Tappa's current 'success' is happenstance...

• Tappa's current 'success' is happenstance...

... and this is good!

My primary reason for wanting Tappa succeed, is the implications it could have internationally.

I think the view for lots of countries-- ('specially) Africa...is that a successful team must have a foreign (white ) coach. Tappa leading Jamaica to Brazil as a local coach will dispel this lie.

I fully supported Carl Brown during his coaching tenure...because I think he was well on his way to achieve the same...before his efforts were scuttled.

Tappa will draw great attention to the fact that local a coach can do well in cash stricken countries: Countries who depend on outside coaching for their success will reference Jamaica as a case study. They will rethink their views.

NOTE I: One by-product of using a local coach -- is the thousands of $ this will save poor countries.

NOTE II. The opinion is forward-looking.
    Last edited by HL; February 14, 2013, 03:29 PM.

Carl in my opinion is a good man to be in the program but he is no Tappa. Tappa seems to plan better and not put the blame on others, he works with what he has and is confident in what he is doing. I guess playing high level gives him this quiet confidence.

The fact is our coaches need to work more as a unit for us to progress. Forget the money, get the local coaches more involved.

Playing high level games give him better players. Maybe it's the players that may be carrying him? They execute instructions much better.

No Carl Brown carried in a lot of UK based players, more than Tappa. The difference is belief and management. Look at the last Gold Cup with mostly yard based, MLS and Nordic players and you will see.

I too supported CB and I thought that, at the time, he was the best of the local coaches that we had. However, several years later after his tenure, we now have Tappa who is doing a tremendous job.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think the view for lots of countries-- ('specially) Africa...is that a successful team must have a foreign (white ) coach. Tappa leading Jamaica to Brazil as a local coach will dispel this lie.
            Stephen Keshi surprised the world and led Togo to the 2006 WC in Germany. He became the second person to win the African Cup of Nations as a player & coach in 2013. An African brethren said the other day that local coaches can bring a lot more to the table than foreigners, who know the people & culture.

Fact is Carl Brown's Reggae Boyz was the best prepared ever! And he could have pulled off our first victory against the USA had there been no interference.

Name the foreigners CB brought in. Please and tanks!

You are absolutely correct on this.

It's just that things and time have changed....

BTW Forum Chief...please move this to the football 'seck-sion'.

Was CB still the coach when the Brazillians came in?
                      Who was it who cancelled games because he couldn't use a local squad???

You can have your opinion but the record will show who was the coach. If he didn't like it he should have resigned.

Was Carl Brown who first called Jobi, Marlon King etc. and a whole host of English players??? How soon you forget. Let us not revisit history.

Etc. not going to work. Yeah, let's not revisit history especially when it may prove that I don't know what I am talking about!

Thanks anyway.

ahm no.. that would be the Team under Lazaroni..

Most points ever on the Road.. I think the most in our group.. did not lose a game..

Dominated possession and attempt on goal were in the double digits on average..

is not that you don't know what you talking bout but you see man even a say Tappa a figurehead. Same way the Brazillian come under Tappa. I have no doubt that he had the fitest team but he did say he want the Brazillian. I also look for the many UB40 CB called.