Lets see;

Toure left, VErmalen came in. Furthermore Toure had fell down the pecking order.

Ade left, RVP stepped up.
    Eboue, was never that good in the first place. Cry when Sagna gone.
    Fab and Nasri insisted on leaving.

Look at the players Wenger brought in. Carzola, that Rednapp think is the player of the season, Arteta and the French forward. What people must be upset about is why Walcott is being used as a striker, instead of a winger where he is more effective. He cannot win headers nor can he take down the ball with defenders on his back. The Frenchman can do that. Walcott needs to be on the winger.
    It better you tell dem Lazie, because if i do, them gonna say i am just trying to cover up for Wenger. Arsenal main problem at the moment is they are playing with fear and a lack of confidence, and there are certain players hiding, the problems at Arsenal can be sorted by winning games. I noticed Paul mentioned about not replacing these players with big money signing, however that haven't been the Wenger way all these players that left the club weren't big money signing in the first place. Arsenal's biggest money signing is still Arshavin and he has been one of the most disappointing.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
      It better you tell dem Lazie, because if i do, them gonna say i am just trying to cover up for Wenger. Arsenal main problem at the moment is they are playing with fear and a lack of confidence, and there are certain players hiding, the problems at Arsenal can be sorted by winning games. I noticed Paul mentioned about not replacing these players with big money signing, however that haven't been the Wenger way all these players that left the club weren't big money signing in the first place. Arsenal's biggest money signing is still Arshavin and he has been one of the most disappointing.
      Dunny - that's true - Wenger created these players and they owe it to him that they are considered stars...however, after the buss-arse at Manu, what did Wenger do? He ran out and bought some experience...but the experience he brought in was not comparable to what he had lost imo.

He has a model that calls for "creating stars" not "buying stars", but that model is not going to get you trophies in today's day and age. You need a balance between that and top class experience, which unfortunately, will cost you a few shillings.

That said, he is still to my mind the top manager in the Prem, and the only manager who understands the economics required for long term sustainability. The problem is your fan base are too dyam stupid to recognize that. My *guess* is that Arsenal (if they continue using this model) will still be around in the top flight 100 years from now when the other siliver-seekering clubs will have been long crushed by unsustainable debt.

Wenger made a few mistakes. He should have bought in Samba and Shawcross from Stoke City and it would be a different tune right now. He could have added a Center mid too.

Arsenal scored enough goal this season to be in the top three. Defense have faltered on too many occasions against big, and quick technical forwards.

Yes, Song was a big loss as well...as I told Lazie, they haven't brought in the kind of quality they lost, it is very straight forward.
          ...and yu tellin' mi that yu xpect Lazie to understand that!!?

The lack of confidence is that there is no one there who has won anything and although they know they are good, they have. Lathing to show for it! And the. They see. Nasri, Fabregas and now RVP about to win something IMMEDIATELY upon leaving

Quality, perhaps but not the confidence or experience

My take is that you need a defensive leader to start the ball arolling. When you see man a hit in brick way, it is a lot more encouraging to go forward.

Quality, perhaps but not the confidence or experience
                  Mmmm!! Mertarsacker 80 international caps for Germany, Podolski 100+ international caps for Germany, Corzola almost 50 caps for Spain, Giroud french international and French League champion last season, Vermalaen former Ajax capt and Dutch league winner and seasoned Belgian international, Kosielny French international, Theo Walcott seasoned English International, Thomas Rosicky Czech Republic captain with over 60 caps, Bacary Sagna seasoned French International, Jack Wilshere one of the best young players in Europe and England International..............oh please!!

As an arsenal team wha have they accomplished to be proud of?!

And if you are correct, why do ALL those players look so short on confidence?

The lack of confidence is that there is no one there who has won anything and although they know they are good, they have. Lathing to show for it! And the. They see. Nasri, Fabregas and now RVP about to win something IMMEDIATELY upon leaving
                      No one has won anything? ...or is it: no one has won anything at Arsenal?

Wenger made a few mistakes. He should have bought in Samba and Shawcross from Stoke City and it would be a different tune right now. He could have added a Center mid too.

Arsenal scored enough goal this season to be in the top three. Defense have faltered on too many occasions against big, and quick technical forwards.
                        You are forgetting we have multiple goal wins...and together many draws and loses where 1 goal would have been welcomed!

RESULTS!

http://www.arsenal.com/fixtures/first-team/results

How we would have loved a goal...1 deggeh-deggeh goal in the FA CUP match against Blackburn?

As an arsenal team wha have they accomplished to be proud of?!

And if you are correct, why do ALL those players look so short on confidence?
                          That is the thing Gamma, trust me the quality is there, however the negativity around the place is making things difficult. What they need to do now is focus on getting into the top 4 this season and then start afresh with a couple more new additions for next season. These Arsenal fans need to stop following this media frenzy and get behind the team.

They too often just a step slower than Bayern. ...and that step slower is often all it takes to not be a winner!

It is hell at the top! I hope that the least we do in this competition is win the return. We showed we can play with and even get the better of this Bayern team. Forget the 'talking heads' - It could have been 5 or whatever...the scoreline flattered Bayern.

Karl if you can't see that a little better defense would have put you straight in third spot you are certainly not looking.

I agree that the defense can and should be performing better...but if we were scoring proportionate to chances we are creating...then the defense woes we have would hardly matter. It would be regularly 3 - 5 goals for per game.
                                Last edited by Karl; February 20, 2013, 08:45 PM.