Zero respect from these media guys for Jamaica

• Zero respect from these media guys for Jamaica

This is the kind of thing that makes it really personal for me, I just wish our administration/management/ team would take it more seriously and put a more concerted effort together to build the team with more time together, more consistent and clear criteria for selection and more understanding of what the challenges are and build a culture of play that is focused on "battling to the death" in these games. The recent debacle at the cfu is very much symtomatic of the lack of communication and vision between management and staff and what happened can alsmost be totally blamed on staff and the star culture we have developed in Jamaican football culture, who exactly is running the shop, the stars with their yeah man I got this attitude or the staff with poor communication and unclear goals for the team.

We are missing that vision, that urgency to take this thing to the next level and our poor results and complacency at key points in time thus leads to the ease with which guys like this one write these crappy articles like the following. Here is to putting up a good show in Mexico and taking at least one point.

Here is one quote.
    "This calendar year is among the busiest and most important in the history of the Mexican national team. It starts off a bit quietly, with this tuneup and a relative walkover against Jamaica at home – in theory the easiest match of the entire Hexagonal for Mexico"

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/brent-l...0154--sow.html

I wish that was the view of the Mexico Football Federation, unfortunately that organization has been keen on keeping an eye on the Reggaeboyz,chiefly,our new players will not be a surprise as they have all been carefully reviewed.
    Mexico is also aware Jamaica losing to host Mexico is never because lack of fight,as that is pretty much guaranteed in every encounter between both teams.
    We have a central defensive pair that Mexico has to be concerned about.

I know that they have been keeping a strong eye, as I watch most of my ball on the Spanish channels even the epl and every guy with a Jamaican link is called jamaiquino.

The side is nice, especially on the defense and defensive mid if they play the right guys Taylor, mariappa, nosworthy and Phillips with Austin and elliott in front that is pretty formidable, weakness there is mainly on the Phillips side that could be shored up with playing omar Daley in the mids on that flank, not sure if he is left footed but omar will eat up some space there.

Again to give such a short acclimitization period for such a critical game is tough, even if many of the players were not available but some of them were available the yard and mls players could have set up a base camp a week ago. A lot of these guys have not payed together much less seen one another, an opportunity missed as we pretty much knew some time back who we were going to pick for the game. Lastly I bet no thought has ever been given to testing vo2 max on the players to see whoCan actually handle the 7k altitude based on current levels of fitness, that is basic stuff, matching your team to the conditions at hand. What we may find is that many of our local players are not able to compete in such competition at altitude at current level of fitness why find out in the game when you can figure it out on a couple of simple tests.

Preparation is really the key divider amongst teams at this level regardless of talent which is why the Us continues to qualify for consecutive world cups with what many see as not the best players.

how many locals in the squad?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          What we may find is that many of our local players are not able to compete in such competition at altitude at current level of fitness why find out in the game when you can figure it out on a couple of simple tests.
          So you are saying the local players who are in the middle of their season are going to prove themselves more unfit than the MLS players on break?

Why you always dissing local players?!?

Good question!

But Stoni already getting ready to blame the 3 local players when not even one of them might get game!

Aaaah bwoy!

Because I remember well the 4-0 the last time we were there or the 9-0 when we went to Ecuador or Bolivia can't remember which, and the main reason is we don't prepare the squad for those situations.

Now I agree the impact would not be the greatest but at least you are setting up the kind of process that shows that this is not just a little pizza shop pick up side.

We have the guys below either local or mls as I indicated that would be available for such a match with a few days extra at altitude.

GK
              Donovan Ricketts

DEFENDERS

Alvas Powell
              Jermaine Taylor

Mids
              Jermaine Hue
              Andre Lewis
              J. Watson

STRIKERS
              Ryan Johnson

What's that seven guys with five with a good shot at playing, sounds pretty significant to me. Potentially Richards and Daley been riding the pine there would be some potential for them to come as well.
              Local players are untested from a fitness standpoint and that shows well when they come under conditions of duress especially when they are not prepared in any way to Handle the change in condition. We have two fields at significant elevation the Knox field at about 3000 ft and the field at 4000 feet half way up the blue mountain trail, I have never heard of us even trying to use those fields or prepare those fields for use when we have to play at elevation.

Last time we were there, here is a recount from Evan Taylor.

Taylor while representing the Reggae Boyz in a 2008 World Cup Qualifier. - file

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer
                Harbour View Football Club's midfielder Evan Taylor hopes that Jamaica does well when they face off against Mexico in the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying (WCQ) final round at the Estadio Azteca on Wednesday. Match time is 9 p.m.

"It won't be easy to leave Mexico with a positive result because of the high altitude," said Taylor, who experienced the tough conditions in Mexico at high altitude in September 2008 during the WCQ that Jamaica lost 0-3.

Taylor, who had just turned 19 years old, played for about 75 minutes against El Trio at The Azteca.

"Well, it was my first time there. I had a breathing problem, and it was difficult for us," Taylor said.

He also disclosed that during that game, the Mexican players whistled instead of calling each other for the ball.

And what is his advice to the members of the Reggae Boyz squad who were called for the game last Wednesday?

"Keep possession and conserve as much energy as possible. It won't be easy because of the thin air."

Jamaica have never beaten or drawn a football contest in Mexico.

They have won three times against their opponents in the last 20 games. Mexico won 16 times while the other game ended in a draw.

"I wish them the best of luck and really hope that they can pull off an upset there," Taylor offered.

The hard-working midfielder, who had an impressive Man-of-the-Match performance for Harbour View in the Red Stripe Premier League second end-of-round final a week ago at Drewsland Stadium, remains hopeful that he will represent the senior team again.

Do we ever build on our experience and get better the next time, is like we forget when these things happen and learn nothing on the rebound.

What do you mean by "local players"?

Thanks!

Players who are based in Jamaica and have no obligation to a club outside of Jamaica.

I hope you like that definition.

Good! Thanks for a clear and concise definition. (Lazie, Maudib and others, take note!)

Again, do you really think that those players based in Jamaica and in the middle of their competition will be more unfit than others who have been sitting on their rumps after months of cake and sorrel?

Cyaan plant peas then expek fi reap corn. Life just doesn't work like that.

Tappa is being set up to fail.

In five World Cup Qualifying encounters in Mexico

In five World Cup Qualifying encounters in Mexico, Jamaica have lost all five, conceding 23 goals, while tallying one solitary strike by Walter Boyd in that 1-2 loss on October 16, 1996.

The other results are 8-0 in 1965; 6-0 in 1997; 4-0 in 2001; and 3-0 on the last occasion in 2008.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2K3T2qwAF

Cyaan plant peas then expek fi reap corn. Life just doesn't work like that.

Tappa is being set up to fail.
                            He might have been set up to fail, but it looks like he will he is not going down without a serious fight.

Teacha nuh tek notes when dem give lectcha...