• Luis Suarez: Steven Gerrard puts Liverpool striker in world'

20 February 2013 Last updated at 19:00 GMT

Luis Suarez: Steven Gerrard puts Liverpool striker in world's best

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard believes "only one or two" players in world football have performed better than Luis Suarez in recent months.
    The Uruguay striker, 26, has scored 23 goals for the Reds this term, including 18 in the Premier League.

Gerrard told BBC Radio Merseyside: "For me he's been player of the year, across this league and a lot more leagues.

"There are probably only one or two people who you could say have been better than him this season."
    Fifa world team of the year 2012
    • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
    • Dani Alves (Barcelona)
    • Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
    • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
    • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
    • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
    • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
    • Xavi (Barcelona)
    • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
    • Radamel Falcao (Atletico Madrid)
    • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

England skipper Gerrard added: "How much better can he get? I'm not sure, but it's a scary thought if he does improve on how he's been performing this season."

Only Manchester United's Robin van Persie (19) has scored more goals in the top flight this season than Suarez, who cost Liverpool £22.7m in January 2011.

Suarez was among 15 forward players named on the shortlist for the Fifa FIFPro World XI in 2012 but failed to make the final team, which did not include any representatives from the Premier League.

Liverpool face Zenit St Petersburg in the second leg of their Europa League tie at Anfield on Thursday.

They trail 2-0 from the first game in Russia but Gerrard, so often the talisman on big European nights, is hopeful that Suarez can produce "a bit of magic" to see Liverpool through to the last 16.

"You remember top players for games like this - important goals and big performances that turn situations in your favour," said Gerrard.

"We're all there behind him as well - he's not on his own - but I'd love nothing better than for this game to be decided on a bit of magic or brilliance from him. With the season he's had, I think he does deserve it."

The Europa League is Liverpool's only hope of silverware this season, having seen their reign as League Cup holders ended by Swansea and then being knocked out of the FA Cup by League One side Oldham.

"We need the fans in the stadium early. We need them to pump the atmosphere up as early as they can, to get our players going when we're warming up, to get us fired up to go right from the off and to try and intimidate their players.

"There's lots of top players quoted throughout the world saying how difficult it is to play at Anfield when the crowd makes that sort of a noise.

That's what we want. That's what we need."

Steven Gerrard on the role of the Anfield crowd during Thursday's Europa League tie against Zenit St Petersburg

They lie seventh in the Premier League table, nine points behind fourth-placed Tottenham, with Gerrard citing individual errors as one of the main factors in the club's inconsistency.

"It's the reason why we're fighting for one cup at the moment and it's the reason why we're sitting where we are in the league," said the 32-year-old midfielder.

"We're playing fantastic football and we're performing really well, but it seems as if we're taking two or three steps forward and then one back.

That's because of individual errors throughout the team and I think we've all been guilty of that at various stages of the season.

"There have been performances that have been up there with the best I've experienced as a Liverpool player.

"We've blown teams away and we've murdered teams in possession. If they were boxing matches, the towel would have gone in before the final whistle.

"But the frustrating thing is that on the back of those fantastic performances, this team hasn't turned up or we've made stupid schoolboy errors which have led to bad results.

"They're the performances we need to eradicate if we're going to become a top side and mix it with the best, both domestically and in Europe."

To hear an extended interview with Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard, visit bbc.co.uk/radiomerseyside

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21521903

Maybe a Liverpool fan will force me change my opinion by using good reasoning but Gerrard seems not to remember playing alongside Michael"addicted to scoring"Owen for both Liverpool and England.
    Yes, I am alluding to his prior statement in which he said Suarez was the best player he ever had as a teammate.

The difference between Michael Owen and Luis Suarez could be - Michael was jet-heeled...while Luis Suarez is miles slower...but in terms of technical skills can do it all!

The objective is to score goals, Owen was indeed great at that.
        Skills is useful in maintaining the ball and advancing to go goal, Owen was extremely effective at doing exactly that.
        Remarkable goals? Owen has scored a few of those.
        His career came crashing down because of injuries,he was really a remarkable player,in my opinion the BEST underachiever Gerrard has ever played alongside...

The objective is to score goals, Owen was indeed great at that.
          Skills is useful in maintaining the ball and advancing to go goal, Owen was extremely effective at doing exactly that.
          Remarkable goals? Owen has scored a few of those.
          His career came crashing down because of injuries,he was really a remarkable player,in my opinion the BEST underachiever Gerrard has ever played alongside...
          Skill includes passing!...and good passing is absolutely essential. It is an indispensible skill! You cannot score goals without having that skill. You cannot be valuable...you are (the player is) worth exactly nothing...if you lack good passing skill.

Michael Owen was great at passing into goal!

Good morning Karl.
            I would argue the midfielder-"under achiever"-Gerrard wasn't making a case for Suarez based on his passing abilities(he would have to do the same for most of his teammates).
            It is true Suarez WILL find you with the ball,it is just true advancing the ball to goal is ideally done with stringing together a fews passes,what is not true is Owen was one dimensional...,or(regarding passing) has to be as good or better than Suarez in order to been seen by Gerrard as the best striker he has played alongside.

Good morning Karl.
              I would argue the midfielder-"under achiever"-Gerrard wasn't making a case for Suarez based on his passing abilities(he would have to do the same for most of his teammates).
              It is true Suarez WILL find you with the ball,it is just true advancing the ball to goal is ideally done with stringing together a fews passes,what is not true is Owen was one dimensional...,or(regarding passing) has to be as good or better than Suarez in order to been seen by Gerrard as the best striker he has played alongside.
              Good morning, sir.
              Michael Owen - had a lot of 'supplied set-ups'. He was a great run on and pass=shoot guy! ...he is still a great predator (check his scoring record in these his waning years). I am not knocking "The Boy Wonder". Could never do that I am a fan - Just check this site's archives and put in his name or "The Boy Wonder" - ...but in today's top teams where each player has to do it all he would not be considered in the class of Suarez.

I dare you to select a top current striker who does not work hard consistently on both sides of the ball - i.e. on attack and defense?

The BoyUs, GUNNERS, Chelseas, ManCitys...Argentina, Germany, England, Holland, Spain...do not want the slackers...or attack only players. It would mean playing 1 short on the critical area of defense...and that equals consistent loses to TOP TEAMS.

Aside: That is why I am always pushing TEAM and against the crazy thought of our REGGAE BOYZ including a player who gives nothing on defense. Beating the CFU bottom of the barrel squads we can afford to play 1 short on defense...but at even this 2nd tier HEX level we cannot. ...we should not be thinking of the highest level if our attitude is going to the World Cup with plan to play 1 short on defense. 1 short and we shall be 'murdered'. What is the point of visiting at the World Cup Finals to be 'murdered'? What is the point of seeking to play top teams to be 'murdered'? ...makes no sense!

NB: Teams we gave a good run for the money in 1998 - Japan and Croatia - all put out TEAMs where each and every player works hard on both sides of the ball.

Just looking on from the outside should teach us that we must teach our youth...select only players who do that work...and follow on through our clubs and national teams those types. Create that player culture...
              Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2013, 11:37 AM.

Fifa world team of the year 2012
                • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
                • Dani Alves (Barcelona)
                • Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
                • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
                • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
                • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
                • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
                • Xavi (Barcelona)
                • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
                • Radamel Falcao (Atletico Madrid)
                • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
                This selection continues to confound me. No player outside La Liga, no Neymar, no RVP, no Rooney, no Zlatan, no Bale, no Ribery etc. etc. and not one African player...Wow!

...only all play in Spain

Muntari and Prince show dem yessiday doh...LOL!!!

That was a well played match by ACM.
                      Wonder what the return will be like?
                      Can't miss match!

This selection continues to confound me. No player outside La Liga, no Neymar, no RVP, no Rooney, no Zlatan, no Bale, no Ribery etc. etc. and not one African player...Wow!
                        I don't know if you're serious, but the first time I saw that 11, I figured Zlatan was omitted because he didn't play in Spain. Yesterday I was surprised the ref didn't disallow Milan's first goal.

I am serious. And that first goal could easily have been disallowed. The law has to be changed to remove "intent" for handballs. It should be super simple - ball touch hand, handball (only exception is to cover your seed, and you better be holding on tight).

Rocky, it's simple... when Gerrard said whatever he said about Michael Owen he hadn't yet played with Suarez.