Portsmouth 2-1 Man Utd: Defensive blunders

• Portsmouth 2-1 Man Utd: Defensive blunders

Rio Ferdinand's comical own-goal completed an afternoon without laughs for Manchester United as Portsmouth's shock 2-1 win condemned them to a fourth Premiership defeat of the season and allowed Chelsea to cut their lead at the top to three points.
    CliveRose/GettyImages
    Dejan Stefanovic tackles RonaldoA thrill-a-minute second half ended in bedlam as Pompey, leading 1-0 with Matt Taylor's 30th-minute strike, saw Taylor's overhit pass to Lomana Lualua in the 88th minute turned past Edwin van der Sar by Ferdinand's intervention.

Although John O'Shea's tap-in after Pompey keeper David James spilled a soft Ole Gunner Solskjaer shot gave United hope, the giant James regained hero status - after his mistake cost him a record 142nd Premiership shut-out - by saving substitute Alan Smith's shot right at the death.

• Redknapp delighted by workrate

It is the third time in four Premiership seasons that United have come a cropper at Fratton Park, but they could not deny it was a fully deserved success for Harry Redknapp's side.

On paper it looked a no-contest, with Pompey having won just one of their previous 11 league games and United arriving on the back of seven successive Premiership wins.

But Redknapp's side had won two of their previous three encounters with the Red Devils at Fratton Park, although last season United collected a 3-1 success among a run of five successive wins against the south-coast team.

United decided on a circumspect start against a Pompey team clearly up for the challenge.

Sean Davis twice fouled Paul Scholes in the first five minutes and the red-haired United forward was also caught late by Taylor.

Pompey's early probes brought a half chance, with Kanu leaping to apply a twisting header to Taylor's good ball into the box, but van der Sar held on comfortably under the crossbar.

Djimi Traore, a late selection after Sol Campbell pulled out of the Portsmouth team despite taking part in the warm-up, briefly had to go off for treatment after a tackle by Fletcher, before Cristiano Ronaldo bounced a United free-kick from 30 yards tamely past a post.

The Portuguese was similarly off target a minute later after a mesmerising run from Wayne Rooney's pass, but it was a sign of United warming up.

On 16 minutes Ronaldo darted between Linvoy Primus and Dejan Stefanovic but could not make contact with a dropping ball, which ran clear towards Rooney 10 yards from goal.

Primus was quickly up and there first, stretching to toe the ball away before Rooney fell over his outstretched leg. The England star inquired about a penalty but referee Mark Clattenburg saw that the Pompey defender had played the ball first.

That was bad enough for United, who expect to get their spot-kicks, but worse was to follow on the half-hour.

Kieran Richardson could not clear a ball that bounced up from Traore's throw-in on the left and Benjani jumped in to drill an early drive that van der Sar could only stand up and parry.

Taylor was quicker than Ferdinand to the rebound and tucked it neatly past the veteran goalkeeper.

Pompey fans particularly enjoyed that as they had been jeering van der Sar for a theatrical fall after Taylor - back in the team at the expense of last week's scorer Niko Kranjcar - gently tugged his sleeve.

Then they gave Ronaldo the treatment after the Portuguese fell easily from a Sean Davis challenge. Richardson could only sky the ball over the bar after gathering Ronaldo's free-kick.

Michael Carrick almost put United back on level terms immediately after Taylor's strike, his low shot drifting just wide.

Then James - hunting his clean-sheets record - blocked Darren Fletcher's shot with his legs after Rooney played the midfielder through.

Primus, outstanding at the back for Pompey and defying his 33 years, even found time to go up for a corner and head Gary O'Neil's delivery just over the bar.

Just before the start of first-half stoppage time Taylor turned the ball past van der Sar again, only to see it hacked clear.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was concerned enough to send on Ryan Giggs for Richardson at the start f the second half, which meant 10 of the 11 who faced Roma last Tuesday in the Champions League, were on parade.

Solskjaer completed the full set when replacing Fletcher 15 minutes later and he seemed to inspire United to a purple patch that threatened to turn the game around.

James excelled, pushing away Ronaldo's flick from a corner, and Lauren backed him up to block Wes Brown's follow-up.

It was all hands to the Pompey pump as Rooney set up Giggs to force James into another save and then the Welsh international fired in a cracker to send James leaping for an immaculate tip-over.

When Rooney skated clear on 69 minutes, Primus timed his recovery tackle to perfection once again and the England striker's volatile protest to the referee cut no ice. Once more television evidence seemed to prove the defender's timing was dead right to take the ball first.

Ronaldo scuffed a chance wide as United's frustration grew, but Pompey were still in it as an attacking force, Kanu's long-ranger stinging van der Sar's palms before the keeper made an excellent save, diving to push away Davis's goalbound shot.

Ferdinand inadvertently sealed it with his own-goal two minutes from the end.

James' error handed O'Shea what was no more than a consolation thanks to the former England keeper's late save from Smith.

Redknapp delighted by workrate

Portsmouth boss Harry Redknapp was delighted with his side's efforts.

Redknapp said; 'It was hard work. I said to them yesterday morning the only way we could win is if we all graft and work.

'We decided we would try and keep the ball forward rather than try and play from midfield and we were fantastic.

'We decided to try to press them all over the park and push on when their full-backs got it rather than let them play.

'We got in their faces and made it hard for them.'

Redknapp was also keen to praise James - despite a handling error for the United goal - as well as the Portsmouth faithful.

'The goalkeeper is the best in the business - I've never seen anyone like him, he's that good.

'They (the fans) are not the type to turn on their own players. They cheer for 90 minutes.

'And let's face it, they've had a lot to enjoy - they've only seen their team lose three times at home.

'We'll now look to finish in the top six or seven but it will be difficult.'

Defiant Sir Alex Ferguson insists Manchester United can till prise the Premiership title away from Chelsea despite a shock defeat at Portsmouth cutting their lead at the top to just three points.

'We played for an hour with 10 men on Wednesday night and that caught up with us in the second half today.

'But we are still three points ahead and if I was given that at this stage at the start of the season I would have taken it.

'They are all cup finals now. It doesn't matter who you are up against. After the FA Cup semi final we have a 10-day break and that might just be coming at the right time for us.

'Chelsea have a lot of tough games coming up, too. So someone will make them suffer. It is hard to believe they will go six games without that happening.

'We have our next two at home and have to make the most of that but it could go to the last game now and if so I would settle for thagt.

'In fairness to the lads, the first 20 minutes of the second half was fantastic but then we got stretched and allowed them to open us up far too much.

'But I can't fault the effort and they have shown character all season. I expect them to recover from this now.

'Give Pompey credit, that is the best they have played for some time but for their first goal the rebound went straight to one of their players and that was a bit unfortnate for us.

'David James had a very good game in goal, but goakeepers are often the man-of-the-match against us.'

Ferguson did not claim Wayne Rooney's two penalty appeals in the match were justified after TV evidence showed two perfect tackles by Linvoy Primus robbed him but he added: 'Rooney was unlucky with an offside decision against him just after the interval.'
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

I watched the entire game thikning that Man U was going to overcome Portsmouth. I really did not want to see that happen, but I have always experienced them getting what is needed to get throughh a game. It seemed as if it just was not their day. I was kind of happy with the result. . .
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Kind of happy?
      Yuh ole blues man?
      Kind of happy?
      ...anyway, on seeing the clips of the GUNNERS misses...story of the season...memory of that Rio Ferdinand own-goal perked me up!
      Last edited by Karl; April 9, 2007, 12:41 AM.

That was a palpable mistake, Lenky upon seeing Rio had marked his opponent out of the play assumed Rio would have not interfered with the path the ball was taking. Rio, not wanting to leave anything up to chance hurried the ball along(suffice it to say without using his head or chest).

Blessed