictate the pace of a game with their vision, passing and their creative abilities.

I see the Reggae Boyz being a more potent force with a player like Hue in the midst. Hue can be the fulcrum around which attacks are built. So unless we plan to play the other WCQ being always on the back foot, then don't include a man like Hue in the middle. He can make the difference between our attacking players getting good and consistent service on which out attackers can create goals. The best form of defense for me is a potent attack. A Hue in the middle will make the difference. . .
      I agree 100 % especially when we play at the office. Right now Tappa has two very good box to box central mids that will allow Hue to express himself. I always wonder why people complain about Hue's so called defensive liability but neglect to complain about some our midfielders offensive ineptitude. Right now we still don't have someone to replace Hue's attacking service, so he should be part of the team.

...yes, against Puerto Rico!
        Not the TEAMs in our Hex...and certainly not against any higher quality TEAM!

Don't listen to Karl USAF. Tappa is a better student of the game and no doubt sees the value Hue can add to the team. It does not mean he will be given only 30 minutes when the game is dying either.

For obvious reasons, he did not decide to play Hue in the Mexico match. THings will be different at The Office.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Don't listen to Karl USAF. Tappa is a better student of the game and no doubt sees the value Hue can add to the team. It does not mean he will be given only 30 minutes when the game is dying either.

For obvious reasons, he did not decide to play Hue in the Mexico match. THings will be different at The Office.
            Tappa is 'my player' - (not the player of my dreams/imagination - fast across ground and swift of mind, top of world reflexes, great jumping ability, physically and mentally strong, explosive starter as he get going, tactically superb, technically sublime and outstanding TEAM...a Pele like player ...a Beckenbauer like player both with midfielder passing skills of a Cesc Fabregas) - he is quickly moving to become 'my coach'...Hue deserves to be in the squad as he saved our hides in the previous round.

...as we move forward 'cameo appearances' is where he can do us most good.

You will see. As I said, Tappa knows ball.

Your argument will be valid when you can show me the payer in the Rboyz squad who is of the Socrates, zico, zidane et al mold.

...and in the last World Cup the Italian genius, the aging Andrea Pirlo.
                  But you have left out 2 very important facts i) They were all faster than Hue and, ii) on mobility, 'sliding into space', defensive support all 'miles' superior to Hue!

Putting Hue in the same category of the named play-makers would be disingenuous. However, I am certain you were saying Hue is our approximate player.

I agree! ...but even so as we advance we are stepping up in quality teams...play. The game is being played at 'warp speed' when compared to the playing days of most of the players named.

In any case, those players named were constantly moving during their games and had around them players of higher quality that provided greater skill at "winning back the ball".

My point is a simple one: Hue does not give us that constant movement those greats provided and also has the added disadvantage of ball winners not in the class of the support the named greats had.

Context - Hue is presence in our squad: Hue's lack of pace and lower technical skills (than the greats named) means in todays high quality games and with his teammates similar lack of technical skills...unfortunately... mean (in my mind) we, our REGGAE BOYZ, cannot afford him save short cameos.

...additionally, it could be argued that all the greats named provided defensive support to his team.

I see the Reggae Boyz being a more potent force with a player like Hue in the midst. Hue can be the fulcrum around which attacks are built. So unless we plan to play the other WCso Q being always on the back foot, then don't include a man like Hue in the middle. He can make the difference between our attacking players getting good and consistent service on which out attackers can create goals. The best form of defense for me is a potent attack. A Hue in the middle will make the difference. . .
                  Gotta respect your views!
                  Respek!

BTW - Consider our possession rate in Mexico...and granted that terrible possession rate, how many chances did our Reggae Boyz create?

...and how many were great chances?

Would that suggest that at 'sea-level' our REGGAE BOYZ would play superior game and create even more excellent chances?

Would a Hue hurt us in terms of tempo and defense?

Just saying...

Originally posted by Mitty View Post
                    He lacks a striker's instinct, poor at running off the ball, thinks too much when presented with goal scoring opportunities, and always seem like he is a step late. However, he holds on to the ball well and bring other players into the game.

Cannot play him as a lone strikers, his skill set doesnt fit that role.
                    Poor running off the ball?
                    Remember you are talking Ryan Johnson.

I can't believe this (Karl ah school ah man). Well said Karl.It's amazing how ten people watch the same game but maybe two or four saw the same thing.

You will see. As I said, Tappa knows ball.
                        Tappa remind me of some of our old school ballers that used to immerse themselves completely in the strategy and tactics behind the game. He is a young coach that will make mistakes, but he will learn and improve.

I did not give you Pirlo because I was not trying to name every good playmaker in the list I submitted. I only gave you a few, so me saying "men like, etc, etc".
                          Putting Hue in the same category of the named play-makers would be disingenuous. However, I am certain you were saying Hue is our approximate player.
                          I was not putting Hue in the same category as the men I have named, only to show that speed was not their greatest asset either. It is surprising to see you behaving like Jawge now.

Hey, so based on your argument, because we do not have any talent like a Neamar, Ronaldinho, Robinho, Kaka, Ramirez etc, etc, we should not play the best of what we have?

Karl, least you forget, it is a lot of hours you and I have spent discussing Jamaica's football. I can remember when Tappa was not really "cutting it" but was being propped up as the best attacking midfielder we had, your argument was that his age should not matter and until we can find a player who is better than Tappa, then Tappa should play. I remember my frustration where in many games, we were like playing with 10 men as Tappa's position just didn't or couldn't count, but we persevered with him.

Anyway, I am not a fanatic where I will defend Hue at all costs. When I see he can't cut it, I will be the first to call him out just as I did back in the day with Tappa. Right now I am saying he should be given a chance as he has shown when given the chance that he can make a difference. I just hope you can put your aside bias and agree that the man deserves his chance.

Lastly, stop arguing like Jawge. I expect better than that from you.

I did not give you Pirlo because I was not trying to name every good playmaker in the list I submitted. I only gave you a few, so me saying "men like, etc, etc".

I was not putting Hue in the same category as the men I have named, only to show that speed was not their greatest assets either. It is surprising to see you behaving like Jawge now.
                            I was agreeing with you on the names...just gave you a current name to add to your list!

The below is what I said:

..and the immediate below does not apply! --->

Hey, so based on your argument, because we do not have any talent like a Neamar, Ronaldinho, Robinho, Kaka, Ramirez etc, etc, we should not play the best of what we have?
                            Bwoy this immediately following... ---->

Karl, least you forget, it is a lot of hours you and I have spent discussing Jamaica's football. I can remember when Tappa was not really "cutting it" but was being propped up as the best attacking midfielder we had, your argument was that his age should not matter and until we can find a player who is better than Tappa, then Tappa should play. I remember my frustration where in many games, we were like playing with 10 men as Tappa's position just didn't or couldn't count, but we persevered with him.
                            ...elsewhere I said Hue deserves his place in the squad as his passing saved our bacon in the previous round.

Your above "Tappa" argument is a red herring and even if it is not, it does not help your current support for Hue as the reference infers "Tappa" was "not cutting it" and still kept in the squad and played therefore a Hue "not cutting it" should be kept.

However, I still say Tappa deserved his place and was falsely labelled as 'cutting in and out of games" when as fact he was being by-passed by teammates with among other things numerous high ball passing over his head...but worse, in looking for points to disagree on you, in your haste, did see that I had said

...as we advance we are stepping up in quality teams...[sic: and quality] play. The game is being played at 'warp speed' when compared to the playing days of most of the players named.

In any case, those players named were constantly moving during their games and had around them players of higher quality that provided greater skill at "winning back the ball".

My point is a simple one: Hue does not give us that constant movement those greats provided and also has the added disadvantage of ball winners not in the class of the support the named greats had.

Context - Hue is presence in our squad: Hue's lack of pace and lower technical skills (than the greats named) means in todays high quality games and with his teammates similar lack of technical skills...unfortunately... mean (in my mind) we, our REGGAE BOYZ, cannot afford him save short cameos.

...additionally, it could be argued that all the greats named provided defensive support to his team.

Your below point is taken:

Anyway, I am not a fanatic where I will defend Hue at all costs. When I see he can't cut it, I will be the first to call him out just as I did back in the day with Tappa. Right now I am saying he should be given a chance as he has shown when given the chance that he can make a difference. I just hope you can put your aside bias and agree that the man deserves his chance.

Lastly, stop arguing like Jawge. I expect better than that from you.
                            I have no bias against Hue as fact I tried to get him an opportunity in a certain professional league. Who knows what may develop?

...and lastly, Jawge and I sometimes agree...but sometimes we do not!

Cho man!
                            Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2013, 09:19 PM.

Gotta respect your views!
                              Respek!

BTW - Consider our possession rate in Mexico...and granted that terrible possession rate, how many chances did our Reggae Boyz create?

...and how many were great chances?

Just saying...
                              We did not go to Mexico to take the game to Mexico. It was more a rather conservative approach where we wanted to minimize energy spent, while closing the lanes and forcing the Mexicans to play the ball in the middle where we could shut them down. Once we did this, we hoped we could counter once we got the ball.

We got three or four chances where we should have scored. However, because we were not committed to winning, we just did not expect those chances and thus wasted them.

Would that suggest that at 'sea-level' our REGGAE BOYZ would play superior game and create even more excellent chances?
                              Your logic about creating more chances does not necessarily follow. The Boyz would not be deterred by the effects of high altitude when they are at sea level in the Office. But you are also missing an important piece of the puzzle here. Athletes typically train at altitude so they can perform better when they are at sea level. If we are to take that into consideration, the Mexicans may be able to perform even better with the abundance of oxygen at sea level.

All I am saying is, what worked at the Azteca is not going to work at The Office. We have to come organized and prepared to work and let the ball do work. We have to be able to maintain possession better than we did a the Azteca as it is only when you can maintain possession that you can dictate the flow of the game.

If you watch the match against Mexico again, we spent a good 80% of the match just reacting to the Mexicans. We had a few chances yes, but even the football Gods realized that we should not get the advantage of scoring against the Mexicans as we just did not deserve victory.

Would a Hue hurt us in terms of tempo and defense?
                              I do not think he would hurt us, but more help the team on the attacking front. Sometimes the best defense is having a potent offense. Hue would make up for his defensive frailties in receiving the ball, turning on a dime and making some intelligent pin point passes to our attackers in good positions. This along with out superior speed and athletic ability is the way to beat the Mexicans. To think that only building a defensive team to hunker down and survive another Mexican onslaught, is akin to courting disaster. Tappa is a young coach, but he is much smarter than that.

Mi nah carry nor bring Tilla. When Tilla can show that Hue is on the same level technically as Tappa then he can come with his argument about age.