Jamaica's football development and the UB40 debate

Awwwww...all this civility...just make me wanna...

If we have the talent...why are you so easily satisfied?
      "Transition takes time" you say. Forget France '98 as that did not show organised development; think instead on the decades we have been awaiting organised development of our football talent?

I would say we have been awaiting that from before our independence. Not yet 100 years but certainly more than 50 years.

...and billions of dollars worth of time and engery...and cash has been spent. ...and what do we have? No plan that has us pooling our resources or developing our talents to even a half-way decent level.

We have produced individual cricketers, track and field athletes, boxers and a sprinkling of others in various other sporting disciplines who were TOP OF THE WORLD. Football? No one!

The nearest to TOP OF THE WORLD we have come in football is Lindy Delaphena, Allan "Skill" Cole and Ricardo "Bibi" Gardner. Lindy being the leader (some in England wanted him on their team)...a footballer developed to top world standard in England.

Football is a TEAM sport. We should be producing top quality footballers...and even before that top quality national TEAMs. The sum of the parts should be greater than the whole. ...unfortunately our best is not uplifted by our national TEAMs rather they are being dragged down.

Where are the plans to build on available resources? ...where is the seen effort at pulling the various parts (organisations and institutions) together to move the football to the TOP OF THE WORLD?
      Yadda Yadda Yadda... how yuh ah beat up yuh gum suh?

Wi nuh intressted inna dat. Juss fi read dat is a pain. All dat devlopment ting too difficult an tek tuh much ah big man time

....juss carry di shopping cyart guh ah Englant at di las' moment inna qualifying.. Instant Team dat...Mi ear seh Englant ave all wi need

Plus now mi get fi ovastan seh di more las' minit foreigna wi get...di more local balla ah guh improve...dat ah di magic formula it look like

...Magic wi ah deal wid... Shazzam tuh di Wirl!!
      Last edited by Don1; February 12, 2013, 10:08 PM.

First things, first!
        Dunny one of the pieces of nonsense some...SOME SILLY JAMAICANS...spout is "Jamaica for Jamaicans...just not all JAMAICANS!"

In one breath those Jamaicans...the silly Jamaicans...wish to maximize on the industry of all JAMAICANS. In the next they seek to 'beat up' on some Jamaicans.

It is a 'nonsense position'. Either we are all in the same boat...pooling our talents and skills for the benefit of all our people...our nation...or we continue along a path of 'crabs in a barrel'

Well thinking Jamaicans wish pooling of all talents and the maximizing on exploitation of same!

-------------------------
        Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Every Jamaican football fan would love to see the Reggae Boyz strutting their stuff with the best teams in the world in a World Cup final.
        Yes!

There are some who believe that Jamaica can qualify without the help of players playing proffesionally in England of Jamaican heritage.
        Let me repeat: That type thinking is a disgrace...it says we have no faith in those at home ever working at and achieving the highest of standards. It is the same mental process that Bob Marley alluded to when he asked that we liberate ourselves...only we can free ourselves from the shackles that expect of us - low expectations. The thought process must be, improve ourselves...matters not if we reside on the island or outside of it.

TEAM selection should be 'best players to create 'best TEAM' only.

Some believe that these players will not make a difference to our programme because of the belief that they won't give everything for the cause and they are only there merely for a holiday. I call on all Jamaicans to respect the decisions these guys have made to fly accross the Atlantic to come and represent our beloved country, believe me this is not an easy decision as this can have a massive impact on their club careers. Playing an International on Wednesday night and flying back to prepare and play on a Saturday is not easy and a lot of managers do not take kindly to it, so the easy option for these guys would be to stay at their clubs stay with their families and enjoy an easy life.
        Re: Difference to our programme

If there is such thinking it lacks foresight.

Re: Respect the decisions these guys have to make...

What of our current local born players who ply their trade in professional leagues? Do they not face the same decisions?

...and what of those local players that shall surely follow on...playing in professional leagues outside of the island?

Surely the aim must be to have ever more and more players earning...and earning well, in those leagues.

Let us get our head out of the sand and realize that Jamaica have zero chance of qualifying for a World Cup with just our local and the few Jamaican born players plying there trade abroad.
        Perhaps today - currently!
        ...but why would not our league one day rise to such standard...it may take tens of years...but why would anyone put our people anywhere in a straight-jacket of "NEVER being able to do something"?

Focusing on a policy of pitting one set of Jamaicans against another is not a worthy path. Thle path is maximizing on that which we have...the best of that which we have.

Our local league is of a poor standard and is not conducive for preparing players for the high intensity of International football. Yes we have talented players, however it needs more than talent to succeed at the higher level. The UB40's bring a mix of talent and professionalism along with a higher level of fitness and tactical awareness because of the level and intensity that they play at every week.
        YES!

We all agree that the development of young players is a major issue and need to be addressed, however without the necessary finance in place Jamaica's football will continue to stand still.
        The above is the same as saying we cannot produce world class track athletes because we lack the necessary funding...or we cannot produce the
        world class math students as we lack funding...or 'you name it'.

That is a cop-out!

Am I saying funding is not important?
        Absolutely not. ...but consider this; which comes first 'the chicken or the egg'?

Do we have to produce quality players/TEAMS and then the funding comes (Think of the many...very many ways that would happen?). ...or do we get the funding and then produce the quality players/TEAMs.

Well I am a salesman and selling becomes easier when the product is a 'great one'!

Jamaica's football can only develop if we have success on the pitch and more results like the one we had in Mexico City can only enhance our standing get people talking about football on the Island again and bring back much needed sponsorship
        YES! YES! Yeeeeesssssssssssssss!!!!
        ...but even as I know the argument is in the context of the senior team and these WCup Qualifiers...I cannot allow that to go without saying "perpetual renewal". Outside of the concept of "perpetual renewal" then like 1998, 1999, 2001 and 2011 there shall be no real managing of a business...not building of a proper foundation but a 'stop-start...start-stop...' floundering along.

...no consistent TOP quality team (and players) year after year, after year...no perpetual renewal!

There is no way sponsors will want to associate themselves with failure so success on the pitch is a must to get the programme back on track. Reaching another World Cup final will have a massive impact on the youngsters and they would aspire to replicate their heroes. We have seen the impact our athletes have made and it would be exactly the same for football. The UB40 debate is here to stay because Jamaica's football need these guys to get us to the next level. Jamaica is in the unique position where they can be as good as they want to be, it is as simple as that. There is enough players with Jamaican Heritage playing in England to make Jamaica the very best in Concacaf. I rest my case.
        1. Re: No way sponsor...

On point!

2. Re: Reaching another World Cup final will have a massive impact on our youngsters...

*What impact did visiting at the World Cup 1998...and the FIFA Age-group
        finals (U-17 & U-20) have on our youngsters in the void (of lack of seamless development)? That is, where are we now?

*I am not providing an answer...but shouldn't we look at/for the answer? ...and act as that/those answers suggest?

3. Re: Players in England

Again limiting ourselves do a disservice to ourselves.

Both through kids born in many countries outside of Jamaica and Jamaica born, our players shall eventually be found in many lands. Thinking only on England do not lend itself to 'good policy'. There is the "BIG FIVE" and many other countries in many different parts of the world.

We are inherently go-getters. We are everywhere.

btw - In the last U-17 World Cup Finals was there not a Jamaican on the Japan team?

...in any case our seeds have been sown far and wide!

Dunny: This is not a aimed at you...it is merely a repeat of points stated in articles I have on the 'main' part of this site.
        Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2013, 02:07 PM.

It is not been satisfied Karl it accepting where we are and move forward. Without accepting that we have made some progress we are having a dream.

Hasn't it been progress when TSA formed and was able to get some players in a professional environment??? These maybe little steps to some but they are commendable steps to me. Craig and Freddie Butler stepped up and others. Yes we are not where we want to be but it is so easy to say "nuthing nah gwaaan" Too easy for us Jamaicans.
          Sass: I hear you!
          OK!
          Let me put it another way - Why do you give our politicians so much hell but wish to give the 'football people' a 'bly'?

Well said! Some of us are obsessed with this Academy talk, however an Academy is not the be all and end all solution to Jamaica's problem. Jamaica need to find a system that works for them, everyone need to put their head together come up with a better youth football structure. Schoolboy football is one thing that is a positive for the country and i beleive any new structure should make sure schoolboy football play a big part. At this stage of our football development it would be difficult for a few academies to be effective, simply because for young players to develop properly they need to be able to put into practice what they have learnt, therefore if we had 2 or 3 academies how would they get competition to develop, who would they play against? We have to remember many players will go through Academies and less than 40% will make it to professional football and even less than 5% will be of true international standard.

The obsession I see by some is with English players as a permanent solution... For example there are many more posts here on English players than on local youth development

That script needs to be flipped...Jamaican needs an obsession on youth development to have a shot at improving its game

The obsession I see by some is with English players as a permanent solution... For example there are many more posts here on English players than on local youth development

That script needs to be flipped...Jamaican needs an obsession on youth development to have a shot at improving its game
                Don1, i see you are very passionate about football development. How would you suggest the JFF go about this? What sort of structure would you put in place? All of us on this forum are fans of Jamaican football and want to see a successful national team. I live in England but i am Jamaican to the core, my kids are brought up the Jamaican way and if my son wants to represent Jamaica at football i would support his decision, if you want to call him English that is also your choice. I have never seen anyone here who is against local player development, we might all have different opinions of how things should be done but we all have the same hope and that is to see a successful Jamaican football team!!

Let's be clear...I am not against English players per se...nor am I questioning anyone's Jamaican-ness

But I am 100% for local youth development....even if getting there means missing World Cup appearances... we're doing that anyway since 1998 with the slap dash JFF strategy

I will repost what I wrote on the subject

Let's be clear...I am not against English players per se...nor am I questioning anyone's Jamaican-ness

But I am 100% for local youth development....even if getting there means missing World Cup appearances... we're doing that anyway since 1998 with the slap dash JFF strategy

I will repost what I wrote on the subject
                    Don1 the JFF needs to draft and implement a strategic plan to develop the local talent to international standards while at the same time make Jamaica the team of choice for the diaspora. Any time we have major competition/tournament or play friendlies against "big" teams we should have our strongest senior team on the field no matter where they were born or ply their trade.