• It's Track And Field For U-17 Football Star

It's Track And Field For U-17 Football Star
    Published: Friday | February 1, 2013 0 Comments

Jaheel Hyde (right) in action for Wolmer's Boys against Norman Manley High's Kemoy Weir during last year's Manning Cup football competition. - file
    Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica Under-17 head coach Wendell Downswell said the national programme has suffered a major setback in the quest for qualification to this year's FIFA World Cup, as prolific goalscorer Jaheel Hydel has decided to pursue a career in track and field instead of football.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports8.html

Smart yute...

It was funny seeing Lenny on TV talking about trying to change his mind. That yute is smart fi real.

Why do we say it is a smart decision?

mo what do you think of his game.. I think this kid is a footballer with speed not a speed deamond who can play football.. I thinnk it is interesting that based on his pedigree he choose track. is it because his older brother kinda failed.. or did not go as far as he should.

Jamaica is not known for it's footballers...most financially successful has been who? Fuller?

But Jamaica is known for its high hurdlers.

And on top of that, high hurdlers have been making a bag of money on the international circuit.

Brickie, you failed this test. There will be a make-up on a date to be announced.

Yeah I mean 110m hurdlers are not known to make a bag of money on the international circuit? Liu Xiang that pauper

This comes as no surprise to many on the Rock. He is clearly a talent at hurdles but it is widely believed that he was the best of the Hyde brothers at football as well.

My problem with this is, how well do our non-star athletes do at their profession? Haven't we heard the cries of many of our athletes saying things are not as rosy as it seems to be with them? That only Usain and Yohan and to a lesser extent Shelly Ann are making all the money?

I understand Hyde can do a bag of other track & field events, but if he doesn't make it into the big time in that sport, he may be crying for assistance in 5 years time.

On the other hand, with a good football agent...

And there are 100 Liu Xiang's out there living the YMCMB lifestyle!

YAY!

Lot more than Jamaican footballers...guarantee you that...

Jamaica's hurdles future is on the right footing compared to our football.

Parchment's bronze in London, plus with guys like Andrew Riley(NCAA 100m, 110m Champion) and Keiron Stewart doing well I can see why young Hyde made the decision.

so track and field athletes don't need agent too?

A good friend of mine, who was a football agent, let me in on a secret about how much money one of his clients was making playing in the Vietnamese league. US$10k - US$15k per month is nothing to sneeze at. Compare that to a no-name 110 high hurdler on the international circuit. What are the odds of a prolific U-20 young footballer, who has played in a FIFA international competition, getting a foreign contract making US$120k per year compared to a 110 high hurdler?
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You never know he might be the one to change that. I can only support the youth still. I can only hope he is properly mentored.

Hyde seems to get his kid in a wide range of sports. Wasn't one of them a top show jumper?