• Mexico v The Reggae Boyz in the Azteca - Some stats

1. As per the stats as carried on the broadcast:
    Possession @ 20th minute: Mexico 67% - Reggae Boyz 33%

Possession @ end of 1st half: Mexico 71% - Reggae Boyz 29%

My impression: Appeared that %age possession increased even further in favour of Mexico as the match progressed from start of the 2nd half through to the final whistle.

As I saw it -
    1. Incursions into Penalty-Area (inclusive of balls over hit that went beyond Penalty-Area):

1st half -
    Mexico in Jamaica's Penalty-Area: 28
    Jamaica in Mexico's Penalty-Area: 9

2nd half:
    Mexico in Jamaica's Penalty-Area: 32
    Jamaica in Mexico's Penalty-Area: 15

--
    2. 'keeper Donovan Ricketts excellent saves:
    14 min - Shot taken from approximately 19 yards

15 min - Hard Shot approx. 12 yards out taken low by Ricketts' left near post

64 min - Point blank from Chicharito within GOAL-AREA 4 yards out.

92 min (2nd min of time added) - Point blank from Chicharito deep within the PENALTY-AREA approx. 8 - 9 yards out.

-----

3. Great Jamaica scoring chances:
    1st HALF -
    8th minute
    #10 Jobi McAnuff - Cleverly got in front of his marker and hit the upright from 12 yards;

#10 Jobi McAnuff - Rebound from upright fell into his path 6 yards from goal. Hit to Mexican goalkeeper.

24th min
    Opens Mexico's defense with a 6 pass sequence. The 6th pass just fails to link with Ryan Johnson all alone at the top of the Mexican Penalty-Area.

29th min
    #17 Richard Austin - Left foot shot from 10 yards. Tipped for a corner.

2nd HALF -
    54th min
    #22 Garath Mcleary fails to put his boot on a beautiful ball across the GOAL-AREA sent in by #10 Jobi McAnuff. It was end of 4 pass move from deep on the right that was switched/worked to #10 Jobi McAnuff on the left.

68th min
    #9 Ryan Johnson - Steals ball...then one-on-one with Mexican 'keeper. Passes straight into the arms of the keeper.

76th min
    #21 Theo Robinson - Receives through pass from #9 Ryan Johnson.
    #21 Theo Robinson one-on-one with Mexico's 'keeper. From within the GOAL-AREA...3 yards out Theo shoots into the legs of the 'keeper.

4. Match Card
    http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/prelimi...974/index.html
    Last edited by Karl; February 17, 2013, 02:10 PM.

The big disparity regarding % of possession isn't of great concern to me;the keeper aimlessly kicking the ball out proved to be costly, we lost possession,had to wait to regain possession, and apparently that invariably ended up the task of our defenders(deduced from the stats).
    Two things I saw the players doing that I appreciated;they all were quick to close down players(that is why Mexico kept the ball moving) and they were decent the few times they had possession.
    Having said that I can't understand how Mexico had so many possessions in our 18 yard box.
    Last edited by Rockman; February 15, 2013, 09:48 PM.

Mexico possesion in our 18 came from them individually running into the box ,hardly a pass was made in the 18 probably 3 the entire games,which tells me they were locked down and reduced to trying to square it in from the wings,where we had the height advantage.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The big disparity regarding % of possession isn't of great concern to me;the keeper aimlessly kicking the ball out proved to be costly, we lost possession,and had to wait to regain possession and apparently that invariable ended up the task of our defenders(deduced from the stats).
        Rockman, you know ball. I have been saying it all along, those big kicks did not really help us as a team. They only serve to gift possession to the Mexicans each time to start their attack.

We have to make sure we do not try such tactics against Panama, or else we are going to get killed.

That said, I am done with this discussion.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl: When you watch, please count for us how many times the Mexicans won the ball from the big kicks of Ricketts for me?

Thanks in advance.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl: When you watch, please count for us how many times the Mexicans won the ball from the big kicks of Ricketts for me?

Thanks in advance.
            Here you go!
            Goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts' big kicks.
            1st HALF -
            2nd min: Straight down field to Mexican defender. ...who loses ball to Reggae Boyz by heading into touch. Reggae Boyz throw.

3rd min: Johnson muscled away in left Mexican PENALTY-AREA. Mex's ball!!!!! Foul was called on Johnson.

6th min: Into touch approx. halfway in Mex's half. Ball to Mex.

7th min: To #22 McCleary. Approx 30 yards in Mex half on right...defender wins ball but heads it into touch. Reggae Boyz throw.

11 min: Straight down field. Mex defender wins ball approx 30 yards from Mex goal.

21 min: Long kick left deep in Mex's half. Mex wins ball.

24 min: Deep in Mex's half into touch. Mex's throw-in.

30th min: Deep in Mex's half. Mex defender wins ball.

37th min: Long...out on left in Mex's half. Mex's ball - Throw-in!

39th min: Long...Mex defender wins ball...but heads straight to Reggae Boyz. ...who passes back to Ricketts.

39th min: Long kick finally finds a Reggae Boyz - 2 passes made then back to Mex.

43rd min: Long kick...Mex wins ball.

45th min: Long kick...Reggae Boyz receives ball...headS on for #10...ball ends up with Mex's 'keeper.

47th min: Long kick...bounces off either attacker or defender (not sure who last touched the ball as both players went up for it...), in any case, it ends up going to Mex's 'keeper.

14 LONG KICKS - 2 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

2nd HALF -
            49th min: Long kick...straight to Mex.

52nd min: Long kick into touch on left halfway in Mex's half. Mex's throw-in.

52nd min: Long kick...finds #9 Reggae Boyz Ryan Johnson.

56th min: Long kick...deep into Mex's half...goes into touch Mex's ball.

58th min: Long kick...one bounce into Mex's PENALTY-AREA. Confusion among Mex defenders. 'keeper comes and runs under ball...defender heads towards goal...but easily 'mops up' as only 1 Reggae Boyz in Mex's PENALTY-AREA.

65th min: Long ball...straight to Mex 'keeper.

71st min: Clears to Mex 'keeper during run of play. Mex ball.

74th min: Again straight to Mex's 'keeper.

76th min: Straight to Mex defender.

77th min: Long kick...challenge - attacker and defender go up...ball from Reggae Boy's head to Mex.

84th min: Attacker and Defender go up...looks like REGGAE BOYZ

89th min: Long kick...REGGAE BOYZ wins ball.

93rd min: Long ball...Mex defender wins.

95th min: Long...behind for Mex goal-kick.

14 LONG KICKS - 4 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

TOTAL: 28 LONG KICKS - 6 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

Hope this is not Ricketts' strategy going forward. More TEAM...nuff-nuff more TEAM please. It is hard to say even with the high altitude a better distribution strategy would not have been the better way to go...but result speaks; first point taken by our REGGAE BOYZ in Mexico's Azteca.

Last edited by Karl; February 16, 2013, 12:24 AM.

Karl, there is no getting around it, those wild kicks by our impressive keeper was costly,calculate the minutes Mexico kept possession after gifted it by the otherwise and overall stellar keeper.

Rockman: I think the 'likle' possession stats tell a 'story'!
                No need to go into greater breakdown of possession.

We are all agreed that passing the ball to TEAMmates is the way to go. Whether Ricketts kicks or throws or heads the ball out he is passing....and as he move forward he should do so as often as it makes sense so to do.

...and that should be just about 99.99+% of the time!

What matters is taking advantage of those school boy scoring opportunities. Lack of composure in front of goal.

Here you go!
                    Goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts' big kicks.
                    1st HALF -
                    2nd min: Straight down field to Mexican defender. ...who loses ball to Reggae Boyz by heading into touch. Reggae Boyz throw.

3rd min: Johnson muscled away in left Mexican PENALTY-AREA. Mex's ball!!!!! Foul was called on Johnson.

6th min: Into touch approx. halfway in Mex's half. Ball to Mex.

7th min: To #22 McCleary. Approx 30 yards in Mex half on right...defender wins ball but heads it into touch. Reggae Boyz throw.

11 min: Straight down field. Mex defender wins ball approx 30 yards from Mex goal.

21 min: Long kick left deep in Mex's half. Mex wins ball.

24 min: Deep in Mex's half into touch. Mex's throw-in.

30th min: Deep in Mex's half. Mex defender wins ball.

37th min: Long...out on left in Mex's half. Mex's ball - Throw-in!

39th min: Long...Mex defender wins ball...but heads straight to Reggae Boyz. ...who passes back to Ricketts.

39th min: Long kick finally finds a Reggae Boyz - 2 passes made then back to Mex.

43rd min: Long kick...Mex wins ball.

45th min: Long kick...Reggae Boyz receives ball...headS on for #10...ball ends up with Mex's 'keeper.

47th min: Long kick...bounces off either attacker or defender (not sure who last touched the ball as both players went up for it...), in any case, it ends up going to Mex's 'keeper.

14 LONG KICKS - 2 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

2nd HALF -
                    49th min: Long kick...straight to Mex.

52nd min: Long kick into touch on left halfway in Mex's half. Mex's throw-in.

52nd min: Long kick...finds #9 Reggae Boyz Ryan Johnson.

56th min: Long kick...deep into Mex's half...goes into touch Mex's ball.

58th min: Long kick...one bounce into Mex's PENALTY-AREA. Confusion among Mex defenders. 'keeper comes and runs under ball...defender heads towards goal...but easily 'mops up' as only 1 Reggae Boyz in Mex's PENALTY-AREA.

65th min: Long ball...straight to Mex 'keeper.

71st min: Clears to Mex 'keeper during run of play. Mex ball.

74th min: Again straight to Mex's 'keeper.

76th min: Straight to Mex defender.

77th min: Long kick...challenge - attacker and defender go up...ball from Reggae Boy's head to Mex.

84th min: Attacker and Defender go up...looks like REGGAE BOYZ

89th min: Long kick...REGGAE BOYZ wins ball.

93rd min: Long ball...Mex defender wins.

95th min: Long...behind for Mex goal-kick.

14 LONG KICKS - 4 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

TOTAL: 28 LONG KICKS - 6 only goes directly to one of Ricketts' TEAMmates.

Hope this is not Ricketts' strategy going forward. More TEAM...nuff-nuff more TEAM please. It is hard to say even with the high altitude a better distribution strategy would not have been the better way to go...but result speaks; first point taken by our REGGAE BOYZ in Mexico's Azteca.
                    ...geezaz krise...KARL? yuh ok?

Yup!
                      ...but what lead you to ask?

Having said that I can't understand how Mexico had so many possessions in our 18 yard box.
                        Give us a little on your thinking?

Just saying the Mexicans movement and passing, passing and movement...for 80+% - 90% of their play was exemplary....if you add that to %age possession it stands to reason they would be in our Penalty-Area or thereabouts a lot!

Thanks Karl for doing such an in-depth analysis,pretty sure such a thorough one has not been equaled anywhere(newspaper,JFF etc).
                          Suh again, BIG thanks Sir.

Welcome, boss.
                            Aside: Just to state that from time to time in the past - certainly from Tappa's playing days - some members of Massive have put out stats on some aspect(s) of games.

We also used to keep up-to-date with some info on matches on the main site. Pity we have let that go. Tilla was the person doing that tremendous work.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              What matters is taking advantage of those school boy scoring opportunities. Lack of composure in front of goal.
                              Yup!
                              ...I am with you on thinking our 'strikers' were not as calm and deliberate as they could have been.