• The 2nd coming of a Lowe

Like father, like son

BY HOWARD WALKER Reporting from Puebla, Mexico
    Thursday, February 21, 2013

"Play simple and if you get a chance to go up for corners, make use of it."

According to Damion Lowe, scorer of Jamaica's second goal against Puerto Rico in their opening game of the CONCACAF Under-20 World Cup Championship in Puebla, Mexico on Tuesday evening, that was the advice of his father, former Reggae Boy Onandi Lowe.

Towering at 6ft 4 inches, young Lowe, playing at centre half, did just that, scoring in the 62nd minute to allay Jamaica's fears.

With the scores tied at 1-1, Jamaica got a corner and the young Lowe ventured forward. But, of course, the Puerto Rican defenders weren't aware of his father's advice, and he was left unmarked to ghost in and sidefoot home.

With his first competitive goal for Jamaica, Damion is some distance off his father's tally of 27 goals, but he was ecstatic when asked how he felt becoming a father-son combination to score for their country.

"Great, exceptionally well. It's a great, great feeling," he emphasised, while outlining his father's influence on his football career.

"Like 100 per cent. We have a close relationship," revealed Damion. But just like his father, Damion is versatile and can play several positions.

As a youngster at Vaz Prep School, he utilised his height advantage in banging in 27 goals and leading his school
    to victory.

Bu one day while at Camperdown High School, and playing in the Under-14 competition, a teammate got injured and he deputised that day in defence and has not moved since.
    "I don't know, it's just natural. One day in Under-14 at Camperdown, a player got injured and the coach said my daddy used to play centre back, so I have the potential and from there on I continue right through," said Lowe.

"I prefer centre back because it is my strongest point and I see the game more and if I make a mistake I can recover," he added.

After starring for Camperdown High in the Manning Cup, the young Harbour View player took up a scholarship at the University of Hartford last year.

"Life is good there, they take care of us and I feel welcomed. The environment is very good. The transition was pretty hard in food, culture, time span, but after a month or two, you get to understand the system and adapt to certain stuff in and around the environment," he noted.

But young Damion is aware of the inevitable comparisons with his father, the high expectations and enormous pressure to live up to.

"I don't call it pressure, I just call it high expectation like people are looking for great things from me. I don't think anyone is going to pressure me if I am not as successful as he was," said Lowe.

He continued: "I don't think I will get any critics, but I really want to keep those high expectations and I am pushing forward to make things happen and to become successful and even more than him."

Lowe, who plays for Reading United in the Premier Development League (PDL), also represents Harbour View, and he is hoping to secure a professional contract in the future.

He is a big fan of both Manchester United and Real Madrid, and he cites Brazilian defender Lucio, Italian Giorgio Chiellini and Harbour View's Christopher Harvey as his favourite players.

Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2013, 09:18 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It's genetic.
    His father is one of the most dynamic players ever,he could have had a professional career playing both positions and be the best at each.
    He will not have the same problems Nandi had,his father will make sure that does not happen.

His father too often played anything but simple. It is amazing that he has given his son this great piece of advice.

Need it be repeating - Football is a game where doing the sensible thing well is all it takes. Work hard, run fast, play TEAM, have good touch - (technical skills - What we in Jamaica identify as control...but we make the mistake of leaving out accurate passing. We do not consider passing control...and that is strange as the entire game is about having the ball do our wish) - tactical awareness. Football...good football...is doing the simple things.

Big-up O'Nandi!
      FORWARD to young Mr. Damion Lowe!!!

He will not have the same problems Nandi had,his father will make sure that does not happen.

You say it as a joke...but I had a very long involved talk with 'Nandi when I was a part of TSA...and he was smart, grounded and focused on where he wanted to take his son. He was being bombarded with 'sweet talk' from many quarters inside and outside of the island...he would not budge 1 inch to those outside pressures.

I found myself agreeing to & with his vision for his son. If his son has even 75% of his father's skills when 'Nandi was at the height of his 'powers' and takes in what 'Nandi was then saying...I believe he shall be successful beyond his wildest dreams.

Then got the feeling he was seen by 'Nandi as among other things, 'Nandi's second chance.

Lack of skill was not his father's downfall...

Agreed!
              I was convinced his father could have been our 1st world great! ...but bwoy....(shake 'ead emoticon)

His father too often played anything but simple. It is amazing that he has given his son this great piece of advice.
                Nandi tended to want to carry the Reggae Boyz on his own. He most times would ignore playing team and try to bulldoze his way through opposing defense, ignoring the simple pass to a teammate nearby. I am sure this caused a lot of frustration for his teammates and coaches alike.

Hopefully, he can point out his mistakes to young Lowe.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nandi tended to want to carry the Reggae Boyz on his own. He most times would ignore playing team and try to bulldoze his way through opposing defense, ignoring the simple pass to a teammate nearby. I am sure this caused a lot of frustration for his teammates and coaches alike.

Hopefully, he can point out his mistakes to young Lowe.
                  ...or im waus jus ha-ro-gant?! ...or both?
                  Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2013, 12:03 PM.

... his coach really said this?

"One day in Under-14 at Camperdown, a player got injured and the coach said my daddy used to play centre back, so I have the potential"

@ Tilla....! Nandi was the best one touch baller Jamaica every produced as a striker , Nandi was mandated to play as a lone striker because we didnt have a midfield , hoof ball was the tactical level at that time , to the point where a certain Brazilan coach saw it best to keep him in defence for his great 1st touch in booting the ball up field.

If yuh want to see what was Nandi, watch Jamaica vs Uraquay where he destroyed them with his aerial prowess and 1 to 2 skill with JJ to split them wide open.Another Brazilian unleashed him on Concacaf where we made it to the 2nd round , this present round and we failed to qualify coming down the wire in our last 2 games.Yes he carried us , he was mandated and directed to do so under superior tactical (coach) directives , as Clovis said when asked why do you play him , he scores !

How can he not have been our greatest when for 4 years Rene had him as a defender or banned from the RBZC squad,yet his scoring stats is barely eclipsed by Shelton at his late age , remember Nandi retired at 2 years minus shelton present age.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And we wonder why our local players are useless...we have useless teachers...

I would take that comment with a grain of salt. I am sure the coach evaluated all his options and settled on young Lowe as the best. The justification given the young lad was probably more to motivate him than anything else.

if him get di genes full hundred di yout ah guh can play some ball. If wi did hab any strikah like Nana yah now wi good to go.

You get release on good behavior