• P'more, Boys' Town seek KO crown

Hunt on for KO silverware

Sunday, April 08, 2007

FOR Portmore United, this is probably the best chance of a silverware this season, but for Boys' Town, this is definitely the last chance to win a national title when the two challenge for the Red Stripe Champions Cup KO title at Harbour View at 6 o'clock this evening.

With the winners guaranteed a hefty bounty of $650,000 plus the coveted Red Stripe Champions Cup, football fans could be in for a real treat this evening with Portmore United, who appear to be in the 'pink of form', competing against a Boys' Town outfit renowned for its tenacity. Today's runners-up will collect $450,000.

Portmore United, six points adrift and the closest challengers to premiership leaders Harbour View, could start today's encounter with a psychological advantage, having beaten the 'Red Brigade' twice in as many outings - 4-1 at Collie Smith Drive and 2-0 at Ferdie Neita Park.

However, both club spokesmen played down the relevance of those games in relation to today's match.
    "It's always a challenge playing Boys' Town, and we're expecting nothing less on this occasion because they, too, need a silverware, but we're prepared for it," said Portmore manager Clive Marshall yesterday.

For Andrew Price, technical director of Boys' Town, there is definitely "no psychological barrier".
    "We have played well against the big teams and in the big games, and we believe this is a big game, so if we play well we can get a good result. When it comes to the final, Boys' Town have a good record and we want to keep that record intact," Price said.

He added: "We're definitely coming for it because this is the last opportunity to bring home a silverware and we're going to give it our all. We have as good a chance as any."
    Boys' Town, who defeated Tafari Lions, Naggo's Head, Waterhouse and August Town on their way to the final, are suffering from a few injury concerns in George Vernal and Denzil Watson, but Price insists the squad is deep enough to adequately compensate for any withdrawals.

"George Vernal is touch and go, but we have capable replacements... Peter Keyes should come in from the start, while Denzil Watson has a slight problem and may not come in from the start.

"Captain Michael Campbell, who has played very well at the Harbour View mini-stadium, will have to take up the mantle and lead from the front," charged Price.
    Meanwhile, Marshall's team, which just failed to break the NPL wide open on Wednesday after conceding a late equaliser to Harbour View at the same venue, are also having injury worries with former national striker Onandi Lowe and Mario Swaby being forced to leave the field on Wednesday.

Both players suffered from thigh strains and according to Marshall, they will undergo fitness tests before game time.
    Portmore, who joined the competition at the second round, are bang in form, having notched four consecutive, authoritative wins before Wednesday's enthralling draw against the league leaders. Now, Marshall wants to make certain his side takes home the trophy.

"Most naturally, this is a silverware that we cherish. We were inaugural winners before we gave it away last year to Tivoli Gardens in extra time, but the players are upbeat and are looking forward to the final, having been there three years in a row."

The tournament saw the 14 parish champions matching their skills with the 12 NPL clubs. The first round consisted of the 14 parish champions and the bottom six NPL clubs as at the 31st of December 2006, playing on a home-and-away basis in round one over a four-day period.

The 10 winning clubs advance to round two, where they were joined by the top six NPL clubs, and they played eight games at home and eight away.

The eight clubs then moved on to round three - deemed the quarter-final round - where these eight clubs played eight games, four home and four away and then moved on to the semi-final.
    In the curtain-raiser at 4:00 pm, a Media XI tackle a Masters & Celebrities XI.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

I am not watching if Nandi not playing. Dun talk! :loser:
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I'm not sure which is worse, Ali Mcnabb's commentary or the ghastly standard of play. This is being broadcast all across the US? What an embar****************ment. Out a yuh life ball at it's finest.

Yes. Hard to tell which was worse. That faux English accent between him and his co-commentator was truly nauseating.

Thank God its over.