• Where Are Liverpool Going?

Where Are Liverpool Going?

• By Paul Tomkins, Free

Posted on February 12th, 2013
      Posted by by Paul Tomkins
      Comments

Tags

Don't want ads ? Subscribe to remove them. Only £3.50 a month.
      By Paul Tomkins.
      Right now, your guess is as good as mine as to where this Liverpool side is headed. And judging by the people I hear from, Brendan Rodgers is either a dreadful charlatan or a future great. Take your pick.

Last week I wrote a piece detailing the pros and cons of Rodgers thus far, and someone told me to get off the fence and say what I really thought; completely missing the point that I don’t know what to think. Right now there seems to be such an equal mix of good and bad, in terms of performances, purchases and results, that they cancel each other out; the net result being confusion and ambivalence (at least in my case).
      Rodgers rightly points to the players who are now playing well under him: Suarez, Henderson (lately), Downing (lately), Enrique (before his injury), Johnson and Gerrard. Meanwhile, Daniel Sturridge has been his one clear success in the transfer market. It’s perhaps no coincidence that these are all attacking players; even the full-backs are quasi-wingers.
      Some might argue that Jamie Carragher is playing well of late, but only because the form of Martin Skrtel and Sebastian Coates has nosedived to the point where they are almost persona non grata, and while Daniel Agger remains great on the ball, off the ball his form has dipped markedly. Carragher has started the last three games, and defended with aggression and his trademark clever reading of the game, but the Reds have still conceded two goals each time. He reminds me of Stephane Henchoz between 2002 and 2004: brilliant defending the box, but too eager to retreat there. Henchoz was great at throwing himself in the way of shots, but Benítez instantly despatched him for the (then) pacier Carragher, who, by defending higher up, reduced the need to block shots.
      Also, Pepe Reina – another ‘defensive’ player – is having his worst season at the club, although his form had been dipping for a while. However, Skrtel and Agger were by most neutral accounts the best centre-back pairing in the league last season.
      Is it a coincidence that three centre-backs have been poor under Rodgers? And the one defensive-midfielder, Lucas Leiva, hasn’t looked his best other than in two or three games (although after almost 18 months out, the manager is right to say that it’ll be next season before the Brazilian is firing on all cylinders).
      By all accounts Rodgers works mostly on possession and attacking in training, and it might explain why on 14 of the 17 occasions when a goal has been conceded a second or third has followed. There was something of a similar trend at Swansea last season, so is it fair to say that the manager brought this with him? If he’s largely rectified the Reds’ inability to score in home games – at least until last night – then the flip side is this defensive shortcoming which is undoing all the good work.
      On the one hand it seems churlish to moan about attacking football when that’s what we all want to see; but on the other, it needs some form of balance to prove effective. Balance can be beautiful, too.
      Spookily, this is probably the least-balanced Man United side ever, and yet they are walking the league; but most of the time, teams that can’t defend (or don’t protect their defence, which is another matter entirely) will not end up as champions. (You can have the best centre-backs around, but if you have the other eight outfield players upfield, they’ll look ropey when four or five opponents break at them.)
      And Liverpool will probably never be able to afford a forward line-up like Van Persie, Rooney, Hernandez and Wellbeck, plus the litany of wingers and attacking midfielders they possess. (And crucially, United have that winning mentality ingrained after decades of success; so long as the entire team doesn’t change overnight – or the manager – new players can slip into this groove, even if bought from Wigan or Everton, where they never got near a trophy.)
      Rodgers is picking up the disparate threads of several years of managerial turnovers, and perfection cannot be expected. But equally, he had enough quality leftover from Benítez and Dalglish (with Hodgson’s mistakes finally eradicated when Joe Cole was sold), and has had enough money to spend, to fashion a team that should be better than 9th right now. I think that is undeniable.
      The XIs Rodgers fields look better on paper than the league position suggests. His team play a brand of football that looks better than the league position suggests. The side and the squad cost more than the league position suggests. And yet the Reds still haven’t beaten a team in the current top 10, and currently sit below West Brom and Swansea, in mid-table. It’s not all Rodgers’ fault; but surely some of the buck stops with him?
      So far, Rodgers has spent £53m on players, when taking into account Nuri Sahin’s loan fee. Of that money, only £12m (Sturridge) is adding anything to the team lately; £41m (roughly 80%) sits on the bench. Of course, Philippe Coutinhoonly arrived last week, so it’s too early to say whether or not he’s a first XI player or another squad option
      A net spend of £40m isn’t too high (although it is fairly sizeable for one season, unless you are one of the top three). Of course, it’s not Rodgers’ fault that Kuyt, Maxi and Bellamyonly brought peanuts into the club’s coffers last summer; three very good players left, with the savings in wages helpful, but a lack of transfer fees damages Rodgers’ net spend figures. However, net spend is not an issue here; the problem is arguably the positionsof players Rodgers has bought, and more pertinently, the fact that they’re not in the team. Long-term, that may change. But for this season, they’ve not added enough.
      While the age profile has been sensible, an issue seems to be that of the seven players signed, not one is in any way defensive.
      And of the seven signed, how many were actually needed?
      Sturridge was definitely needed – and needed last summer, when he was available. Borini, as another striker, was needed, although perhaps a better alternative might have been sought. (I remain a fan of the Italian, but he’s got a lot to prove.) Yesil, as a youngster, wasn’t needed, but for £1m, made sense; no arguments there. Assaidi was supposedly a signing recommended by the technical committee, and therefore Rodgers is only partly accountable there. But were Joe Allen, Nuri Sahin and Philippe Countinho actually required?
      Two central midfielders were brought in last summer, and yet they both performed below the standards Jordan Henderson has been setting of late; while I was never a big fan of Henderson on the right, whenever he played centrally last season he looked a quality act (and I’m on record as saying so). With Lucas returning from injury, Jonjo Shelvey featuring more than many might have expected, and Steven Gerrard only ever playing in central midfield, a large chunk of the budget went on that area. And while I’m excited by the arrival of Coutinho, was another tricky attacking player really a priority? I expect him to prove a sound buy, but for all the midfield signings, there’s no kind of enforcer, beyond Lucas.
      The average height of Rodgers’ signings is exactly 5’10” – one inch shorter than Stewart Downing in his socks – with only one over six foot (Sturridge), while Raheem Sterling is another newcomer to the starting XI who ranks as a midget in footballing terms, and who brings the height down even further.
      In ‘purist’ mode, I don’t want height to matter, but in the English game there are teams like Stoke (and Oldham!) who Liverpool simply haven’t been able to cope with; and plenty not quite as tall and physical, but still able to bully the Rodgers’ side. For as long as the Reds have such a clear achilles heel, moving higher up the table may prove difficult. The inclusion of the unfairly maligned Jonjo Shelvey has perhaps been to add a bit of size and muscle, but he’s a talented but raw player right now. Unless Liverpool really can pass teams to death, then it will remain an issue.
      Costly
      At present, the Liverpool ‘£XI’ – the cost of the side over 26 league games when adjusted for inflation (TPI) – ranks as 4th:
      RankAverage £XI1Chelsea£ 213,487,4232Man Utd£ 195,430,5183Man City£ 173,020,6634…..Liverpool…£ 105,951,3525Arsenal£ 91,610,1856Spurs£ 71,630,828(Everton are 6th in the table, but rank 7th)
      With our research for Pay As You Play we found that, on the whole, teams usually finish within two places of their rank. Right now, Chelsea are two below theirs; United are one above theirs; Man City are one below theirs; Arsenal are dead-on with theirs; Spurs are two places above theirs. So far, so good, in terms of the model.
      But Liverpool are five places below their rank. Only Newcastle, QPR, Aston Villa and Wigan are performing worse when compared against their £XI rank. (Swansea and West Brom are performing the best: both are 10 places above where they “should” be.)
      Of course, a win against Swansea next weekend, and the Reds will likely be up to 7th again. That would still be a poor position based on the resources – but for Rodgers, in his first season (where some slack must be cut) – not disastrous. And with the remaining games, 7th should easily be achievable, and 6th shouldn’t be beyond the realm of possibility.
      The £XI is a good (if not flawless) way to rank expected performance, because unlike wage bill (which also has its merits as a means of determining success), it counts the resources that a manager can call upon for his side. Now, not every player costs what he goes on to deliver – some deliver above (Suarez), some deliver below (Downing), some deliver on the money (Johnson) – which means that it often averages out to something resembling accuracy.
      (I’ve obviously not got room here to explain the entire list of pros and cons with using £XI – buy the book for that – but I think it generally works very well. One way to outperform the £XI is by filling the team with talented home-grown players or cheap kids, and to a degree, Rodgers has done that, too: Gerrard and Sterling frequently, and Carragher, Wisdom, Suso and Shelvey less frequently.)
      In this instance, Rodgers has been picking the best remaining Benítez signings (Johnson, Reina, Agger, Lucas, Skrtel, Shelvey, Sterling, Suso) and the best Dalglish/Comolli signings (Suarez, Henderson, and at times, Enrique and Downing), as well as his own signings.
      A manager’s own flops don’t impact the £XI unless he’s blindly picking them, and in Rodgers’ case, he had the “luxury” of bidding goodbye to recent signings like Carroll and Sahin, even though more could arguably have been gained from them. (Although you can’t get the most out of every player; some will unavoidably move towards the fringe, as more than half the squad doesn’t start each game.)
      So while I accept that a new manager needs a period of adjustment, it’s fair to say that Rodgers inherited a talented and settled back-four who were in their peak (based on the form of several seasons); three or four world-class players in Suarez, Gerrard, Johnson and arguably Lucas; some decent squad players with scope to improve; and an array of promising youngsters.
      (And when it comes to changing managers, both Spurs and Swansea have seen their new bosses settle in brilliantly; Laudrup has improved Rodgers’ Swansea, and Andre Villas-Boas is doing a very good job at Spurs. Both have altered the style slightly, and yet still got results. West Brom are also doing better under a new manager. Indeed, West Brom and Swansea have got through four managers in roughly as many years, and only ever really improved as a result, due to the strong core philosophies of those running the football side of things.)
      Rodgers and his medical staff have done brilliantly to have Agger, Johnson and Gerrard play virtually every minute, and of course, Suarez hasn’t had the distractions and suspensions of last season. However, having had these players as virtual ever-presents, shouldn’t the manager be getting more out of the team than Dalglish and Clarke did last season, when, at best, these players were only around roughly (at a guess) half of the time? At present, 9th is one place worse than the poor 8th registered in 2011/12, which included the awful distraction of the Suarez/Evra affair, and the efforts in getting to two domestic cup finals.
      And yet … quite often, the Reds don’t look too far away from being a top four side. There’s something there that suggests more might follow soon. Liverpool have looked very good at times this season, and occasionally brilliant; although of course we said the same last season. Liverpool have tons of efforts at goal, although again, with Suarez in the team, this stat will be slightly skewed, as he shoots from almost anywhere, and has an effort at goal more frequently than any other player in the league. Still, Liverpool do create a healthy amount of chances, beyond wild pot-shots.
      Rodgers has eradicated the problem of not getting enough points at home – even after last night, the points-per-game is very good – but simply replaced it with an inability to beat anyone better than West Ham. After 14 games against teams in the top half of the table, it starts to look less like a statistical quirk and more a fact that decent teams can find and exploit Liverpool’s weaknesses.
      I remain patient about Rodgers, but still undecided. As I said last week, even at worst I don’t think he’s going to ruin Liverpool with his buys and his playing style. So I see no need to panic; this is no Hodgson, driving fans and players away. But equally, he’s not the only manager around who can create a side that plays good football, and plenty of them have proven records of success, too.
      Changing manager again would have its downside, and I’m not advocating it; but it’s wrong to think that Rodgers is the only possible solution. If results don’t pick up, then maybe change will be required again this summer.
      Equally, Rodgers has the rest of the season to show that his style can be matched with substance, too. If he does that, then he’ll certainly have next season to try and take things further, and work on eradicating the shortcomings of his current side.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Peter & Paul some obvious and painfull truths

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Peter & Paul some obvious and painfull truths
      Will have to read it later...I'm heading out the door shortly going to Arizona with my daughter's team...talk about some painful truths...that poor team is about to face some serious opposition...hope they hold their own. We'll see.

Good luck to your daughter and her team. Memba fi walk wid yuh "papers" down there in the desert state. Mind dem think seh yuh a one alien weh come een pon the meteorite.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good luck Marin!!!

Hope you come back with a win!!

TimmoHfdRed • 2 days ago
            Sorry to say it, but as i said before this bloke is clueless........ we go 2 down and he takes off an attacker and puts Lucas on. Lucas should have been on from the start instead of the woeful supposed welsh xavi. Allen should have come off within 15mins of the game starting, he's too lightweight and him losing the ball led to the first goal. and he waited til 70 odd mins to do anything and by that time we were just chasing the ball. Another season with nothing to show, and to think KK was sacked for getting us to 2 cup finals,1 of which we won. Ludicrous!!!
            18 •Reply•Share ›

saraceninc TimmoHfdRed • 2 days ago
            Mate,Allen should never been on to start with, this guy is the best example on how to blow £15 million in the wind!
            15 •Reply•Share ›

TimmoHfdRed saraceninc • 2 days ago
            FSG may as well have gone to the top of FSG towers and tossed the £15m off it so the locals could have it. Least it would have been used for something useful as woeful Allen is a shockingly bad buy. The only buy of any worth is Danny boy, Borini and Allen are too light in stature and need to be shipped out asap, along with that clown masquerading as our so called manager. I backed BR at first i admit, but after seeing he has no tactical know how, can't see when we need an attacker on instead of a defensive player and makes more baffling substitutions than Rafa that says it all i think. He simply is not experienced enough or good enough for this clubs manager. SupportedLFc for 30+ years.
            12 •Reply•Share ›

Ross TimmoHfdRed • 2 days ago
            I never like to single out players but Allen is proving to be way out of his depth. He was very poor this evening and it is terrible to think we spent £15m on him, £15m! That is a lot of money for a player that cannot tackle and has no creativity.
            10 •Reply•Share ›

TimmoHfdRed Ross • 2 days ago
            I'm not 1 to single individual players out either Ross, but by crikey Allen is woeful. He is not built for the premier, he gets muscled off the ball far too easily, passes sideways or backwards even though there is a forward pass available to him. He NEVER looks anything other than out of his depth and goes missing in almost evry match he plays. This side is crying out for a tough tackling dm such as Diame. Get a bit of strength and power back in the team, and i believe we should bring big Andy back and give him a proper chance.
            7 •Reply•Share ›

Daniel Recsetar TimmoHfdRed • a day ago
            agree with you,we need more powerful midfielder for some games,against stoke type sides so not to be muscled of the ball,Diame would give us option,I've wanted us to buy since we first scouted him at Wigan,he has a release clause in his contract,don't miss out again Brendan
            1 •Reply•Share ›

big steve • 2 days ago
            i hope the rumours of ancelloti are true !
            15 •Reply•Share ›

Alan • 2 days ago
            COME ON ALL LFC SUPPORTERS START THE PROTEST IMMEDIATELY TO GET RID OF BOTH RODGERS AND FSG NOW BEFORE ITS TO LATE !!!!!!
            11 •Reply•Share ›

JulHI Alan • a day ago
            I'm fully agree with Allan.

I'm from Borneo but to see LFC falling apart domestically & Euro league is very heart breaking.

Come on Brirtish LFC core supporters, pls shout & say something to get rid BR & FSG! It's the gate collection that pays these two donkeys!
            4 •Reply•Share ›

saraceninc • 2 days ago
            Out of the FA, our of the Carlington and certainly no top four ( probably 10th if we are lucky) and now probably out of the second rate Europa ! The amazing thing accrding to BR the lads are giving 100% and are all fantastic? This guy is the biggest paradox or as I have said before he is either on somthing happy or lives in a separate reality, wake up man. Your team is pathetic and your record the worst in the history of the club.
            11 •Reply•Share ›

ste • 2 days ago
            Pathetic, pitiful, shambolic, cowardly, unprofessional, cant pass, cant shoot, cant cross, cant dribble, no strength mentally or physically.

Thats 'progress' under that professional moron Rodgers and his fellow championship level assistant Pascoe and Mike fooking Marsh.

OUT!!!!!!!!!!
            10 •Reply•Share ›

Saraceninc • 2 days ago
            There is no point in controlling a game if you cannot win, pass , pass , pass and pass, what is the point ? BR is happy again with the performance, but then again when isn't he? He we are loosinig to unknowns while Man Utd draw with Real away? Boy have times changed!!!
            8 •Reply•Share ›

NSN • 2 days ago
            Why the f### dint BR play borini when we did not have any strikers on the pitch FFS!!!!??? I feel like throwing up when i see Allen playing...Oh God..look what our club has become...and I dont see a solution..BR stay or BR leaves, which other manager would want to take up his position. FSG played their dice well and good a championship yes man manager so that they could pay him and his signings way lower than other team staff,..
            6 •Reply•Share ›

etenalecouter • a day ago
            Thanx a lot Brendan....u just KO'd us out of another cup..... u _rocker...... _ rock my _rock
            5 •Reply•Share ›

Vamsi • a day ago
            joe allen...how on earth is he still playing.......BR....i thought he would bring back the glory to liverpool.........and he had.....out of fa.......top four finish......and now europa.....again time to bring back kenny to rescue the team.....
            5 •Reply•Share ›

LFCfanMtl • 2 days ago
            The yankee owners and rodgers are clueless and the LFC fans are suffering. Rodgers can take his 250-page manifesto and shove it up his a**e. I am so angry I don't even want to see his face or hear his stupid words.
            5 •Reply•Share ›

Bob • 2 days ago
            The fault lies not with a manager who is clueless it lies with FSG who appointed him, its shows they have no ambition for this great club, the stadium farce is a mirror image of Hicks & Gillette, new owner ASAP.
            5 •Reply•Share ›

JulHI • a day ago
            To watched allen playing, it so dump stupid to buy him 15 million!
            BR & FSG leave Anfield ASAP!!!!!!!!
            4 •Reply•Share ›

Pauls • a day ago
            1 win in 7 with 4 defeats including Oldham and west brom at home.... Worst managerial record of a Liverpool manager in the modern era. Not luck I am afraid. Stats don't lie Brendan...... And as for the Liverpool fans comparing Rodgers to ferguson at Man U, and our new shankly... Please - don't make me laugh. He wasn't good enough for reading... And he is and never will be good enough for Liverpool ladies.
            4 •Reply•Share ›

Joe • 2 days ago
            The truth of the matter is that we became a very ordinary club! Poor ownership, poor management, and poor front office. When is it going to change? Why they don't hire proven people? Why so much squander of funds on poor to average players?
            4 •Reply•Share ›

josek Joe • a day ago
            And don't forget about the poor fans too.
            2 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio • a day ago
            The common excuse used by some fans is that the guy needs time to turn Liverpool's fortunes round. Granted. Everyone does to steer an ailing ship back to port. However, it is also true that one needs to be judged by what he achieves in the interim. What Brenda did during this year will be very much what he will be building on in the future. Brenda inherited a good team with international players. He also brought in a number of players at the tune of 50m. So one would, at a minimum, expect that results this season are better than those of last. After all Kenny was sacked after one year for not delivering enough. Also, one would expect the team to be playing better, and more consistent. Neither of these are the case. Overall, the defense is jittery. Midfield is weak. Attack is toothless. And, at least last year, we won a cup and got to the final in another. This year seems to be heading to an end by the end of February. I dont think us fans deserve another season like this. I think we need a better coach. One with a higher technical and tactical awareness, as well as someone that can attract the right players to the club. A name comes to mind..
            3 •Reply•Share ›

kistrand • a day ago
            I'm getting increasingly worried about our team. Seems we are slipping in form again and can't really find the penetration we need to create really clear cut chances. And our mental strength i so poor. Why do we have to concede two goals in rapid succession in every game? One thing that has stood out this whole season (the only exception against West Hame away) is that we have no clue of how to play after we concede a goal. Absolutely no clue.
            3 •Reply•Share ›

Richard Sempa • a day ago
            You are only as good as your management team/owners-fact remains....what more to say...
            3 •Reply•Share ›

Tremor • 2 days ago
            Joe Allen should never play for Liverpool again, aside the fact that he is giving me a serious heart problems every f* time when ...We were very good in the first half but Suarez had a bad day.I dont think that he ever played a game with this number of missed opportunities..And of course we were punished, after all those misses we just had to be punished...Poor defending by Skrtel against Hulk, but i still cant find proper words for a guy with number 24 on the back....Being Rodgers favourite is maybe the only thing that ****es me off when we talk about our manager..Why would you constantly play him when he is totally useless and everybody knows that....Speaking of this game, you cant blame Rodgers after your best player cant score after 4 clear goal chances, not to mention that Johnson run! As far as i saw Zenit was very lucky tonight and im crazy enough to think that we can still eliminate them.
            3 •Reply•Share ›

CelticFroth • a day ago
            Bad appointment? Too soon to say. After 26 games:

KK - 39 pts, GF 30, GA 25

BR - 36 pts, GF 44, GA 34

I think the goals scored tells its own story under BR, we're scoring goals (I wouldn't equate this with better football) but at the cost of defensive solidity. This was evident against Oldham. Rodgers basic problem is that his adoption a possession based game comes unstuck fairly easily when we don't have the ball. Crucially the defence unit is more a defensive 'Two' - Agger + 1 other. Enrique and Johnson don't defend. They attack. The supposed shielding by Lucas/Allen comes unstuck. But the real crux of the issue is that we're not physically strong enough in the centre. Carra and Skirt haven't shown the strength that Vidic, Terry, Kompany, Hyppia and Hencho have displayed. This needs addressing as Rodgers thinks Skirt/Coates can't cut it and Carra is for the knackers yard. get well soon, Martin Kelly!
            2 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio CelticFroth • 21 hours ago
            a good perspective indeed. Although, the laws of logic would tell me that, having spent 50m on several recruits should have rendered a few more points on Kenny. If we had got 3 further wins this season, i.e. sit at 45 points most would be accepting the fact that Brenda is on the right path but needs more time and funds. However, such a regress is worrying. What if next year we're in the same situation, or worse off? Granted we'd sack him. But then isnt it too late to start building again?
            1 •Reply•Share ›

Frank • a day ago
            It was always going to be a risky appointment in Rogers...far to inexperienced and it's really starting to show in partiular with these recent results. The style of play he's trying to implement will never work....stick to the basics
            2 •Reply•Share ›

Alvarez • a day ago
            Why try and play passing football on a field like that...
            2 •Reply•Share ›

imoff • a day ago
            Anfield revisited
            2 •Reply•Share ›

LFC-FAN10 • 13 hours ago
            Brendan Rodgers can "Talk The Talk"....but I`m not so sure anymore, if he can " Walk The Walk".
            1 •Reply•Share ›

ash • a day ago
            With sturidge injured when is Borini gonna get a chance?! Or are we just gonna keep him on the bench?
            1 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio ash • 21 hours ago
            Borini was another expensive one for the future. The purchase of Allen and Borini was the first indication that something was extremely wrong! Granted, they have potential to become good players for the future. But Liverpool cannot wait 2-3 years for this too happen. And even if they do, what would be the maximum value each would command. If he had got them for 5m each then that would have been an acceptable risk. But paying 25m for these two was ridiculous, and reflects Brenda's reach in the transfer market.
            1 •Reply•Share ›

rodgers supporter • 2 days ago
            we still need players.... this is confirmation that we do not have squad depth..
            0 •Reply•Share ›

ste rodgers supporter • 2 days ago
            And a moron in charge of what we do have, the same moron has wasted X amount of millions of SH T, sturridge aside, Coutinho will be another epic flop.

End this farce at the end of the season, Rodgers OUTTTTTTTTTTTTTT! and while we are at it get those other clueless morons FSG OUT aswell!
            8 •Reply•Share ›

In rafa i trust ste • 2 days ago
            Finally we all can agree that Rodgers is ****...His tactics isn`t near what we expect for a pl manager.And he haven`t got a clue what a good player is.Feel the likes of Roy Hodgson and Graeme Souness did a better job.And that says it all..
            8 •Reply•Share ›

josek In rafa i trust • a day ago
            And you want Rafa back. What planet are you on
            0 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio josek • 21 hours ago
            I am on his planet too. Rafa will be out of job in summer, he LOVES Liverpool and has proves to us that he can make miracles, even with reduced budgets. The only obstacle are FSG who have become a cancer to the club!
            4 •Reply•Share ›

rodgers supporter ste • a day ago
            how many idiots....
            you all should support teams like chelsea or man city if you want instanr success! back off!!!! rodgers is great manager!alken is good player in poor form! they need our support! you idiots!!!
            1 1 •Reply•Share ›

In rafa i trust rodgers supporter • a day ago
            Off course i want rafa back.He is the only manager the last 20 years who have achieved something.And the day he left, The downgoing spiral started.Can you disagree with that?One thing is to support the manager but everyone sees this now that rodgers is way out of his depth..
            7 •Reply•Share ›

josek In rafa i trust • a day ago
            Stick your head back in the sand there mate. Rafa is a laughing stock, just ask any Inter, or Chelski fan. The rot started long before he left. if Brendan Rogers has even half the players at his disposal that Benitez had, including a Gerrard at the peak of his powers he would demolish the the PL. Don't see Brendan wanting to get rid of Alonso.
            0 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio josek • 21 hours ago
            Josek, that is highly speculative. And lets remember the team he had he built himself. Not to mention that he masterminded two Champions League runs to the final.
            3 •Reply•Share ›

josek Butragenio • 20 hours ago
            No he did not. He inherited two of the best central defenders in the world, he inherited Stevie at his peak, and Didi. 2005 CL while great was very lucky, & again Stevie dragged us through so much of it. The 2005 league display however was a horror show for its time, have a look back at some of the results & performances yourself. It took three years for him (huge fees & wages & alot of costly mistakes) to build the 08-09 team. It takes all managers time, but he got that time, despite the Hansen's etc at the time complaining about the quality of football. Brendan deserves better than the type of cheap chelski like fan with their A4 placards that seem to be popping up everywhere now.
            0 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio rodgers supporter • 21 hours ago
            Dear "rodgers supporter", say the word "idiot" aloud, but please do it while looking at a mirror. You will not understand immediately what is happening, since this requires a certain level of IQ. But eventually it will dawn on you. It will be like an awakening. Trust me.
            1 •Reply•Share ›

rodgers supporter Butragenio • 18 hours ago
            and you find yourself smart... go an jump from the bridge. stupid idiot!
            0 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio rodgers supporter • 3 hours ago
            Dear "rodgers supporter", you got it!!! wow, never though you would so quickly! We should go and jump together. You can go first. I promise to follow
            1 •Reply•Share ›

Butragenio rodgers supporter • a day ago −
            Are you serious? Gerrard (England Captain), Suarez (top five attackers in the world), Agger (world class defender), Carragher, Lucas (Brazilian international), the rest mostly all international players. We spent 50 million this year. Dont you think that much should at least have got us closer to the top rather than the bottom?
            Last edited by Sir X; February 16, 2013, 09:09 AM.

FSG bares alot of the blame they came out with a policy of buy young and cheap, from players to the coach , I have no doubt BR is being paid championship wages , His wage is probably reflected in our league position. whats it 7th to 8th of all the top prem managers, as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

I see why Rafa was overlooked.

I haven't heard X's regular rant about BR since yesterday. I wonder why

Good luck Marin!!!

Hope you come back with a win!!

I am in the airport, just arriving back to Florida from Arizona. My daughter's team came second in their bracket (5 brackets), but failed to make the quarter finals on goal difference with a 1-1-1 record. They did win the consolation game 4-1 against UTAH's #5 ranked team to come home with 2-1-1 record. The team that won the tournament was TopHat FC from Atlanta and ranked #1 in GA (40th nationally). Their striker is a girl named Rachel Jones whose parents are Jamaican. I understand her brother was recruited by the JFF and is now on the Jamaica U17 team (I have to double check when I get a chance, maybe Sass knows something about this). JFF apparently recruited several young players from the US. Rachel scored 3 goals and assisted on one in the finals which they won 4-0. She is a strong stout child with speed and technique to burn. I would not want to have to defend her, very, very good and apparently in the national training setup. Our team is not as good as Tophat, but there is no question that we belong at this level. We were very unfortunate not to win the 0-0 tie against Arizona's #2 ranked team in the first round; my little girl missed a header by inches and another player on our squad forced the goalie to make a spectacular save. Our only loss was 1-0 to Colorado Arsenal FC, which is ranked #2 in Colorado and is probably the best team I have seen play (they lost in the semis 1-0 to Tophat but are arguably technically superior). Their striker is half Jamaican and half Columbian and probably one of the most skillful I have seen at this age level. At the entire tournament, we -- by far -- were the most diverse team. Most teams were all white kids with one or two black/hispanics like TopHat who had two black girls, everyone else was white...so Jangle, Arizona cops never had too much to worry about.

Congrats to your daughter and her team.

Thanks Karl, just got home and about to watch the second half of your team's "game" ....