• Muady-Mattocks' 'Attitude Is Poor'

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer

Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), sought to clear the air on the absence of highly regarded striker Darren Mattocks from Jamaica's national men's senior team in last week's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying stalemate against the region's kingpins, Mexico, at the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City.

The local football public has asked questions about the exclusion of Mattocks from the team that battled to a historic 0-0 scoreline against Mexico in Mexico City, earning its first point ever in an away WCQ at the high altitude venue.

"It is not about any disciplinary action taken against Mattocks, it is about his poor attitude," Burrell told The Gleaner in an interview yesterday.

"His (Mattocks) attitude is poor. No player will be in the team if they don't display the right attitude," Burrell further disclosed.

However, the JFF president is not ruling out Mattocks for Jamaica's next WCQ game against Panama on Friday, March 22 at the National Stadium.

"He might be called up for the next game. However, he needs to understand that playing for the team, one has to show a strong desire and commitment towards the mission," said Burrell, the visionary behind Jamaica's historic World Cup appearance in France in 1998.

Burrell also said: "To represent the country you have to show the right attitude, if one wants to be a part of the Reggae Boyz. He (Mattocks) has to take it seriously on and off the field. He is a good player, but need to show the right attitude."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports4.html
    Last edited by Karl; February 13, 2013, 01:39 PM.

If true then I love it. No star business, that is the same thing with king, star attitude mean selfish business and that don't work in a team game.

Would like to hear more from the coach or discipline people on this. I hope they make the player personally aware of what is expected of him.

Mattocks just needs to focus on his professional career...

Can we quit the Mattocks and King campaigns now?

So, perhaps Tappa was being diplomatic when he told me it had nothing to do with attitude, but the Captain has spoken.

He, the Captain, has made some recent misstatements, but this doesn't seem like one of them.

Nothing boosts your pro career like a World Cup match on your CV.

No, no need to wash this anymore in the public realm. If they need to talk to the player one-on-one, then fine.

so mi see it. Mattock we know is young and somewhat cocky but you have to talk to him and let him realise the seriousness of his actions and then it is up to him.

Mattocks does not need Jamaican football...he is going to get into a back and forth cass cass that will do him no good...conquer MLS then on to Europe...

my only problem... if true or not it should come from the coach not the president. .. i want the president to tell me about sponsorship and direction.. personnel conversation should be from the coach....

you caant tell bricky nuthin bout nobody from pmore..

Yep!!!!

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          you caant tell bricky nuthin bout nobody from pmore..
                          LOL.

Mattocks may take a break from international football. Burrell once again loves to air dirty laundry in the media and he lacks the ability to be tactful. This was a man who was surprised he was shunned by Marlon King after dissing the footballer publicly!

No break for Mattocks. Come back and prove it to them. There maybe and ego and also attitude for Mattock to "come and prove it since him a gwaan so bad a Canada".